We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Table Mountain
from $42.82
More Info
from $19.60
More Info
from $39.20
More Info
from $25.40
More Info
Reviews (17,352)
Filter reviews
12,549 results
Traveler rating
10,280
1,959
243
34
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10,280
1,959
243
34
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cable car cape town robben island on line skeleton gorge mountain top amazing views natural wonder platteklip gorge high winds sunny day camps bay walk up cape point clouds tickets weather
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 12,549 reviews
Reviewed today

I loved the view from Table Mountain and the vegetation up there. Every now and then you can spot a lizard or a dassie.
You can walk around table mountain, but it is not a hard hike, since table mountain is mostly flat :-)
I spent approximately 3 hours up there and could have easily done more. So don't just go up, take a picture and go down again. It takes some time to see it all.
Definitely a must see in Cape Town!

Thank bhulliger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We startet at the beginning of the Platekip Gorge. Highly recommend to go there with hiking shoes and sporty outfit, as well as get enough water with you along.
The nature and the little challenge of this trail makes it wonderful.
As we finished the trail, we went further to the highest point of tablemountain - Maclear Becon - you will get a very nice view afterwards when heading back the trail near the edge to the funicular

Thank Ekirey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Table Mountain required a 30 min Lyft drive from our hotel; located by the waterfront. After a short walk up a flight of stairs, we waited for the descending cable car. The great thing about the cable car is that it rotates around and there are 360 views as you climb the mountain. Once at the top visitors have a chance walk around to capture the panoramic sights of Cape Town. I would recommend wearing comfortable shoes because there are areas where you will encounter rugged areas; although, there are still dedicated walk ways you can stick to. We observed the sun setting. Breathtaking!

Thank cnw1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Amazing experience , from above you can see Cape Town and much more. Magic place. Book it or go late afternoon , is less busy and sunset is beautiful but take care because going down if you wait the closure there will be big line to come back

Thank MarioV85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago

Table Mountain is a short drive outside of Cape Town and forms part of Table Mountain National Park. It is recognized as one of the New 7 Wonders of Nature. Overlooking Cape Town, it provides unparalleled views of the area and draws tourists from around the world. The top of the mountain can be reached by walking or cableway. Conditions for our hike up the mountain were perfect that day. Upon our ascent to the top which took about 45 minutes, the skies were clear and the temperature was in the low 60s. We stopped at several points along the way to take pictures and digest the otherworldly scenery. I could not believe how few people were on the trail with us. We are talking about a hike that provides some of the most generous vantage points in the world and we probably did not come across more than 150 people on our way up. I would rate the hike difficulty as between easy and moderate. Individuals are more than likely to stop at various points along the route to catch their breath and just enjoy the view. We did the standard hike up which I thought was great in terms of timing and what we were able to see. My girlfriend and I took pictures at the top of the mountain overlooking Cape Town and the rest of the majestic coastal landscape. I am glad that we took our pictures quickly because the clouds rolled in over the course of just a few minutes. As they say locally, the city is capable of having four seasons in a single day. It was a prudent decision to opt for the cableway down, as we were a bit tired at this point and a hike down the mountain would not have provided any views that we had already seen.

Thank Brendan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago

This iconic mountain is a must for visitors to Cape Town. For the adventurous it can be hiked up and down but for the vast majority the cable car is wonderful. To avoid a long wait it is advisable to book tickets on line. On the trip up and down the cable car does a full 180 degree circle so everyone gets a good view. At the top there is the obligatory shop and cafe. Regular free guided walks are available (very interesting). The views are tremendous The hikes along the top of the mountain are well maintained and well worth exploring A day out not to be missed

Thank H4772NMrogerh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

The walk up table top mountain was brilliant it was an easy to follow path that went up hill continuously to the top. It took us about 2 hours and is best done early morning or late afternoon to catch the sunset. The path had some shade in fact more on our way down late afternoon, While up there visit Abseil Africa and abseil 120 meters off it was amazing and all three of us did it a the the same time. Awesome. Good restaurant and snack bar on top too. Just wait for the right day.

1  Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

No trip to Cape Town would be complete without going to the top of Table Mountain. There are several excellent hikes and the cable car as options to reach the top. While up there, there are shopping and dining options and excellent views. Not to be missed.

Thank 25wanderlings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

This past October 2018 I had a chance to visit Cape Town, South Africa what a beautiful place. During my stay I had the opportunity to visit one of The Seven Wonder of Nature, Table Mountain. This experience by far was the most impressive of all my sight-seeing tours. The view from the top was breathtaking. The moment was so for real surpassing any time in my history of travel.

1  Thank Curtis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

Stunning views, great cable car ride, advise to pre-book as queue can be pretty long and the tickets last a week anyway. The weather can change pretty quick so be prepared.
Cable car ride is great, the floor rotates to give everyone a view, really good idea but the views from the top are simply stunning anyway.

Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews