We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need to do it!”
Review of Cape of Good Hope

Cape of Good Hope
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$63.55*
and up
Private Tour: Cape Peninsula and Boulders Beach Penguins Day Trip from Cape Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Granite Bay
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
“Need to do it!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

You don't want to come this far and not say you've been here (and Cape Point) especially if you like oceans. We had to laugh at the number of visitors taking photo opts in front of the sign.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank DJA713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,645 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,098
    1,287
    231
    22
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Happiness and Bliss”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This drive is one of the most amazing drives I have ever done. If you have driven Highway 1 in California, it is very similar only a little more daring. Being from the US it takes a little time to get used to driving on the opposite side of the road. The road is a little more narrow in S. Africa so be careful. I would highly recommend the drive. Drive down to Cape Point to see the baboons and beautiful picturesque towns along the way. Once you get to the end, take a hike to the Lighthouse. This hike is somewhat steep and is very exposed to the sun. Take water with you if you go to the top. Once you get to the top the views will blow you away. Camera's can't capture what you will see.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alankar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Day trip from Capetown”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Pretty drive through some local small towns. Stop at Boulder Island to see the penguins either on the way there or on the way back to Capetown.
Beautiful views and some wildlife sightings. If you are only going for the day I recommend going early, so you have lots of time to hike around at the cape. I wish we had been able to stay longer.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank heather p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiptree, Essex
Level Contributor
166 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Worth the drive from Cape Town - spectacular”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

My wife and I drove down from Cape Town on a lovely sunny Saturday morning down the Atlantic coast, through Camps Bay and Hout Bay, along Chapman's Peak Drive (£3 cost) and to the Table Mountain National Park (90 Rand per person access at that time - £15 for 2 of us).

we drove through the national park on well maintained roads to Cape Point where you can catch the funicular to the top (or walk if you like!) and then walk up the steps to the lighthouse. The views are gorgeous. The local flora is interesting and maybe you may spot a tortiouse or a baboon!

We had breakfast by the visitor centre and the food and views were fabulous and reasonably priced. The cliffs at the southern point tower more than 200 metres above the sea and consist of Cape of good Hope, Cape Maclear and Cape Point.

After about an hour and a halfs visit we then drove back to Cape Town up the Indian Ocean side, visiting Boulders Bay and the penguins there (a small charge - 40 Rand I think) and stopped off at Groot Constantia on the way back. and then into Cape Town for around 4pm.
So from 8am to 4pm - Well worth a day trip!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank AndyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Checkendon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great place shame about the people.”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Utterley stunning place to visit, especially to cycle. The route through the National Park is incredible. It's sad that these places get mobbed even on an uneventful week day in March - there was a near traffic jam and the undistinguished restaurants were full. Fortunately I could get on my bike and go.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape of Good Hope also viewed

Table Mountain National Park, Cape Town
Simon's Town, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Simon's Town, Cape Town
 

Been to Cape of Good Hope? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing