We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a quiet retreat”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marinduque Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bellarocca Island Resort and Spa
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Its a tiny but lovely island with spectacular vistas accessible by a 30 minute flight aboard Asian Spirit and an hour's drive from the airport to the seaport! Bellarocca can however get a bit boring if you are looking to party or explore, in depth, the local culture and cuisine. Its no Boracay or Phuket. Its more of a place to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city----to retreat to nature or have a private romantic getaway.

My friends and I stayed in the hotel. The rooms were huge and each had a small sitting area, a private balcony, lots of closet space, and super comfy beds! Sadly, they do not offer laundry service and their satellite cable TV was pathetic---few channels had clear sound and picture. They have one main restaurant. The few other dining places around the island still get their food from that one main kitchen so there's not much of a choice. The food options are hit or miss---some yummy, others blah but the portions are generous! The dining staff can also set up private dining areas per request. My friends and I had a lovely quiet dinner by the beach with soft lights, a starry sky, exclusive use of the pools and 2 waiters to take care of our needs. Unfortunately, there are only 2 common pool areas. An infinity pool by the beach and a lap pool at the hotel, both 4-5 ft deep only. Some of the villas have their own private cliff-side infinity pools. The beach is nothing to brag about---the sand is coarse--almost painful underfoot, and the shoreline is short and narrow. Cebu and Boracay are still the better options. Water sport options are varied and safe. The instructors are pleasant and capable. The resort also has a well-equipped gym, a small game room and a fabulous, must-try spa that is the epitome of a relaxing tropical paradise. There are only 4 beds so book early. The massage therapists have gifted hands! They have a small gift shop that oddly enough sells insanely overpriced *imported* boutique items. Very little of the local stuff that guests may want to take home as souvenirs. Over-all, the resort staff is eager to please guests but they still seem rough around the edges in terms of professionalism. Still, I'd love to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tmblweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 141 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2011

What I like in Bellarocca - first is the view, it has a great view of the sea and its neighboring mountain Mt. Malindig. I also like its architectural design, this Santonini inspired resort is very picturesque with its beautiful nature back draft. Their rooms are spacious and clean, with state of the art sound system. Their staff specially from the dining area and water sports center are very courteous and helpful.
What I think is lacking in this resort are the affordable activities - the only activities we've done is swimming, kayak - you can go around the resort for just 30 minutes, they also have snorkeling but we haven't tried that, these are the free activities. The rest are so expensive that for me its no longer worth it.

Room Tip: The best rooms are the villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PamilyaLakwatsera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

I would like to share our 2010 experience with you.

Our vacation literally started upon arrival from the airport of Marinduque. My husband and I were welcomed by your staff with warm greetings coupled with cold towel to freshen up and a bottle of cold water. Our bags were taken cared for by your staff which made it hassle free for us. The 45 minutes travel going to Bellarocca Island is actually a slightly sad ride because you can see only a few trees and rough roads but thanks to JP and Anne, who became our tour guide and for the information that they were able to share with us regarding the Island of Marinduque and the mountains named after the 3 kings.

The Santorini architecture with its super white walls against a backdrop of deep blue sea and clear blue sky is psychologically refreshing when you see it. At first we thought that 3 days and 2 nights at Bellarocca will be too much since it was a small island but your place proved us wrong.

We extended one more night J. For us, to have the best experience, is to stay at the hotel. Villas, Casas and Terrazas were exceptionally nice too. But having a nice place would hinder you to leave your room and go around the whole Island. We were able to go and see the Tea house where we were able to have a uninterrupted view of the ocean, Meditation Sanctuary, the seaside pavilion Eternity pool with sunken pool, picnic grove, helipad (perfect view for sunset), and the Hillside spa room and Jacuzzi. After our stay at Bellarocca, we felt re-energize and had a relaxing escape from the city life.



Water Sports - The beach is quite small but the water is so clear and very calming. To tell you frankly, I am afraid of the open sea but with the help of Buboy (life guard), I was able to try water skiing, kayak around the whole island and do snorkeling with out any fear. My husband was able to learn water skiing because of Buboy as well. And for the water sports being free, it added to the wonderful feeling that we both had experience.



Food – The food was great. It was quite expensive but it was worth every penny we paid for. The best part of the buffet was the dessert spread. It was quite impressive. All of the food attendants were very friendly but for us, it was Ramil who made our dinning experience a memorable one.



Our experience rocks because of the unique ambiance and GM Rudy, who not only is visible but always makes it a point to have a conversation with us. I'm amazed actually by how they were able to replicate a Santorini place here in the Philippines. For me and my husband who really like to have peace and privacy, I would say this is the perfect place for us.



I suggest the management observe how all the names mentioned above does customer service and replicate that with the rest of your staff. All of your staff came as a close second to all the names mentioned above but JP, Anne, Buboy, Ramil and GM Rudy’s proactive customer service is still incomparable.


Thank you all for the wonderful experience during our stay at Bellarocca. We hope to return next year...and yes, we are going back this Nov 2011....

Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
9  Thank Banana020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

It was our first family get a way. We were with our 6 month old baby. From what the staff told us she's the babiest that stayed at the resort. Only a number of resorts here in the Philippines that are baby friendly. That's our main priority now when traveling. They had a baby sitting services. It was easy, all you had to do was call the front desk and they will send the sitter to your room to watch the baby. No hassle at all. We would take the baby out swimming in the morning and bring her back in the room after lunch. So, we can hang out and have our beach time with our friends until dinner.

Hopefully the government can help with the road. Some are still not pave. That could really cut down on the van ride to the island. Other than that everything else is a crazy good.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the best room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank babymadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

Was really excited to see the resort and was impressed with the sprawling grounds and fantastic views! We stayed in a terraza which was better value and significantly roomier than the hotel rooms. Each room had a balcony and the beddings were top-notch. They had nice toiletries as well. The food was okay, kept us fairly satisfied but nothing to rave about. This is a place where you don't mind doing nothing, where you just stay by the pool or enjoy yourself in the room -- perhaps better suited for honeymooners. One suggestion though to Management: for a deluxe resort such as this one, the pool has to be heated. It was very cold and it didn't help that it was very windy for the most part of the day. Despite this, was all worth it and a truly a great destination to see!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mikedru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2011

Stayed with kids in this resort hotel.

Kids has nothing to do here. Beach front is so small. Hardly anyone is swimming on the beach. Rocky shoreline.

This is a great place for honeymooners but not for family with small children.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yama9262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

The island is so beautiful, I thought I arrived in Santorini, Greece. The service was great, the staff were so friendly and accommodating. I'll never forget their SPA room, it was overlooking the best view in Bellarocca. The chef in the restaurant was so friendly. The food was also yummy!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Queen_Inoray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marinduque Island
0.0 mi away
Beach Club Cagpo
Beach Club Cagpo
#1 of 4 in Marinduque Island
32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Estrellas de Mendoza Playa Resort
0.0 mi away
The Farm at San Benito
The Farm at San Benito
#1 of 7 in Lipa City
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
El Nido Resorts Lagen Island
0.0 mi away
Acuatico Beach Resort & Hotel
0.0 mi away
Palm Beach Resort
Palm Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Laiya
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellarocca Island Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellarocca Island Resort and Spa

Address: Marinduque Island 4904, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Marinduque Island
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Marinduque Island
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bellarocca Island Resort and Spa in Marinduque is distinct from the other upscale, luxury resorts of its category anywhere in the country. All 20 hectares of Bellarocca Island Resort and Spa is mountainous terrain, with its highest point at 114 meters above sea-level. To many seasoned travellers, the images of the picturesque island of Santorini in Greece come to mind upon approaching the resort. Common to both are its rolling terrain and immaculate white buildings perched atop its cliffs: white structures that reflect the sun and contrast with the azure blue sea below. Bellarocca Island Resort and Spa is located on a small mountain island of the southern coast of Marinduque and offers 69 luxurious deluxe suites, casas, terrazas and private villas (with individual Jacuzzis and infinity pools). Guests relax in utmost privacy while enjoying the resort's complete aqua sports facilities, a full spa and wellness facility, a 9-hole golf course and other land-based recreational activities. Guests arrive on the island direct via commercial flights (SEAIR or Zest Air), private helicopters, chartered flights from Manila to Marinduque or onboard an exclusive luxury yacht. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bellarocca Island Hotel Marinduque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing