We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Dias is spectacular” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape of Good Hope

Cape of Good Hope
Book In Advance
$112.14*
and up
Private Tour: Cape of Good Hope Tour from Cape Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dias is spectacular”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

Dias beach is a bit of a hike down from the funicular, but well worth it. It is deserted. It is a truly spectacular beach - you sink 2 feet into the sand when you get off the steep steps. Look out for all the dasi (kind of like cute gophers) on the steps down - you are surrounded by them.

Last year we went into the water - and this has to be the most dangerous beach I've ever been to. The surf was crashing in with about 6 ft waves. We didn't go in past out knees - but there was 4 feet of foam and the undertow was wicked, both the foam and undertow knock you down. An awesome sight this beach is.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank halifaxenergyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,863
    1,196
    213
    21
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pakse, Laos
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Rewarding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

Scenic 360 views. Take the hidden path connecting the lookout point to the lighthouse. Hidden beaches and jaw-dropping views await.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank nhauser89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Loved the View from the Top....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

Fantastic ride to the top and we had one of the most stunning view from the top.. The view of the Blue Water of the Sea was simply breath taking. We were lucky to get a clear pleasent weathere conditions to enjoy our time there...

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pankit-Shah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
178 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A Must to See”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

If you have the time in Capetown you must visit the Cape of Good Hope. The scenery is splendid, interesting wildlife roaming like Ostrich on the road who seem to have the right of way. The walk up to the light house is comfortable for those without mobility challenges. Very rugged coastline and understandable why it is "Good Hope" Certainly treacherous for marine craft - spectacular views. The restaurant at the base was very clean and my shrimp and beet salad was very good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank cdb15427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Good Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

We studied history and learnt how Cape of Good Hope had gotten its name. The sea and the waves are such a lovely view to watch and you have a chance to stand on the landmark - Cape of Good Hope.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice_chan_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape of Good Hope also viewed

Table Mountain National Park, Cape Town
Simon's Town, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Simon's Town, Cape Town
 

Been to Cape of Good Hope? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing