We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My new paradise.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melville Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clearwater Island Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 22, 2011

From the moment we got off the plane, we were treated as if we were the only people at the Lodge.
Our hosts, Michael & Kerri, bent over backwards to make our stay memorable. We felt like family.
The food was amazing and just so fresh.
We are definately going to be regulars at Clearwater Island Lodge.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skoyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClearwaterLodge, Owner at Clearwater Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2011

Thank you for your wonderful feedback we are really glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to seeing you again this year, when we will only make your trip even more enjoyable.
Happy Fishing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 103 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2010

My fishing pal and I were made to feel very welcome at the lodge.We found the fishing and the food to be beyond our expectations and we will certainly return

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holiday3389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClearwaterLodge, Owner at Clearwater Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

2014 TRIPADVISOR CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE
Based on your wonderful feedback you have helped us achieve and become a Top Performing Business as Reviewed by you.
Winning the TripAdvisor 2014 Certificate of Excellence is a true source of pride for the entire team at CLEARWATER ISLAND LODGE and we’d like to thank all of our past guests who took the time to complete a review on TripAdvisor. There is no greater seal of approval than being recognised by one’s customers. With the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence based on your review, the accolade is a remarkable vote of confidence to our business and our continued commitment to excellence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

We went there for the fishing and the location and were in no way disappointed. Accommodation was quite comfortable and the service, especially from Dave, was great.. Thirteen different species of fish in just two days: gt's, barra, snapper, threadfin salmon and lolts more as well as a good few crocs on show. Also, can't finish without saying how great the food was if you love the best of fresh seafood.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hokatici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2010

Wow what an adventure,formyself an experience of a life time.On our recent trip to Clear Water Lodge my first and my partners fifteenth. I now realise why John always wants to
go to Melville Island.It is a beautifull isolated island with white sandy beaches and abundances of wild life.There was plenty to do and see on the island besides the best
fishing in Australia.Most days we were able to fish the blue waters off Melville and Bathurst Islands but when it was choppy we went into the many creeks and fished for barra and numerous other estuary fish.Loved catching mud crabs and eating them as well.After noticing the art work at your lodge,we took a visit to the local art centre where i purchased a painting.We had a great time with you all,you are excellent hosts.The food was 5 star quality.And the air conditioned accommodation very comfortable.I am not an experienced fishing person as you probably noticed? but i caught more than my share of a variety of fish,so it must be easy.
So i can say for sure John will not be going on his own again.Thank you Michael,Kerri & David for your hospitality and we will both see you again next year.
Kind Regards Diane Dix Renmark SA.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chilyRenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2010

Good airconditioned accommodation. Wonderful food & the best fishing I've seen anywhere.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fishingbob10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2010

The trip was pleasant and the food really nice. But what we found the hardest was that dinner is always served way too late.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DonnaDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClearwaterLodge, Owner at Clearwater Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2010

Thanks for your review your feedback is appreciated.
Meals are Served from
Breakfast 6.30am to 8.00am Daily
Lunch Upon Request
Dinner 6.30pm to 9.00pm Daily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2009

After being encouraged from a mate to go fishing at Melville island i was interested but didn't know how good it was going to be and how much of a life changing experience it was. The fishing and food was out of the world. From the the professional crew, boats and fishing gear through to the peaceful and completely natural location, i was blown away. The meals at night while watching the sunset was the freshest and most tasty seafood i have ever eaten. I though i would struggle being away from my family for 5 days but the intensity of the fishing and even catching the biggest Barramundi for the week at 87 cms, time went by so fast and so did the nights after having a few beers and talking about the days fishing. The managers are very special people who really have the gift of customer service and knowing how to fish too. They really care about everything from every meal, every hour out in the boats, and to the service they and their staff offer. All i can think about at nights is fishing as only got back 4 days ago and how to tell my family that we have to head back there next year as have to cancel trip to fiji. This may be a work in progress for me but i cant get the lodge out of my mind.

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeoffRESORT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clearwater Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearwater Island Lodge

Address: Lot 288, Pularumpi St, 0822, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Tiwi Islands > Melville Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Melville Island
Price Range: $173 - $1,532 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you ready to get out amongst it and experience Australia’s best fishing adventure? Welcome to Munupi Wilderness Lodge Melville Island Darwin Northern Territory. Our fishing lodge offers anglers, hands on fishing adventures. Imagine casting a lure off the deck of one of our fishing boats into our pristine fishing waters and as you begin to retrieve your lure, your rod gets hit with an awesome strike from a huge barramundi. Imagine no longer call us today to find out more on our affordable fully inclusive fishing packages. We are the original Melville Island fishing destination with direct exclusive access to the best Darwin fishing locations. If you like estuary fishing then Munupi offers it all. If you like blue water fishing then our fishing grounds are rated some of the best in Australia.When you call us, ask about our fish catch guarantee, that’s right we guarantee you will catch a fish or your fishing trip will be refunded or replaced it’s your choice, it’s our guarantee to you. So don’t delay come and play in our part of the world you will be really glad you did. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing