We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New & best on the coast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Splendid Conference & Spa Resort
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Becici
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
198 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
“New & best on the coast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2007

We'd been to Montenegro in 2006 & saw the Hotel Splendid being built so when we went back this year we thought we'd try it out. It sells itself as a 5 star hotel beach resort & it comes pretty close to it. There is not another hotel to match it along the dalmatian coast until you get to Dubrovnik. The rooms are spacious, modern, stylish & well equipped. The bars & restaurants are also pretty good. The views are superb from the sea facing rooms & the terrace bar. The staff were pleasant & helpful. They want tourists from western europe, the UK & the States and try hard to provide a good service.

It was spotlessly clean.

I can recommend it. If you go to Montenegro don't miss the old towns of budva, kotor & a little gem called perast on the bay of kotor.

It's a beautiful country.

  • Liked — the views & the bed was so comfortable
  • Disliked — nothing i disliked
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank talkative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    145
    55
    16
    18
See reviews for
126
167
14
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
phoenix
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2007

As a seasoned traveler, I was very disappointed in this hotel. It has a great location and the view from our baloncy was great. However, the spa was not completed (we had been told that it would be ready) and there was ungoing construction during our stay. C'mon, do you really need to be sawing and hammering at 1am in the morning? There were a lot of problems you wouldn't expect to find at a "5-star" property. For example, failure to provide us a requested wake up call (that resulted in a missed boat trip), lots of noise, and the staff was hit and miss in the attention they were willing to provide (i.e., I was told more than once they couldn't answer a question or request but wasn't provided where to get an answer). And it seemed like we were getting charged for something everytime we turned around, from an expresso at breakfast (we had paid for breakfast to be included in our rate) to water in our room. We also paid 10 bucks for internet in the room that must have been dial up because it was so slow. Feel like room service after 11 pm? Forget about it. The menu was extremely limited and consisted mainly of a few cold sandwiches. Anyway, I tried to talk to manager about some of the problems, but was constantly told he was unavailable or to call back at a different time. Even upon check-out, I asked to talk to someone about our bill and was told that anyone with authority to do something about the bill was unavailable. I don't think I've stayed anywhere in the world where the management seemed to be so uninterested or unwilling to speak with guests about their complaints. I never did get an adequate response from management. Maybe they were too busy dealing with other complaints or training staff. I now realize that this hotel is not a Ritz, Four Seasons, or even a high end Hyatt, but please don't try and pass this off as a 5 star property. Frankly, if I had been told it was a 3 star hotel and paid a 3 star room rate, I probably wouldn't have been so disappointed. Regardless, Montenegro is a beautiful country and we enjoyed our trip.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank bondisback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2007

Just returned from this hotel a couple of days ago where we stayed one week. The hotel is very new, but all construction has been finished. The spa center was due to open on the day of our departure, otherwise it is fully functional.

The grounds, with a large pool and a private beach, are excellent. You can order drinks directly from the beach, no need to go back to the bar - great feature. The rooms are well-equipped, special kudos for the bathroom - Villeroy and Boch, etc. Cheap plastic pictures a letdown, though.

Now, to the more negative side which mostly deals with the quality of service:

- Not all staff members speak English, which is kind of strange for a five-star.
- Our room (842) had a distinct smell of food. A mechanic switched off "clean air intake", which helped, but not entirely.
- Cleaning service is the worst. Our balcony was not cleaned ONCE. Ashtray not emptied, glasses not washed. When I called the reception to mildly reprimand them for the low cleaning standards, they were sorry and sent up a girl with a broom who entered without knocking while we were on the balcony enjoying some wine and snacks. Great timing.
- Took 40 minutes and three calls to the Room Service to get a cork-screw.
- No free water provided, no DVD, Internet only available on a crippled "infotainment" TV system, at 12 euro/24hrs. Free wi-fi in the lobby though.
- Be careful when booking. They have either sea-view, or mountain-view. I saw several scandals at the reception because the rooms were booked incorrectly.

Overall impression is that the management rather wants to fleece the guest than to please. Otherwise, staff (though slow) is nice and friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — Great view from balcony
  • Disliked — Poor cleaning
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank RomanMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2007

We stumbled upon this hotel via the internet. We had two weeks for our honeymoon and knew we wanted to stay at the Grand Villa Argentina one week, but wanted to find some place else to visit for the first week. Narrowing our search to only 5-star hotels and we found this one, only a couple hours from Dubrovnik.
The hotel is brand new, and in fact still under construction. This is probably what gave it such a great value of around 150euros/night for a sea view with balcony.
The room was immaculate: big, high end fixtures, modern technology, beautiful bathroom and big balcony.
They provided champagne and cake upon our arrival to celebrate our honeymoon, which was a nice touch.
Pools were beautiful and well maintained. Ditto for the private beach.
Negatives: the Music. For some reason the hotel played it all day and very loud so you could hear it no matter where you were in the hotel, including your room. I found this to be the one area that made the hotel seem to not be up to the western 5-star standard.
Negatives: staff knowledeablity (and I know that's not a word). The staff spoke English pretty well and overall tried to be helpful, but they were definitely gaps in things that they should know, including transportation, site-seeing, etc. Asking 3 different people the same question would often give 3 different answers.
Also, the hotel is not completed. The Spa and Wellness Center was still under construction, which was disappointing because it was supposed to be done in May, a month before we arrived. I'm sure it will be beautiful once complete.

Overall, it was a great stay and a great value. As a benchmark, the Rolling Stones were staying there for a concert they were giving the week after we were there.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CKuschel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moscow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2007

A very nice hotel. the personnel is very friendly and helpful, everything is at a very high profile.

I would like to thank all the staff for their work, for solving promptly any problem that could occur.

the hotel is a real 5-star hotel. it is very important because I travel a lot, and many hotels often do not satisfy me. but Splendid is the best.

Strongly recommend everybody visiting Splendid.
My only disappointment about it was that I was there in June, and the wellness centre hadn't been opened by that moment. But they say it will start in July already.

  • Liked — guest room, the beach
  • Disliked — there was no animation, really
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank sashajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2007

We spent a week at the Hotel Splendid from 11th May 2007. It certainly lives upto it’s name, it is Splendid! However be aware it is not yet completely finished and some facilities are not yet available. The spa is still being built, the work is not too intrusive but a little noisy at times. Check before you leave as the situation is changing all the time. When we were there no indoor pools were available and 2 outdoor pools had only just opened. On arrival at the hotel it is like driving into a building site! But once inside all is OK. Valet parking works very well.
The service and food were very good indeed. We had some communication problems as some staff speak very little English. However they are very keen to please you. The TV/Internet in the room is OK but to use the free e-mail you need to know the address of the pop3 server of your ISP. The Internet which costs 11euro for 24hours is not worth the money as it does not support pop ups! and very slow.
The rooms are large and luxurious, along with the bathrooms which are cleaned twice a day. Excellent views from the room, and free pool towels. The buffet has loads of choice and the quality of the meat is exceptional. Quite a variety of food on offer each night, restaurant is very spacious.
There is a beach front train to the next resort Budva which is very useful, and several cafes within walking distance. Water taxi also runs. Some parts of town are very run down and others are being renovated at a rapid rate.

  • Liked — Spacious room
  • Disliked — Some building noise
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank roangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Becici
0.7 mi away
Queen of Montenegro
Queen of Montenegro
#3 of 9 in Becici
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Montenegro Beach Resort
13.7 mi away
Regent Porto Montenegro
Regent Porto Montenegro
#1 of 8 in Tivat Municipality
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tara
Hotel Tara
#4 of 9 in Becici
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mediteran Conference & Spa Resort and Aqua Park
0.4 mi away
Dukley Hotel & Resort
Dukley Hotel & Resort
#14 of 24 in Budva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendid Conference & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendid Conference & Spa Resort

Property: Hotel Splendid Conference & Spa Resort
Address: Becici, Budva Municipality 85315, Montenegro
Location: Montenegro > Budva Municipality > Becici
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Becici
#1 Romantic Hotel in Becici
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Becici
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Splendid Conference & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the small town Becici in Montenegro, the Splendid Conference & SPA Resort was opened in 2006 and became the first 5* hotel on the eastern coast of the Adriatic Sea. Hotel Splendid 5* is 3 kilometers away from the touristic capital of Montenegro, Budva, stays on the sea front and has its own private beach. The hotel has 322 standard rooms, most of them with the sea view, as well as 4 suites and 13 apartments, a penthouse and presidential apartments for the VIP guests. Hotel guests have access to four bars and three restaurants of different cuisine, the largest in Montenegro SPA center Splendid SPA and gambling zone Casino Royale. Splendid Conference & SPA Resort is the largest conference venue in Montenegro. The hotel’s conference zone can accommodate events for up to 700 people. Hotel Splendid offers several modern halls and syndicate rooms with beautiful decoration, all necessary equipment, suitable for business events, as well as for informal ceremonies, gala dinners, family celebrations and weddings. Many famous people have been the guests of the hotel Splendid 5*: UN Secretary General Ban Ki-moon, 42nd US President Bill Clinton, world-famous pop singer Madonna, legendary rock band the Rolling Stones and its frontman Mick Jagger, Hollywood actors Angelina Jolie and Brad Pitt, legendary hockey player Pavel Bure, Russian astronaut Oleg Kotov and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Splendid Conference & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendid Conference And Spa Resort
Splendid Hotel Becici
Splendid Conference Hotel
Splendid Hotel Budva
Splendid Conference Becici
Hotel Splendid Conference & Spa Resort Montenegro/Becici

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing