We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fantastic Getaway”
Review of Beach Club Cagpo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beach Club Cagpo
Reviewed July 21, 2010

Beachclub Cagpo is incredible! We will definitely go back and highly recommend it for anyone who’s interesting in an amazing, quiet, relaxing, secluded Philippines vacation. The location of the club is right next to the beach with private beach access. The beach itself is on the coast of a wildlife reserve. Harry provides the snorkeling equipment, free of charge, for his guests, and the snorkeling was wonderful. The water was clear and full of wildlife.
The food was delicious. I cannot stress this enough. We were amazed daily at the quality, variety, and portion sizes of the fresh, home cooked meals that Harry, Cynthia, and Joanne brought out of the kitchen. Everything we ate was delectable! The cooler is well stocked too. The drinks were cold and cheap, and there was a large selection of beers, liquors, wines, cocktails, and non-alcoholic beverages to choose from.
We would get up in the morning, have a shot of Tanguay rum, and go for a swim. After a big, delicious breakfast, we would play darts or board games in the club house, or sit and read in the comfortable, handmade bamboo deckchairs in the shade of the beach pavilion, listening to the waves come in. On several afternoons, Harry took us around the island in style (a roomy, air-conditioned van) and showed us the sights. We saw a bird sanctuary, a butterfly farm, shopped for souvenirs at a big local market, and met some of the locals and ex-pats. We had an absolute blast.
If you plan to go, my advice is to bring some insect repellant, just in case, and wear lots of sun-screen if you’re going to be out of the shade. The sun was intense. Also, you have to keep in mind that seclusion in a developing country means that there are going to be problems with the electricity. Harry does all he can to make sure that his guests are comfortable, but there are some things, like the infrastructure of the island, that are simply out of his control.
Overall, we felt a sense of community staying there. We felt like we were visitors at our friend’s house rather than hotel guests. Harry, Cynthia, and Joanne treated us like family, and I appreciate all that they did for us. We can’t wait until we see them again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ChristieRiversSperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 32 of 32 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2010

This small resort has 4 rooms, 1 with aircon and the others are fan rooms. Water from the faucet are naturally warm. Food is great and they have big servings. Cynthia is their all around staff. She is the manager, cook etc. She is also kind enough to set up a bonfire us after our dinner.
Everynight the place is having a problem with their electricity even though they have a generator. We had our aircon open at 10pm. The beach front has rocks and shells but the water is clear and clean. A hammock is hanged by the trees . This place is very peaceful.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank cresil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2010

We took the bus from Manila (about 3hrs), caught the ferry from Lucena (about 1.5hrs), rode the jeepney to Torrijos (about 2hrs). Actually 2 jeepney rides: one from Balanacan Port, Mogpog to Sta Cruz and another Sta Cruz to Torrijos, just tell the driver to drop you at Bgy Cagpo Elementary School. (We had a little help though, the girl sitting beside our friend asked where we're going or our friend asked if Cagpo was still far away, she told us that we had a little way to go and asked the driver to drop us off at the right moment.) Btw, there is also a van going to Sta Cruz. If you find long road trips to be boring and tiresome, I suggest you take the airplane from Manila to Marinduque (via Zest Air).

Beach Club Cagpo came to surprise us as we approached the resort from the highway. Greeted by Cynthia (manager) and Harry (owner) we ordered our late lunch and devoured our surprisingly loaded and delicious plates. Their food was sumptuous, I don't think I can stress anymore how great the food was without using up all the synonyms for delicious. We ordered almost everything from the menu, if we stayed longer, I would have gained weight! Harry cooks the food they serve, which were very fresh (they also have an herb garden) and sizes enough for more than one. The smell and appearance of the food was enough to satisfy. Their restaurant has enough space for everyone, if all the rooms were filled. Their website mentions that they serve cold beverages is an understatement; they have a well-stocked bar of hard liquor, beer and wine. We only tried one cocktail though, the Mndoro Sling.

They had 4 rooms, and maybe there was a confusion with the reservation (via SMS and no deposit required), a Norwegian group of 4 got the Honeymoon (aircon) Room. We stayed at the Rick (non-aircon) Room and it was nonetheless comfortable. It was a good sized room, it had a queen-sized bed, a bunk bed, an electric fan, closet with safe deposit box, good number of electrical outlets; this room was very clean as well as the bathroom. We could say that our group (or at least I) have travelled a lot and stayed at far-flung places with minimal facilities; this resort's bathroom was one of the cleanest that we've been to. It is tiled, has shelves for your bathroom stuff, a big mirror, towel holders, water heater, and even the water closet with dual flush function (one for half-flush and another for full flush).

A great thing about the resort was the lack of mosquitoes, we didn't even think of putting anti-insect lotion while we were there. Even at the garden, where the euphorbias were blooming and the hammock was inviting. It also did not have Poctoy White Beach's karaoke bars, this made the place more relaxing and appealing for us.

A little walk from the resort was the beach; the sand was white but not as fine, it had broken shells but tolerable to walk on. the water was very clear and had little fish that swim around you. We stayed in the water from around 10am to 12nn which was high tide, where the water reaches the sandy part of the beach and away from the corals/sea life. The weather was great the sun was shining but a little cloudy, even had a drizzle of rain. The beach was enough for us to lounge and swim around. The resort has a very good view of the sea and Mt Malindig, and has eye-candy of lush greenery.

When we finally said goodbye, we hired the resort's van (driven by Harry and chaperoned by Cynthia). They included on our way to Cawit Port, a great view of the Mt Malindig (however covered in clouds), the Torrijos shoreline, Torrijos Church and park. a view of Elephant Island (Bellaroca Resort) and Tres Reyes Islands, and Gasan Church.

Our group has Marinduque on top of our list, as a great destination for a weekend roadtrip and the journey worth taking.

Beach Club Cagpo: www.beachclubcagpo.com

PS. Mobile network service available from at least 2 network providers.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank EJ_Yza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2015
Thank Yuichro Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beach Club Cagpo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Club Cagpo

Address: | Beachclub Cagpo, Lot 2773, Marinduque Island 4903, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Marinduque Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Marinduque Island
Price Range: $20 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach Club Cagpo is a private beach resort located on the island of Marinduque in the heart of the Philippine islands. Club Cagpo features a Restaurant serving European, Asian and Filipino cuisines, infused with our local herbs and spices grown from our very own herb and vegetable garden. We also feature a Restaurant Bar as well as a new Cabana Beach Bar located right on our Beach, serving cold alcoholic beverages as well as non-alcoholic beverages alongside our Pulutan (snacks) and tapas.Beach Club Cagpo is located on the south east portion of Marinduque, in the municipality of Torrijos. The resort is located right on the beach and can be accessed via Resort Van hire or local transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Beach Club Cagpo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing