We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well Worth The Trip!”
Review of Cape of Good Hope

Cape of Good Hope
Book In Advance
More Info
$62.87*
and up
Private Tour: Cape Peninsula and Boulders Beach Penguins Day Trip from Cape Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Paris, France
Level Contributor
118 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Well Worth The Trip!”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We so enjoyed our trip to the Cape of Good Hope! Through our travel agent, we hired a private driver to take our family to the Cape. I highly recommend this as it allows you so much flexibility. It is important to arrive at the Cape early so that you beat the crowds. As we were departing the Cape area, the number of cars waiting in line to enter the area was incredible! Our driver said, if you arrive too late, it is possible that they might not allow you in, due to the crowds, and then you will miss it! While at the Cape there are several different areas to visit. Take the time to see them all. There is a funicular which takes you up to a viewing point just below an old lighthouse. There are lots of hiking paths to enjoy as well. Make sure to wear comfortable shoes and protective sun gear....it was really hot in this area. Water and sunscreen are necessities! While in the area we saw several Ostrich near the beach which was really cool! We spent about 1 1/2 hours in the area, but you could stay a lot longer if you plan to do some hiking. The trip in the car from Cape Town to the Cape is absolutely beautiful!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank JAH_Chicago_Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,066
    1,279
    230
    22
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Captivating Cape”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

A Cape tour is a must. The Cape of Good Hope is historic, splendid and breathtaking.Be sure to allow enough time to take the finicular or walk to the top.Bring a good camera and binoculars.
However, it's not where the Indian and Atlantic Oceans meet as I learned in 5th grade. That's about 300 kilometers away.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Tour of Good Hope”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We went on a group tour with 8 others for a day tour of The Cape of Good Hope. The highlight of our day was walking around the Cape and up to the Lighthouse We ate at the Two Oceans Restaurant and had a wonderful, relaxing visit! The views were incredible and we can highly recommend visiting the area. We even saw Ostrich that walked right up to our van!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Prico4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
185 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“One of the New 7 Natural Wonders of Nature”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Where in a major city can you experience one of the "New 7 Natural Wonders of Nature". Table Mountain is located in Cape Town, South Africa. Table Mountain is 600 million years old and believed to be older than the Himalayas. You can hike or take the Cable Car which rotates 360 degrees up to the top of the plateau. Either way you will have a spectacular of Cape Town and Table Bay. Walk along several trails on top of the plateau, where a huge number of species, both plants and animals call home. All while taking in the breath taking views of the Alantic Ocean and the city of Cape Town. Table Mountain is well worth the time.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rickeys-Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Have to go!”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We had a tour guide take us from our hotel to the Cape of Good Hope. On the way we stopped at seal island which was very neat to see as well. You take a boat over to the island and can see the hundreds of seals on the island and playing in the water. From there we headed to the Cape and it was certainly worth the trip! We walked up to the top where the lighthouse is and although the bugs are bad in that spot the views are incredible. You cannot go to South Africa without visiting!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Meredith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape of Good Hope also viewed

Table Mountain National Park, Cape Town
Simon's Town, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Simon's Town, Cape Town
 

Been to Cape of Good Hope? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing