We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely beautiful hotel and very welcoming and friendly staff.”
Review of Hotel Tara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Tara
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Becici
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

My husband booked this hotel for my 40th birthday and so pleased he did. The hotel is stunning and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are immaculate and the cleanliness is next to none. Fantastic! We were all inclusive and there is something to suit everyone. The dining area is immaculate and the staff are on top of things, never see any tables with dirty plates etc left, super efficient! We booked this hotel through jet 2 and their reps were fantastic, super helpful and made you feel very much at ease and very helpful with the best places to visit etc. Really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend to anyone. The country, the hotel and the scenery I would give 5/5 stunning!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LISTER1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (418)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 418 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

Paid a little extra for our room which was very comfortable with a sea facing balcony. Buffet food was largely as expected but the fish could have been better. Staff and Saga rep Janina were very good. Amstel was the only beer in the free bar and is poor imo but other drinks such as brandy were good. Jovanna the usual waitress was very efficient and was great to chat to.Becici and adjoining Budva have been spoiled by over-development but it is easy and cheap to get to attractive areas by bus such as Kotor, in particular, Perast and Cetinje. The mountains are very beautiful with well marking hiking trails which can be accessed by cheap taxi rides. Only stayed for one week and this was not long enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inchcape44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed here on a walking holiday. The staff were very friendly and helpful and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. Very nice room with everything you need. Beds very comfy but could be a hazard if you didnt take care when walking past as they had very sharp corners. Most of our group had bruises on their shins! Lady who cleaned room was excellent, not just a dust around here everything was cleaned thoroughly every day. Wonderful walks along promenade to Budvar from hotel and easy access to cheap buses which also went to Kotor. Visited in October which was super as it wasnt too busy and we were told that in the high season the hotel and the whole area it is extremely busy. Wonderful walking and a great holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank springy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I have just spent three nights at this hotel and it may as well become one of my favourite hotels in Becici. As I am a local from Montenegro, I will not praise my own country too much and I will just say that you have to visit it at least once in a lifetime, whereby Becici, with its long, sandy beach would be a perfect spot to start exploring it. It is absolutely stunningly beautiful!
This hotel has apparently been well refurbished. The rooms are spacious and clean. The bathroom has a nice shower. More light in the room,a bigger balcony, and a pair of slippers of a better quality would be an asset though. I prefer softer beds too. The service is perfect - all compliments to the reception staff, especially Marko and Dragana, they are extremely helpful and kind. Breakfast is delicious. I haven't had time to try the pool or other extra services, but I would gladly come back to this hotel even without having tried everything that it had on offer. I am looking forward to some other opportunity to explore it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dragon_girl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Excellent worth the money spent.i would choose it again.the hotel services are good, the hotel is clean the rooms are spacious, the showers are also very good standard, breakfast and lunch are very well presented and affordable, room temperature is suitable. Montenegro is a place to visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Arrived at 3am - 7 hours late and as you can imaging check in was quick, althought there was a mix up with names (thanks to Cosmos) - it was easily sorted out. Hotel had placed some food in the room, which was requested by our rep - and was great and much appreciated - typical of the service we got all over Montenegro! We went " all inclusive" - see comments at the end. Hotel is modern and light with a central atrium. Dining is on the ground level.

Rooms - we booked rooms 13 and 14 looking out on the pool. Sun shines on it the during the morning and rooms get hot, despite the A/c. Room was well set out - big flat screen TV, 2 wardrobes (one 1/2 size), shelf for suitcases, 2 chairs and a table. It also had a mini fridge. Beds was firm, with a thin duvet and 2 pillows. At night from 7pm till +/- 11pm you get the full blast of the poolside entertainment - not great. Balcony was tiny and pretty much useless. You couldn't sit on it. Rooom had a free safe but you need to go to reception to get its code. WIFI free inside the hotel.

Toilet was essentially a large wet room with a hand and "Rain forest" shower. It was well appointed with - shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, body wash, tissues and a hairdryer. All very nice.

Staff were very welcoming especially the dining room reception staff. Plates were cleared up immediately they were empty and the various buffets continuously topped up. As part of all inclusive we had beakfast, lunch and dinner included along with orange squash, apple, water, draft red or white wine and tea/coffee. Overall the selection was good to very good, varied and fresh. Liked their breads and fruit. Breakfast was 7am-10am and not too crowded. Lunch was 12-2.30 pm and agin not too crowded. Dinner was 7-9 pm and very crowded with some food occasionally running out ( but filled quickly).

Pool area/garde area was always busy during the day with lots of children. There are lots of sun loungers but the get "reserved" very early in the day and many do not get used. You can also lie under the trees in the garden - very nice. There are limited tables in the bar area (10) and only about 5 umbrellas. Bar service is good - but the Russians just don't get queues!!
Lots of stuff happens around the pool - the activities staff keep things going pretty much all day. In the evening there is a 1hour kids "thing" followed by "entefrtainment" It was not great, however and once the tables fill up - you have to sit on a sun lounger.

Hotel does have its own private bit of the beach with a bar mini restaurant there. You pay for the towels (50 cents). Beach is about 150 yards or so from the hotel down a small side street.


Hotel is close to the promenade which goes to Budva ( via the tunnel) and is about a 30-40 mins stroll. It is a pretty lively walk past the beach, all the food stalls, shops and bar/discos. Regular buses to Budva from across main road just up from the hotel costs 1 Euro for 2 people. There are also plent of taxis around.

Overall I found this hotel hard to beat with its service, room quality and location. I'd go back but on a B&B basis as Budva is so accessible.

HOWEVER, I was not impressed by the "all inclusive" option. We took it as I had my 84 year old mother-in-law with us and thought it would be easier. All inclusive is really a misnomer - it does not include the full bar menu at the pool (on both food and drinks), you cannot use the Terrace bar or the bar inside the hotel, you cannot use the Italian Restaurant ( but you do get 20% off), you cannot get drinks at the beach. A big complaint to the hotel and also my travel agent.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the pool. All inclusive option is not that great a deal as it is too restrictiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Honisoiquimalypense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My first time in Montenegro and firstly I would highly recommend the country and the areas of Becici and Budva, absolutely stunning, scenery, greenery, hospitality, culture, fun. Just wonderful. If you're a fan of places like Olu Deniz, Lake Garda and the Austrian lakes and mountains this is for you.....

TRANSFER: the best I've ever done! don't be put off by the two hours from Dubrovnik airport as this is the swiftest, smoothest and most scenic transfer journey I've ever been on, treat it as an excursion and have the camera ready. The short ferry crossing gives incredible views of the mountains, sea, villages etc of the Bay of Boka, Kotor and Herzi Gova.... beautiful.

HOTEL

On arrival the hotel was pristine and the staff welcoming. This continued throughout our stay, reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Our check in was swift and our room had been upgraded, fantastic! Not only that but we had missed dinner as it was late and they had laid out some food in our room for us plus a bottle of water. What a lovely surprise!

Room facilities were superb. We had a two bedroomed corner suite (no. 241) with two bathrooms and three balconies, one of which had chairs to sit out and a sea view. The other two were narrow balconies but lovely views from all. It was so spacious and one bathroom had a shower and the other shower and half bath. Maid service wasn't intrusive but efficient and there were free toiletries and plenty of towels. The safety deposit box was free as was the air conditioning.

RESTAURANT

Firstly the staff who greeted us on entering the restaurant were lovely and very cheerful, special commendation goes to TAMARA who always had a lovely smile and a greeting for us and who spoke good English.

The food was very good with plenty of choice, maybe not quite to the standard of some places I've been but served good and hot and there was always something new to eat. The drinks in the restaurant included orange squash, apple, water, red or white wine and tea or coffee in the mornings, black tea on an evening (for some strange reason, not sure if that's a local thing?). All the staff who cleared tables etc were very efficient and courteous and there was always plenty of free tables at any time but we did eat later to avoid queues. Watch out for Russian queue jumpers, have to say my first experience of Russians and they are so rude! I pointed to the queue on several occasions, not that they took a blind bit of notice !

POOL/BAR

First morning we were greeted by two pool staff from whom we got our free towels, they were both smashing and NIKOLAI was especially friendly ! There were several staff who organised aquarobics, pilates and Tai Chi and we joined in, all good fun. The pool was immaculately clean and the whole pool area was pristine. Plenty of sunbeds, always some free and pretty gardens plus a nice pool bar and again efficient staff. We ate a few times here too and food was lovely and all quite reasonable for this standard of hotel.

BEACH

A short 2/3 minute walk between hotels brough us to the beach and the Tara's private section where you showed your room card and got two sunbeds and one umbrella free, a marvellous saving as in other countries these cost quite a bit. Also can get towels at the beach for 50c each, well worth it. All sunbeds here and at the pool were top quality too, not cheapo plastic things. The sea was very clean and clear but do take jelly shoes to get in as it's rather pebbly and sharp under foot. The Adriatic coast does not have fine sand, more shingly, pebbly and rocky but the scenery around you more than makes up for that.
Special note: it made a refreshing change that absolutely no one went topless.

PROMENADE: BECICI/BUDVA

A lovely stroll along Becici promenade day or night was a pleasure with a number of little bars/restaurants and tourist shops, night stalls etc. In the other direction take a walk to Budva for a much busier place, fab views and the piece de resistance, Budva old town (Stari Grad), the ancient walled city and Citadel, absolutely stunning! 2 Euros to get into the citadel itself, well worth it, and walk the walls of the city, a pleasant 20-30 mins and offering the most amazing views of the resort and narrow cobbled streets and beautiful buildings and rooftops of this mini version of Dubrovnik. There are several bars inside the walls, very small but quaint and lovely, especially the Prince English pub and Chest O'Shea's Irish pub, both show Sky Sports, offer good beers etc and the Irish pub played rock music (bonus!). Outisde of the walls were other bars/restaurants, lovely settings, attentive staff, I forget the name of most but the Old Fisherman's pub was good and overlooked the marina.

EXCURSIONS

We didn't do any organised ones but chose to do our own thing. We did walk to Budva bus station (set a fair way back from the front) and got the bus to the capital Podgorica, have to be honest probably not worth a visit. A very bland city as capital's go but we did some sightseeing and shopping and it was cheap enough at 5 Euros each one way. A trip to Kotor is worthwhile though.

RECOMMENDATIONS: Before you go either buy or borrow the Lonely Planet guide to Montenegro from the library as I found this the most useful of all guide books (I took it with me). I used the maps several times.

The restaurant is open for dinner from just 7-9, it's very busy between 7-8 so go after 8 for less queues and less hustle and bustle.

Take jelly shoes for the beach or buy some from the many shops on the promenade.

DO NOT MISS Budva old town, the best part of our trip.

Thank you Sentido Tara for a superb holiday !

Room Tip: Email the hotel ahead of travelling (check the main Sentido website) and ask for a room with large b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank borobabe_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Becici
0.2 mi away
Hotel Splendid Conference & Spa Resort
0 mi away
Hotel Montenegro Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Mediteran Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Apart-Hotel Belvedere Residence
1.2 mi away
Hotel Budva
Hotel Budva
#4 of 25 in Budva
182 reviews
0.9 mi away
Queen of Montenegro
Queen of Montenegro
#3 of 9 in Becici
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tara

Address: Becici b.b., Becici, Budva Municipality 85315, Montenegro
Location: Montenegro > Budva Municipality > Becici
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Becici
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Becici
Price Range: $73 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tara 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Tara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tara Montenegro/Becici

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing