We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ficifolia Lodge Kangaroo Island
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Average Accommodation”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed here in May and found the 2 bedroom accommodation to be very small and cramped. The stove only had 2 burners and no oven. This made preparing a family meal very difficult . Luckily the pub in town was a real find. I wouldn't recommend this place if you have a family or a group.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pogo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Ficifolia Lodge Kangaroo Island, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Ficifolia Lodge is very disappointed to read that you found your accommodation facilities unsatisfactory for your needs. The Apartment does have an oven which can be used to cook, warm, grill and or heat meals in, there is also a microwave provided as well as the two burner hot plate. There is also an extensive range of cooking facilities in the kitchen cupboards including electric fry pan. It's a shame you didn't speak to us so we could have assisted you to address your concerns in person. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    21
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
9
46
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We booked a Deluxe room at the Ficifolia Lodge for one night (11 April 2012) and paid the full amount well in advance, two months before our arrival. When in KI we sent the Ficifolia an email to confirm our exact time of arrival and received a prompt reply by the owner (“see you this afternoon”).
Well, once we got there, she told us that in actual fact, due to an overbooking, there wasn’t any room available at the Ficifolia and sent us to The Open House, which is an awful place, except for its lovable owner and her beautiful cat.
The Ficifolia seems to be used to doing that, since the same thing happened to a couple from Minnesota just a couple of days before (please see the review of The Open House, written by SizzlingSkies)

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Francesco G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Ficifolia Lodge Kangaroo Island, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Unfortunately a double booking occurred with your reservation. The problem was only identified after you made email contact with us. We made all attempts to contact you again, once we realized the problem. As you would be aware, mobile coverage here on Ki is very limited. So staff took the initiative to seek alternative accommodation for you, to ensure you had somewhere to stay. We knew this would be a difficult task, due to the fact that this booking and the one you referred to, had been made in Peak time. In your case, your stay being overnight, was even more difficult. I was not aware that the alternative establishment you are referring to, had been receiving adverse comments via Trip Advisor ..... I will be discussing this with the operator in person. I do sincerely apologize if we have caused you grief during your stay on Kangaroo Island. The alternative accommodation was found for you in "good faith" as we did not want to leave you in a situation where you would more than likely, not be able to find accommodation for an "overnight stay" due to Peak season. I am very aware that many of the accommodation establishments here on KI will NOT accept overnight bookings for this period. Staff worked very hard to rectify this problem, in an attempt to lessen the impact on you personally. We thank you for raising your concerns via Trip Advisor. I have addressed the relevant Staff and made them aware of your expressed concerns. We will continue to strive for excellence in this area, to avoid a repeat event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Parndana is central so this is an ideal location for all sightseeing on Kangaroo Island. The rooms are very comfortable and Sue, the owner, is so helpful in giving maps and directions of the best places to visits. Good hints too as to when to visit the high tourist spots so you miss the bus loads of tourists. We loved the complimentary wine we received on arrival too. Thankyou to Sue we had a lot of fun and loved Kangaroo Island.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan73132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stayed for just one night in Parndana as due to our travel times to KI we stayed in Kingscote from the ferry. In retrospect I would advise making the trip to Parndana to base yourself from due to its central location and would highly recommend staying with Sue at Ficifolia Lodge. The room we had was perfect for us with a carport and everything you could need for self-catered travel although the Pub over the road is great for a drink and an evening meal. Parndana itself has a couple of small stores and bakeries so you can stock up on supplies.

Just a note re Mobile Phone coverage in case it's relevant for you. I'm with Vodafone and coverage stops about a 20 minute drive before you get to Cape Jervis for the ferry to KI. It wasn't a problem for me as we were looking for a "get away" holiday and if you do need internet access you can find it at several places on the Island but if you do need / want mobile phone coverage my advice would be to get a Telstra SIM card as they are the only operator who covers the Island although I believe Optus are currently setting theirs up (best to check first).

Would highly recommend the stay at Ficifolia Lodge for the comfort and welcome as well as the central location and we will definitely be returning next time we visit beautiful KI.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbenn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We stayed at Ficifolia Lodge for seven nights. It was excellent value for money and in a central location which made it easy to explore the different parts of the island. Also a good place to relax in. Sue, the owner, was very friendly and gave us a lot of helpful advice to make the most of our stay. We booked the 4* star room and were really pleased to have the extra space and privacy.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theelectriceric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed here on our first night on Kangaroo Island. We arrived by air into Kingscote and hired a rental car, so the plan was to explore the southeast part of the island, then stay overnight in Pardana to be in position to explore the western end the next day. We got the 2 bedroom apartment and really have no complaints at all. We did meet Sue who has a lot of information and tips for seeing the island. This place was really a unique experience as it is very quiet and dark at night. Pardana is a really small town like everywhere on KI except for Kingscote, although I like getting away to the quiet this was a bit surreal -- I think even people who come from rural area would think it's a bit spooky as sometimes you're the only people on the street and you get that eerie ghost town vibe.
I didn't feel the amenities of the accomodation were anything beyond what I've experienced at other small town motels, I guess from all the rave reviews I was expecting some sort of "wow factor". I don't give it 5 stars as it wasn't beyond expectations and the decor seemed a bit dated 80's, but I wouldn't let that stop you from staying here as the location is quite unique and there are really nice people running it.
We drank and ate at the pub across the road, and had a great breakfast the next morning at the bakery -- this is high tourist season and we were the only people in both places at one point, although the pub did get busier around dinner time.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mg35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We stayed at Ficifolia Lodge fro three nights in September, 2011. The unit was very clean and comfortable and included everything that one could need. The best part of this establishment is the host, Sue. Nothing was too much trouble for her. Every time we had a question about the local area, Sue left no stone unturned until she found an answer. She has a wide general knowledge of the Kangaroo Island coupled with contacts to help her when she doesn't know directly. She was friendly, welcoming and really "made" our stay. Thanks, Sue!!

Tim & Satoshi

Room Tip: Any room would be good here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim_and_Satoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parndana
28.9 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
38.2 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
378 reviews
23.2 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Open House
The Open House
#1 of 1 in Parndana
37 reviews
11.9 mi away
Waves and Wildlife Cottages
Waves and Wildlife Cottages
#1 of 50 in Kangaroo Island
225 reviews
22.6 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ficifolia Lodge Kangaroo Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ficifolia Lodge Kangaroo Island

Property: Ficifolia Lodge Kangaroo Island
Address: 45 Cook St, Parndana, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5220, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Parndana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Parndana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ficifolia Lodge Kangaroo Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality modern, self-contained, accommodation with all the comforts of home, supported by our highly regarded personalised service. Centrally located in the township of Parndana, you are best positioned to visit all of the Island's key attractions. Ficifolia Lodge is a unique small owner operated business independently managed. We take great care in the presentation of our property so you can relax knowing we have already thought of everything you need for a comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ficifolia Lodge Kangaroo Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ficifolia Lodge Kangaroo Island Parndana, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing