We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the View from the Top....”
Review of Cape of Good Hope

Cape of Good Hope
Book In Advance
More Info
$64.32*
and up
Private Tour: Cape Peninsula and Boulders Beach Penguins Day Trip from Cape Town
More Info
$87.35*
and up
Full-Day Cape Point and Peninsula Tour from Cape Town
More Info
$63.53*
and up
Half-Day Cape of Good Hope Tour from Cape Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Loved the View from the Top....”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Fantastic ride to the top and we had one of the most stunning view from the top.. The view of the Blue Water of the Sea was simply breath taking. We were lucky to get a clear pleasent weathere conditions to enjoy our time there...

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pankit-Shah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,685 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,133
    1,292
    231
    22
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
White Rock, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
134 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A Must to See”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

If you have the time in Capetown you must visit the Cape of Good Hope. The scenery is splendid, interesting wildlife roaming like Ostrich on the road who seem to have the right of way. The walk up to the light house is comfortable for those without mobility challenges. Very rugged coastline and understandable why it is "Good Hope" Certainly treacherous for marine craft - spectacular views. The restaurant at the base was very clean and my shrimp and beet salad was very good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank cdb15427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Good Experience”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We studied history and learnt how Cape of Good Hope had gotten its name. The sea and the waves are such a lovely view to watch and you have a chance to stand on the landmark - Cape of Good Hope.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice_chan_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Friendly and Experience Private Tour Guide”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Rithwaan who owned the Romertours in Cape Town has been providing his service to hundreds of airline staff and their friends over the years, and we just need using word of mouth to share with friends and colleagues of his good, experienced and friendly personalised tour service. He would show us everywhere in South Africa, the Garden Route, Cape of Good Hope, the penquin and seal close encounters, etc, your will enjoyed it. If you have a small team, he would use a car and if more than 5, he would use a minivan to show you around. Cape Town is such a lovely place to visit and with him as a guide, you will always want to re-visit all the places all over again. You just tell him what you are interested in and he ensures you get it, for example, shark cage diving. It was my 2nd time using Rithwaan and I will go back to him again when I visit Cape Town.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice_chan_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
639 reviews
375 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 374 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

When I finally got to see the Cape of Good Hope, I was impressed. A beautiful scene of water and rocks. It s marked with a sign around which tourists will gather to have their picture taken. You can walk up the cliff face towards the light house if you want to, or you can just at about sea level and enjoy the views. Not to be missed.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank trainfan2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape of Good Hope also viewed

Table Mountain National Park, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Simon's Town, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Cape of Good Hope? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing