We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clearwater island fishing paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clearwater Island Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melville Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clearwater Island Lodge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kirrawee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clearwater island fishing paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Spent a fantastic four days at the lodge with a group of four, some of the group had never really fished before and didnt know what to expect. We were welcomed by Kerrie and the staff and nothing was too much trouble for the whole trip. The room are clean and comfortable, its not fancy but you arent here to spend time sitting in your room!! the main area is spacious with spectacular views across to bathurst island and there is a plunge pool to wash the day away. The fishing can only be described as awesome the days on the water simply fly by, the fishing guides are patient, helpful, incredibly knowledgeable and they make it a fun experience. Then there is the food, the fishing guides are also the cooks and I tell you what the quality is simply 5 star, from a hearty breakfast and fresh simple lunch to awesome seafood dinners at night .

Truly for me it was the trip of a lifetime, and I will be going back, you have a smile on your face the whole time you are there. As or the guys who didnt fish?? they loved and are keen to go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClearwaterLodge, Owner at Clearwater Island Lodge, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with everyone on Tripadvisor about your stay with us at Clearwater Island Lodge.

We're glad you had the opportunity to enjoy the great fishing and the unspoilt wilderness all the staff are really excited to hear that you will be returning for another adventure and we all can't wait to host you all again.

All the team were delighted that you have rated them so highly.

Wishing you safe travels throughout 2013 and beyond.

Kerri-Ann and the Clearwater team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    12
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
9
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

I travelled to Clearwater Lodge with my two 11 year old sons. I have been going to other fishing lodges in the general area for the past 7 or 8 years and I have to say, Clearwater was by far the best. Easy access from Darwin, easy access to the boats and the fishing, large guestrooms with air-conditioning and bar fridges, and well laid out dining and group areas with a pool table and darts. The food and beverages were also better than the other lodges I have stayed at. Most importantly, the "can do" attitude of the staff was what really made the trip. Every request was responded to with a yes and a smile. I would most certainly recommend Clearwater Lodge as the one to choose for NT fishing. Oh, and yes, the fishing guides and fishing was top notch too!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Barraben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClearwaterLodge, Owner at Clearwater Island Lodge, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with everyone on Tripadvisor about your stay with us at Clearwater Island Lodge.

We're glad you had the opportunity to enjoy the great fishing and the unspoilt wilderness all the staff are really excited to hear that you will be returning for another adventure and we all can't wait to host you all again.

All the team were delighted that you have rated them so highly.

Wishing you safe travels throughout 2013 and beyond.

Kerri-Ann and the Clearwater team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

I just got back from 2 days at The Lodge with a fairly large group (about 20). All from our group had a great experience. The highlight for me was the hospitality offered from day break until stumps from the genuine crew. Nothing was too hard. The balance of capturing the natural beauty of this pristine location with just a enough of the home comforts was perfect. The fishing guides were all sensational & top blokes. They worked tirelessly all day trying to get us the best & most diverse fishing experience we could jam into our 2 days. We were truly lucky to be able to spend the time we did there & i will definitely be back for more...2 days was just not enough. Thanks heaps guys! Regards Paul

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClearwaterLodge, Owner at Clearwater Island Lodge, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with everyone on Tripadvisor about your stay with us at Clearwater Island Lodge.

We're glad you had the opportunity to enjoy the great fishing and the unspoilt wilderness all the staff are really excited to hear that you will be returning for another adventure and we all can't wait to host you all again.

All the team were delighted that you have rated them so highly.

Wishing you safe travels throughout 2013 and beyond.

Kerri-Ann and the Clearwater team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

My partner & I have just spent 6 days & nights at Clearwater Lodge to "get away from it all"
What a wonderful place to do so,. Michael, Kerri & daughter Neisha welcomed us with exceptional hospitality and nothing was ever too much trouble, the lodge itself could be anywhere in the world with it's 5 star meals served each evening, the sunsets and the local wildlife are just a pinch of what this lodge is about. The only complaint we have is that the 6 days went way too fast...
Thankyou again for a wonderful & memorable stay.
Sue & Tony

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClearwaterLodge, Owner at Clearwater Island Lodge, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
2014 TRIPADVISOR CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE
Based on your wonderful feedback you have helped us achieve and become a Top Performing Business as Reviewed by you recently.
Winning the TripAdvisor 2014 Certificate of Excellence is a true source of pride for the entire team at CLEARWATER ISLAND LODGE and we’d like to thank all of our past guests who took the time to complete a review on TripAdvisor. There is no greater seal of approval than being recognised by one’s customers. With the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence based on your review, the accolade is a remarkable vote of confidence to our business and our continued commitment to excellence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

5 of us had 5 great days of fishing. I had not been on an extended fishing trip before and so I cannot make comparisons against other sites but it must be hard to beat Clearwater Island Lodge. The lodge is well located with fantastic views of the Aspley Strait and Bathurst Island, great sunsets and only a few steps away from the boats and fishing.
The accommodation was good and we were lucky, although we booked shared rooms, we were allocated a room each. Each night the food at the Lodge was exceptional with the menu focussing on the freshly caught mud crabs and some of the fish caught that day. The menu varied each night and the food was enjoyed with a few beers and telling stories of that day's fishing.
The fishing was great - the boats were functional, all equipment was provided and the fishing guides were very experienced, helpful and good company. The fish caught varied from barramundi, mangrove jacks, salmon, queenfish, trevally, snapper and many others. Occassionally there were some quite periods but when this occurred the guides would always seek new spots to kept the action happening.
The Michael and Kerri and the team have put together something very special.
I hope to do it again soon.
David

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClearwaterLodge, Owner at Clearwater Island Lodge, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with everyone on Tripadvisor about your stay with us at Clearwater Island Lodge.

We're glad you had the opportunity to enjoy the great fishing and the unspoilt wilderness all the staff are really excited to hear that you will be returning for another adventure and we all can't wait to host you all again.

All the team were delighted that you have rated them so highly.

Wishing you safe travels throughout 2013 and beyond.

Kerri-Ann and the Clearwater team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

If you're looking for great fishing and top food, in a very remote spot. Well this is it. I had 4 great days at the lodge. The trip starts with a short flight from Darwin. Picked up from the dirt runway and back to the lodge for a beer. The rooms and amenities are adequate. The view from the lodge is crash hot. To say that the food is impressive and generous, would be an under statement. The owners and guides are very friendly. Apart from the lodge boats I only spotted 3 other boats. I pointed this out to David. He jokingly replied, yes it gets busy up here some times. The boats are sturdy and comfortable. There are plenty of species on offer here. They all fight hard and will test your gear. Smashed up lures and trebles, are to be expected. I took my own rods and reels, you don't have to.(Check with the airline if you are taking your gear,restrictions apply) Accurate casting and listening to the guides, is an advantage. The guides are patient and offer an easy style of coaching, if required.
The scenery will blow you away. Adventure is abundant. I have fished some great spots in NT and QLD. Done the 2hrs each way by 4 wheel drive and live aboard on a mother ship. They are all good in their own way. There is just something very special about staying at Clearwater Lodge. You maximise your fishing and partying time. There is a score board near the bar, to tally up your catch each day. A bit of friendly rivalry makes it more fun. Get up there and get your name on it!
I look forward to my next visit to the Lodge. Cheers. Dave A

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClearwaterLodge, Owner at Clearwater Island Lodge, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with everyone on Tripadvisor about your stay with us at Clearwater Island Lodge.

We're glad you had the opportunity to enjoy the great fishing and the unspoilt wilderness all the staff are really excited to hear that you will be returning for another adventure and we all can't wait to host you all again.

All the team were delighted that you have rated them so highly.

Wishing you safe travels throughout 2013 and beyond.

Kerri-Ann and the Clearwater team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

In spite of visiting other 'Barra' camps we are drawn back to this lodge time & time again.

Everything just seems to come together in this wonderful environment. The hosts and the guides are exceptional and the scenery makes the fish a bonus.

Not to mention that not only am I in the 1Mt + Barra club BUT I am also now in the 1Mt+ Thread fin club.

We have come to the conclusion that this place is as close to "fishing heaven" as it could get.

Congratulations to Michael, Kerri, Dave and team for keeping the standards so high for so long.

Kim Linton

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Anaza L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClearwaterLodge, Owner at Clearwater Island Lodge, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with everyone on Tripadvisor about your stay with us at Clearwater Island Lodge.

We're glad you had the opportunity to enjoy the great fishing and the unspoilt wilderness all the staff are really excited to hear that you will be returning for another adventure and we all can't wait to host you all again.

All the team were delighted that you have rated them so highly.

Wishing you safe travels throughout 2013 and beyond.

Kerri-Ann and the Clearwater team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clearwater Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearwater Island Lodge

Property: Clearwater Island Lodge
Address: Lot 288, Pularumpi St, 0822, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Tiwi Islands > Melville Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Melville Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you ready to get out amongst it and experience Australia’s best fishing adventure? Welcome to Munupi Wilderness Lodge Melville Island Darwin Northern Territory. Our fishing lodge offers anglers, hands on fishing adventures. Imagine casting a lure off the deck of one of our fishing boats into our pristine fishing waters and as you begin to retrieve your lure, your rod gets hit with an awesome strike from a huge barramundi. Imagine no longer call us today to find out more on our affordable fully inclusive fishing packages. We are the original Melville Island fishing destination with direct exclusive access to the best Darwin fishing locations. If you like estuary fishing then Munupi offers it all. If you like blue water fishing then our fishing grounds are rated some of the best in Australia.When you call us, ask about our fish catch guarantee, that’s right we guarantee you will catch a fish or your fishing trip will be refunded or replaced it’s your choice, it’s our guarantee to you. So don’t delay come and play in our part of the world you will be really glad you did. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing