We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware not Budva but Becici.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Queen of Montenegro
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Becici
Rye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beware not Budva but Becici.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Must point out that Queen of Montenegro is in Becici and that you either have to take the bus outside or taxi to get into Budva .
Not that this is time-consuming , expensive or difficult - but use taxis beginning with 19 - they are official and costs between 2.5-5 euro each way although the unofficial can cost up to 10.
on a positive note, the walk along the coast takes about an hour or more in our case - only because we kept stopping at the bars....
The rooms are spotless , clean and spacious and for us a balcony with partial side view.
First impression of bathroom is Wow but.... until you have a shower and it sprays everywhere.....
agree with previous reviewer that there are room for improvement.
The restaurant is very crowded with coach parties and often the 2 coffee machines break down.... but food is fairly good a lot of choice but difficult to get served wine - best to order at bar upstairs and bring down to restaurant.
Staff generally very tolerant , especially when some tourists eats like vultures!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank T J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen_of_Montenegro, General Manager at Queen of Montenegro, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide your review about our hotel. It is my great pleasure to find out that you spent a nice holiday at our hotel. However, I would like to explain some facts which did not completely met your expectations about our hotel.

You are right that our hotel is in Becici - some 4 km away from Budva and 5 km away from The Old Town of Budva. That is exactly how we promote our location. I sincerely hope that a sales channel, from where you booked accommodation at our hotel, did not give you some other information.

Concerning your experience with the bathroom in the room, we have already taken certain actions in order to solve the problem.

Our main restaurant is the place where buffet meals (breakfast and dinner) of large variety and excellent quality are served. Yes, it can get crowdy when the hotel is full, but you can also choose to dine at reasonable prices either in our a la carte restaurant "Lokanda" or beach restaurant "Pod Murvom". I must also explain that our coffee machines are open for breakfast, for dinner espresso coffee upon order is available. I am very sorry that you were taking the wine from the aperitif bar downstairs to the restaurant. Our wine list is the same in aperitif bar as well as in the restaurant and waiters from the restaurant serve and present the wine the same way like our waiters from aperitif bar do.

I am sorry that we did not fully met your expectations, but also very glad that you had a nice holiday in general.

Toncek Remec
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    217
    74
    17
    16
See reviews for
95
277
26
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brazil
Level Contributor
137 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Queen of Montenegro is a large resort-style hotel in Budva. If you come in summer, prepare: the city and the beaches will be full, and probably there will be delays on the border crossing to Croatia (avoid the main border crossing to Dubrovnik if you can). The hotel provides parking for guests, but it can be difficult to get a spot if you arrive late.
The hotel itself looks new (or renovated) and is very nicely appointed. The room is nice, but not particularly stylish. The pool area is excellent, combining an indoor and an outdoor pool, but there can be a lack of seating and umbrellas for everyone. Breakfast is just average and slightly below par for this kind of property.
Service was variable: the front desk and the concierge were brilliant and went the extra mile to help us. On the other hand, the hotel has some little annoying rules: for instance, check out is very early (10 am), and you need to pay a deposit to get the towels. One of the staff was even rude to us on enforcing the latter. Do they really think that you pay almost US$200 a night to steal an old pool towel?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FernandaMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

After leaving Dubrovnik airport you have a few miles of tarmac before hitting dirt roads up to the Croatia boarder (The roads are being repaired) we spent 30 to 40nmins crossing the border then a mile of no mans land to the Montenegren border and a further 20 mins to cross. Good roads in Montenegro with 35 mins to a short ferry crossing across a stunning Fjord then a further 30/40 mins to the hotel 2 hours in total.
We were more than happy with the reception at the hotel which is very smart modern with attentive staff. The transfer time made us too late for dinner but they provided a meal in the room within 10 mins of arrival.
The hotel facilities are good but the 98 steps down to the beach may prove challenging to some.
7 euros a day for 2 sunbeds towels and a sun brolly. If you stay by the hotel pool 10 euro refundable deposit for towels.
Lunch at the beach is very reasonable with sandwiches, salads pasta pizza etc for 3 or 4 euro.
Very good beer at 1.80 euro for half litre.
The buffet meals in the evening whilst not of UK restaurant standard are good wholesome and plentiful with a good enough choice foe 1 week but may be limited for a fortnight.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vincent P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a week at this hotel and I must say I was more than happy to stay there. The service was faultless and the hotel itself was spotlessly clean. The staff were courteous and the food was good and there was always a good choice and it was hot,something that you dont always find in some hotels.

The pool area was excellent and there were always loungers and shade available at anytime of day, the sauna and steam room were excellent and free of charge. A short walk took you to the beach, there is now a bridge over the road which ads to the safety of guests accessing the beach.

I must say the rooms were kept clean and towels were changed every day and bedding every second day and the night sky hologram when room light is switched off is amazing. I would definately stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Ronnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights during a visit to Budva Montenegro. Excellent and friendly staff, food well prepared and top quality. Our room was large and spotless just one niggle bathroom floor always got slightly flooded after a shower, water seemed to always find its way round the glass shield side of the bath. Very nice pool area and terrace where one could get a drink and a light snack during the day again pleasant waiters always around to take our order. Evening entertainment every night we were there and most of all the drinks reasonable and not over the top like some hotels. Yes we would stay here again if we ever visit Budva.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bradshawbolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just returned from our holiday in Beccici. This hotel is really nice, great pool,great views and very clean. Food is not the best but overall we were very happy. if you need the beach they have their own, you just follow the path over the bridge and take the steps down (all 96).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hinckley27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed in this hotel at the end of August 2012. It was spotlessly clean, the rooms well proportioned with balcony ensuite etc. The communal ares are very well laid out and the staff polite and friendly. All in all great place to stay except...
The fire door at the bottom of the properly signposted exit signs was chained and padlocked. The staff were uninterested in my concerns and the local rep had already raised her concerns with the management prior to our arrival with no effect.
It took until the Wednesday after our arrival on the Sunday for the door to be unlocked.Additionally a fire door leading directly on to the stairwell was propped open with an extinguisher for the whole week, the magnet locks appeared to have failed.
On our return to the UK (4th Sept) I reported this to Thompsons at the local agents. I was told to put it in an email which I did as i was so worried about the issue, which was more than they were.
So far I have had no acknowledgement from the local agent or anybody else from Thompson holidays.
I would not advise anybody to visit this hotel until all fire safety precautions are correctly followed and Thompson Holidays show some interest in the safety of their hotels.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen_of_Montenegro, General Manager at Queen of Montenegro, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Mrs Susan,

We thank you for taking time to write a review on our hotel.
We do appreciate both your positive and negative comments.

Drawing our attention to the subject in matter is of a great importance for future guests of our hotel. We have immediately taken the necessary steps in order to fix the existing difficulty with the door. We are positive about having this problem solved very soon. Therefore, we can guarantee the safety and security to our guests, just as they have been granted so far.
Please, be aware that wellbeing and security of our guests is our priority and, by no means, we wouldn’t allow that to be harmed.

Herewith, I would like to apologize on behalf of the whole team for any inconvenient experience this might have caused, but at the same time would like to point out that we would be more than pleased to see you again in our hotel.

Respectfully,

Toncek Remec
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Becici
0.7 mi away
Hotel Splendid Conference & Spa Resort
0.9 mi away
Hotel Montenegro Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Hotel Tara
Hotel Tara
#4 of 9 in Becici
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Regent Porto Montenegro
Regent Porto Montenegro
#1 of 8 in Tivat Municipality
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mediteran Conference & Spa Resort and Aqua Park
16.9 mi away
Hotel Conte
Hotel Conte
#1 of 2 in Perast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen of Montenegro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen of Montenegro

Property: Queen of Montenegro
Address: Narodnog fronta bb, Becici, Budva Municipality 85316, Montenegro
Location: Montenegro > Budva Municipality > Becici
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Becici
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Becici
#3 Luxury Hotel in Becici
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Queen of Montenegro 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern luxurious four-star hotel is located on a beautiful panoramic site in Becici. It is only 4 km away from the Montenegrin metropolis of tourism – Budva. The hotel’s structure includes: 227 rooms, 9 luxurious residents apartments, the main show kitchen restaurant, VIP restaurant a la carte, tavern, bars, beach bar and restaurant, indoor and outdoor swimming pool on a spacious terrace with the most stunning view to the Becici beach, private beach organized and equipped according to the highest standards, wellness center, casino, conference halls and sport field. With its rich facilities, good service and cozy atmosphere, this hotel represents one of the most pleasant places on the Montenegrin coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queen of Montenegro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Of Montenegro Hotel Becici
Queen Of Montenegro Budva
Queen Of Montenegro Becici

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing