We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
El Doral Hotel(Monte Gordo)
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Azucar(Monte Gordo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel De Alba(Monte Gordo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveler rating
104
38
7
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
38
7
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscosta esmeraldahotel locatedbagelsseafoodmexico citythank you so muchruinshammockstrampolineingredientstvbambootownsac
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 153 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2017

A very nice low-key hotel right on the beach. On a long stretch of pretty much empty sand beach, I should add. And, given the current highway map, this is, effectively, the closest beach to Mexico City with the sole and not very salubrious exception of Acapulco. Not much to do in the area otherwise. Ok, the Tajin ruins (among the most striking in Mexico) are less than an hour away - but it is hot for much of the day. Hot enough that you do not really want to be an hour away from the sea breeze. The towns in the vicinity are less than charming - Mexico is more fun in the mountains, where it is less hot, and so people have rarely created things of beauty on the shore (the city of Veracruz is, indeed charming - but it is 3 hours away on the narrow coastal road that doubles up as a major trunk road from Texas to Guatemala). But the beach is the beach (especially early in the morning or after 5 PM - day time the sun is dangerous there). The hotel itself is quite comfortable and has all that you would need to spend a few days relaxing. We were in one of the rooms with AC - they say that the "ecoloigical" rooms without AC are designed to be cool. May be - but the climate in those parts calls for an AC all the same. There are only too flaws I can think of. One is that the restaurant is on the expensive side (by Mexican standards) - you wind up spending more on food than on the hotel itself. If you have a car, you might want to go out for meals - though, given how hot it is, you might choose to stay right there anyway. Food is, actually, quite good, though the selection is shortish (the area is great both for seafood and cattle - hard to go bad with ingredients this good). They have no clue about bagels though, despite prominently featuring them on the menu - somebody with proper New York sense should be hired to fix that part. The other problem is the inconsistent internet. It is ok that wifi is not available in the rooms (actually, given our room location we frequently got the signal there - when there was a signal). But having it reliably in the parts of the property where it is advertised as existing would seem essential these days. No other serious complaints - a very nice place indeed.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrei G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okay O, Public Relations Manager at Taboga Eco Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2017

Hi there Andrei,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a review.

I´d like to comment on a few things that you have mentioned.

The weather in most areas of México during summer is generally hot. Even up at 1500m above sea level in Veracruz (Xalapa), it´s very hot during the afternoons. There are places in México where it remains cool during summer (like Mexico City) but there isn´t a beach there ;)

We had a kiteboarding school for 5 years at the hotel so we were able to compile a detailed database of air/water temps, wind speed/direction, rainy seasons, storm seasons and define seasonal characteristics in general. In Costa Esmeralda, the hottest months of the year are July, August and September. We feel this heat mainly due to the lack of wind. During the rest of the year it is usually warm but, as we have a constant sea breeze cooling the coastline, the air temperature is much fresher.

If you enjoy a cooler climate to enjoy your beach vacations, I would recommend visiting us between October-June. October is a beautiful month to visit. It´s cooler, the sea has been warmed up during summer and remains calm, there is little rain and the low season room rates are spectacular! Also, the sky is full of different species of migratory birds escaping the North American winter and there are tons of butterflies fluttering around in our gardens.

With regards to temperature inside the ecological rooms, we would invite you to try them next time. Or at least go inside one during the heat of the day and during the night. It seems impossible that, while the outside temperature is 30-32C, the bamboo cabañas can remain milder. It was a huge doubt for us when we contemplated which type of eco cabaña to build as our priority is the comfort of out guests. We carried out a thorough investigation of this kind of structure and it´s performance in types of climates with characteristics like that of Costa Esmeralda. Once we were sure that they would only need a fan and not air conditioning during the hottest part of the year, we went ahead and built 8. They have been one of the main attractions of the hotel since.

To find the best quality produce for our restaurant we have scoured a 2 hour radius (drive time) from the hotel. We care about our local growers and businesses and also the freshness of our produce. We buy as much local produce as possible, only using the large supermarkets for goods that we are unable to find. For example, we use fresh, locally caught fish for our ceviches while most neighboring restaurants use imported Vietnamese sea bass (ironically sold in the local fish mongers) as it is cheaper. Next time I invite you to compare these two types of ceviches and let us know which is tastier. This is common all around México so be aware when buying "cheaper" foods in restaurants. We adjust our pricing accordingly and offer the best quality food that you can find in the zone.

The concept of Taboga is all to do with caring about these details. Obviously we can not be perfect, but we can try our best with the resources at hand and offer a concept to reflect this philosophy. The owners lived in the zone for many years, were playing in the sea almost every day and witnessed first hand the impact on the zone from the businesses that care and do not care. They decided to create a project that would be of minimal impact to the environment and encourage the guest to interact with it. While offering second to none comfort, awesome food quality and the best service that you can find in the zone.

So for the bagels! We introduced our bagels and Mexicanized them to the hilt! We did not want to copy any NY style bagel or filling as we are not in NY. But we buy a brand which is owned by a NY company and sold in a US supermarket. We then add a variety of ingredients such as sirloin beef patties/eggs/home made salsas/salads (obviously not all together!) and Mexicanize! Our breakfast bagel "la tocina" is our top selling breakfast and the bagel burger is our 2nd best selling lunch plate.

There are many things to do around the area. Obviously the area is quite disconnected from the hustle and bustle (which has is pro´s too!). But there are activities right outside the door like turtle liberation, mangrove gondala tours, beach horse riding and stand up paddle classes and surf training. Then, within a 1-2 hrs drive, you can find the archaeological site of El Tajín, world class white water rafting at Rio Filobobos and Rio Jalcomulco, the spectacular 7000 hectare sand dunes by the sea at Chachalacas and many more areas of outstanding natural beauty.

For the first 4 years of the hotel´s existence we did not have internet! Feels odd to even write that now in 2017! There was also no cel phone signal! Our reception staff has to go to the coffee shop in Casitas to answer clients. Obviously the hotel concept was a little different back then. People were talking to each other in the restaurant, beach and finding other non-internet related activities to enjoy their beach vacations. In this day and age, we seem to be unable to do that for many reasons which is why we have tried to offer some kind of internet service to our clients.

Let me explain. The telephone company Telmex still does not offer an internet service for a large section of Costa Esmeralda, which unfortunately, we are part of. Yes, I know. Ridiculous! For years, we have written to and begged Telmex to amplify their service which they have refused to do. We have formed coalitions with other hotels to create more of a push and show demand, attended numerous meetings with representatives of Telmex, which has ultimately fallen on deaf ears. This has been going on for years. So we had to build an antenna which receives a signal from a place nearby that bounces a signal to us. Obviously that signal is subjected to interference, weather changes and the reliablity of their signal that they get from Telmex (which seems to be the biggest issue here)!

I´m glad that you have mentioned the internet issue. It has inspired me to apply a note in all communications to our guests, that if internet coverage is crucial is deciding the choice of hotel we must describe our coverage as inconsistent. There are specific areas in the hotel with internet coverage but it can be inconsistent due to the variables of the internet service.

If you have any further suggestions or comments please write to me via the hotel website. We hope that you will come to visit us again soon!

Kind regards,

Omid





Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2017 via mobile

It is the perfect place to escape and relax for a couple of days.

- The rooms are clean, spacious and very comfortable.
- The property is in perfect condition, just as advertised on the photos.
- The food is really good and freshly made.
- And the service is exceptional, the staff is very attentive and friendly.

We really enjoyed our stay and we will definitely come back!

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Sugy-Greg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okay O, Public Relations Manager at Taboga Eco Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2017

Hi there Sugy and Greg,

Thanks for your review! We are delighted that you had a great time and enjoyed the concept exactly how we intended it to be! We look forward to your next visit. Greetings from Team Taboga!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2017

Taboga is a hotel located on a beautiful beach in the Gulf of Mexico. My wife and two babies (2 years old) stayed at a beautiful bamboo made room. Between our room and the beach there was only a simple garden where the kids could play; the beach was amazing (I didn't´t expected in the Gulf of México) with powder like sand and a nice sea where I could swim (I was told that during the summer the sea is very calm). Even though we were there on Easter Week, we saw almost no people walking on the beach. The rooms are basic but nice (get the ones built on bamboo); food was excellent! and the price amazing. We enjoyed not having AC nor tv in our room (just a nice fan).

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Fede N N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okay O, Public Relations Manager at Taboga Eco Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2017

Hi there Fede,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your experience in Taboga. We´re stoked that you had a great time and enjoyed our eco-bamboo cabañas, the food, the sea and the beach with your family. We built them precisely for guests like yourself! We do have the option of conventional rooms with A/C and TV but the bamboo cabañas minimize the impact on our environment while giving you the best screen that money cant buy! The sea! We hope you come back again one day! Greetings from Team Taboga :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2017

They have like 15 rooms that have a graet view to the sea, loved the beds in the beach and hammocks. All the services you need and great bar service with all the liquords you want and desire. Great staff for such a Eco Boutique Hotel. Totaly recommend this place.

Room Tip: They have rooms witj geat view to the sea
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedro L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okay O, Public Relations Manager at Taboga Eco Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2017

Hi Pedro,

Thanks for taking the time to write a comment about your experience. We´re delighted that you had a great time and that you have recommended us to others. We hope to be able to provide you with an ever better holiday on your next visit!

Just so you know for next time, there are actually 20 rooms at the hotel :)

Have a great day,

Team Taboga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2017 via mobile

Went for a short run away with my wife.
Had been in other hotels in Costa Esmeralda, but didn't know this place. Nice, clean, good restaurant, very friendly staff.
A section of the hotel, the "Eco rooms" are three buildings constructed with BAMBOO. Excellent work and design.
Gardens are kept to perfection. Grass is green al around (a big task in that environment), and many trees. Pool is great for kids. The beach, clean and with comfortable mats and shaded.
If you are planning on a weekend at the beach with or with out kids, and you run away from noise discos and so on, this is the place.
I congratulate the architect or designer of the Bamboo construction. Excellent work!

Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Thayer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okay O, Public Relations Manager at Taboga Eco Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2017

Hi there Thayer L,

We´re happy that you found us and that you had a lovely experience. Thanks for taking the time to write a comment and help other travelers find their perfect vacation.

Our staff are amazing and really are the best in the zone. There is a fantastic team spirit which plays a huge part as to why our guests feel so great during their stay! It manifests itself throughout Taboga. The food, the rooms, the views, the garden, the flowers, the beach... it´s all part of a harmonious philosophy that we have prioritized on growing and harnessing.

There are 8 bamboo cabañas distributed in 4 modules. All ecologically built and all with sea views. They were designed by a local bamboo specialist whose previous work includes set design on Mel Gisbon´s film "Apocalypto".

We hope you will visit us again soon and thanks again for recommending us.

Regards,

Team Taboga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews