We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desolate and beautiful”
Review of Cape of Good Hope

Cape of Good Hope
Book In Advance
More Info
$64.08*
and up
Private Tour: Cape Peninsula and Boulders Beach Penguins Day Trip from Cape Town
More Info
$87.02*
and up
Full-Day Cape Point and Peninsula Tour from Cape Town
More Info
$63.29*
and up
Half-Day Cape of Good Hope Tour from Cape Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Saskatoon
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Desolate and beautiful”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Take at least a full day for this. When I go back I plan to bike down there, and potentially do a couple day hike, as there is so much to see.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank beernwinetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,683 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,132
    1,291
    231
    22
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Paltz, New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Dramatic Landscape”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

This month was my second trip to Cape of Good Hope and we were lucky to have no wind and spectacular displays of proteas and other flowers all along the approach road. How different from our last visit one February when it was extremely windy and rather bleak. The short path that extends from the lighthouse farther out toward the point is worth walking. We didn't have the time to explore other walks, but there appeared to be numerous possibilities. Definitely a worthwhile destination.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank SS1172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is one of those iconic places that you learn about as a child at school and when you visit as an adult is quite surreal. We were very lucky with the weather during our two weeks holiday in Cape Town and the day we chose to visit the Cape was no exception. The drive from Cape Town down the West coast is spectacular probably the best Coastal route we have driven anywhere in the world, it took us the best part of three hours because we stopped so many times to admire the views and take photographs. It was busy at the Cape of Good Hope and Cape Point but didn't detract from the sheer magnificence of these places and the National Park in general with all the shrubs and flowers and even two Ostrich which posed for us only about fifteen meters from the car. This was yet another day in South Africa which exceeded our expectations.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Tour”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Cape of Good Hope is a beautiful site not only with the old lighthouse but of the cape itself. Not to be missed!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Co
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Remarkable place”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This place should be seen just because it exists and ios legendary, though it is not the southernmost part of anything other than the Cape of Good Hope. Great foliage, lots of baboons (Watch out. they know how to open car doors and how to throw rocks through windows),. and he sea is rough and gorgeous. Lots to see and do on the trip to and from Capetown.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank bouldertype
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape of Good Hope also viewed

Table Mountain National Park, Cape Town
Simon's Town, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Cape of Good Hope? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing