We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Water, water everywhere... Except in our rooms”
Review of Hotel Mediteran

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Mediteran
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Becici
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Water, water everywhere... Except in our rooms”
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

This is my first visit to Montenegro in ten years and I immediately remembered why I was avoiding this part of Adriatic, despite the overwhelming beaty of the nature and common language we speak. It all comes down to the value for money and level of service one expects in a 4 star hotel on the coast.
Hotel was chosen for a regional business meeting of mu company and we were all looking forward to spemding a couple of days on the seaside, combining work with a little bit of pleasure. To cut the long story short: the hotel staff is friendly enough, but if you have one receptionist per shift in a hotel with 800 guests, it is fair to assume that this person can't handle check in and check out, together with all te requests and complaints... So, they are overworked and slightly confused, doing their best but creating a feeling of not being efficient (I don't remember habing seen hotel staff using pencils to write room numbers in a notebook in years...).
The biggest complaints that beings back all the worst memories is the water shortage. It is beyond me how it is possible to have a hotel boasting an aquapark when you don't have water in your room to wash your hands or, God forbid, have a shower. It was a unique experience walking at 7am in my bathrobe to the room of my colleague who was on the 1st floor and had enough water dripping from the shower to help me appear decent at our 9 o'clock meeting. The explanation from the hotel staff that the problem is not with the hotel, but with the whole region is just not good enough. Again, it brings all the bad memories about water shortages in Montenegro from years and years ago and I really can't believe that it is still going on. Especially since we are now in the month of June, when the real season has not really started...
I am sorry to give such a poor review of this hotel, which has an excellent position, sandy beach and all the God given beauty that can make Montenegro a real travel destination and a pearl of Adriatic. Unfortunately, there is still a long way to go.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
6 Thank SvetlanaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    57
    47
    23
    9
See reviews for
70
37
5
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The staff in the Mediteran are very friendly and helpful from reception to the bar.

It's a minute walk to the beach and a restuarant, and a 5min cab ride into old town Budva, and costs about €2, I'd recommend a visit to the old town and the port as there are more restuarants/bars here, plus other amenities such as casino and shops.

The rooms don't have a safe and the shower leaked a bit, but other than that a good room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank d4vealex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downsouth
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This hotel is about 75 meters from the beacn and a 30 minutes walk from the Old Town. The showers could do with updationg and the staff were excellent. We stayed 2 nights and ocerall we were very pleased with our visit. The breakfast was buffet style with an excellent choice. We eat in the Old Town by the Marina.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ericDownsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steinenbronn, Germany
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Hotel Mediteran is a nice hotel, one street away from the beach. This hotel has a beautiful spa, lovely outdoor pool, hair and nail salon and an accommodating and pleasant staff. Rooms are a bit small but half of them open to a balcony that faces the ocean--good for keeping the door open at night for the breeze and sounds of the ocean. Food is not great and mini bar and hotel bar is a bit expensive. I'd suggest getting water/wine/snacks from the store on the corner for 90% less cost. Beach is beautiful and pizza restaurant on the beach is convenient and fun in the summer. Cab ride into city should only cost 6 euro. Don't let cab drivers overcharge...they will charge 25 euro to Old Town if your hotel doesn't help you. All around nice hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank theheatherchronicles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yerevan, Yerevan, Armenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I liked spending 10 wonderful days in an amazing country Montenegro, people are hospitable, friendly. Hotel Mediteran is a good hotel, I liked service, rooms were always clean , thank you for that, and cuisine was various, and dishes were delicious thank's kitchen staff too, specially friendly waiters, but I can't say anything good about reception, besides guest relation , others were not professional, they know many languages , no problems with it, but they were impolite sometimes, we were 5 person , and booked 2 rooms, and asked for rooms next to each other, or at least on the same floor but they refused to give us saying ask again tomorrow , and every time the same answer
But over all , I really enjoyed my holidays. Sincerely Armine from Armenia

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Welcome T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budva, Montenegro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

To start my trip i spent time in some cheeper apartment type places, wanting to spend a few days in a 4 star hotel to pamper my self i looked around, taking into account availability and price was reasonable at the Mediteran, my firs issue was, as i was booking the receptionist asked if it was just me or did i have a partner, I informed her it was just me she then went to priced to tell me inhere is a %70 surcharge added on ???!!! wtf?? I have never here'd of any thing so ridicules, I told her there is no way in hell i would pay more because I was on my own,if there was 2 people i could understand a higher rate,but for a single?! i asked for a explanation which she did not give which just gave me the impression they where just trying it on, I asked her to speak to her manager and that i would take the room @ the original rate quoted, which she did and after a fuss agreed. This put a very bad taste in my mouth, management was very arrogant and would not even look at me..

After making my way to my room, i was unpleasantly surprised to a room that smelt any thing but pleasant, after leaving the window opened and air con on full blast for most of the day the smell was gone.

Some of the staff where welcoming and smiling others not much so.

After settling in i made my way down to the beach, Hotel Mediteran has its own private beach,
the beds where free to guest which was nice, there was a man cleaning the water picking up rubbish which was washing up which was minimal, well until i entered the water,
as i am a keen swimmer i swim with googles, the water was not very clear, but this could be down to a number of things. I carried on to swim south down the beach where the water was getting dirtier and dirtier, it crossed my mind that there may be sewage outlet somewhere close, but i chose to ignore it, that was until i started coming across floating band aids, what looked to be female sanitary pads, I though to my self there is no way that this could be the case,AND THEN I NAROWLY avoided swimming in to a tampon!! that was it i burst out off the water feeling like i had just sam through sewage which i obviously had, after a lengthy shower and scrubbing my self a number of times i went to the HOTEL POOL WHICH WAS NICE AND CLEEN AND NOT VERY BUSY.

Earlier that day i put my car keys/documents/money in the room safe for safe keeping and peace of mind, coming back from the pool and getting ready for diner i attempted to open it to no avail,it was no huge drama so i did not bother contacting reception thinking tomorrow il do it.
Following day was a late start and by 2,30 i was ready to levee and explore, i tried to open the safe to no avail again, i contacted reception when they informed me that no one could open it until 9pm?! which had me stuck in the hotel all day,after a number of phone calls it is nearly 10.30 and i am still waiting for someone to open the safe, absolute unimpressed!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 32GlobeTroter7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Becici hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Treasure Island, Florida
Level Contributor
120 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed here JUST before the busy season of mid june-september (where the population of becici and budva goes from a couple thousand to 60,000) so that may color this review a bit. the outdoor pool was great, indoor pool huge and excellent (including these crazy massage sprayer things!) as well as some nice amenities (hot stone chair, spa's and extra charge saunas.) the beach is a very short walk (maybe 45 seconds) to reserved-for-the-hotel beach access. All the beaches in this area are pretty small, but if you stay away from the high season they are WONDERFUL! i am 100% taking my family here and will consider this hotel to be sure! note that there is 0 internet in the rooms... and whats available in the lobby isn't so great. budva (and its restaurants and beaches etc) are a short 5 minute cable ride which costs just a few euro...

Room Tip: all the rooms are nice, and asking for one with a sea view will usually be sorted for you. note you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank chasles22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Becici
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montenegro Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tara
Hotel Tara
#5 of 9 in Becici
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Splendid Conference & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Queen of Montenegro
Queen of Montenegro
#3 of 9 in Becici
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Slovenska Plaza
0.4 mi away
Dukley Hotel & Resort
Dukley Hotel & Resort
#16 of 24 in Budva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mediteran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediteran

Property: Hotel Mediteran
Address: Becici bb, Becici, Budva Municipality 85316, Montenegro
Location: Montenegro > Budva Municipality > Becici
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Becici
#6 Luxury Hotel in Becici
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mediteran 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mediteran Hotel is situated within the attractive tourist settlement of Becici (Budva, Montenegro), on the very coast of the sky-blue Adriatic Sea. Only 100 meters away from it, there is a beautiful sandy beach. 150 Meters of the beach belongs to the Mediteran Hotel and is intended for the hotel's guests merely. Thanks to its harmonic and carefully designed interior, the Mediteran Hotel offers rooms and suits which represent a perfect combination of high quality furniture (designed and made especially for the Hotel Mediteran) and functional content in a space enriched with masterpieces of celebrated Montenegrin painters. Virginia Woolf wrote that one cannot think well, love well, sleep well, if one has not dined well. At the "Amfora" a la carte restaurant you can enjoy tastes of Montenegrin and international cuisine. You will enjoy sipping your morning coffee while gazing at the see and enjoying the cool summer breeze at "Opera" coffee bar, or having a cold salad at the "Azzuro" beach restaurant. Enjoy a refreshing swim in the beautiful and atmospheric indoor and outdoor swimming pools, or relax in the bubbling whirlpools and river pools at the Mediteran Aqua Park. The Mediteran Spa & Wellness Center reflects both sophisticated style and comfort with a full range of treatments designed to rejuvenate the body, renew the spirit and revive the senses. Indulge yourself to the magical feeling of the treatments offered at the Mediteran Spa & Wellness Center. The Mediteran 4+star hotel also includes a business and congress center for events of all kinds; there are several meeting and banquet halls with beautiful natural daylight provided by large windows. A secure hotel parking is also available for your vehicle during your stay, with a rent-a-car service. Combining a refined service with luxurious amenities, your stay at the Mediteran Hotel will give you a chance to experience the Mediterranean at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mediteran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediteran Hotel Budva
Hotel Mediteran Montenegro/Becici

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing