We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (757)
Filter reviews
757 results
Traveler rating
356
201
93
55
52
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
356
201
93
55
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmineral pooladult poolpool barjapanese restaurantbeach clubpuerto bahiaa la carte restaurantsmobility issuesmain poolhealth barhit and missadults only sectionmain buffetfood and drinksevery hourrelaxing poolanimation team
Filter
Updating list...
210 - 215 of 757 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2017

This hotel is over-rated, the thatched roofs are a hiding places for tropical bugs, lizards and Scorpions! Every morning there was bug s--t on the chairs, dining table, floors, everywhere! Ewwww! Pool was not chlorinated, so you swam with bugs and small centipedes! Food was stale - waffles were hard and possibly left over from 3 days ago. They sprayed the place for the bugs so the entire villa stank like bugs spray. Water was too salty in the rooms. Internet - really temperamental. The view is great, tropical. Staff - good but drinking on the job - yes we saw them. Then the smell of Kerosene at the so-called snack bar by the pool area - this was nasty! I almost threw up right there. They only care about the timeshare and upgrading - thank God we don't have a timeshare with them - Blessing! So pushy about upgrading to Jr Presidential suite - really! Spa - so so, again, has thatched roof - so when asked to step into the nicely prepared bath - only to see a lizard at the bottom of the tub - aaah! I screamed! Only think I liked was the outdoor stepping pool. The whole experience was one I will never forget or go back to! Going to the beach was a trip indeed! Beach was nice but so many peddlers! and children selling stuff - really? Massage on the beach by Mario was fantastic - the only thing good about my trip - and he does not work for the hotel! His massage was better than the spa massage. Food at Japanese restaurant was good, Ricardo the cook was awesome and friendly! Overall, experience was terrible- one night there was thunder and lightening - power went out in our villa - and when we asked for help, we were told to get dressed and come to the restaurant - really!? we could not see anything in the dark - no offer of candles or light, we used our cell phones for light. Then they could not figure out why the light was out in our villa, so it took them from 7p to 2am to fix it and get power - so no light AND NO WATER - the water is apparently connected to the electricity (and no warning that this could happen, so be prepared). Phones did not work in the rooms also, were informed to call room service - really!? Also, changing area for Spa - visible to employees or anyone walking that way - no privacy. Sad - so much money for a terrible experience! Go back there again - NO WAY - even if it was free! Good place for hiking in the hills if you are in that sort of thing - very steep hills!

Room Tip: bring bug spray, mosquito repellant and tube of antibiotic, as you don't know what you will get bit by
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank Shareen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSirenisMatlali, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Grand Sirenis Matlali Hills Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2017

Dear Shareen R,

We are truly sorry that you have had experienced this inconveniences.
It is true that being just in the middle of the jungle and surrounded by nature some times create this type of situations but with all due respect there are some things that are not accurate as for example the pools not being clorinated, that is just simply not possible since we are regulated for the most estricted standars in aqua and pool control that guarranties the application of chemichals every day to maintain the water in optimal conditions. That of course does not excludes the possibility of having bugs or leaves in our pools.
The food, due to our wheather it is impossible to present food from one day to the other. It is a fact that all food is prepared at the moment of the service.
The water is very hard, therefore in might have a salty flavor. We provide purified water in the rooms for the guest to drink.
The spa is one of the gems in this place and it is recognize for international awards, It is quite a sorprise that you thought it was just ok.
As you might know, beaches in Mexico are Federal territory, so we can not prevent locals to pass by and try to sell something wich is the way for them to make the living, funny fact is that a lot of people actually enjoy that folcloric part of Mexico.
As I mentioned I am sad that we could not comply with your expectations but I truly appreciate your feedback so we can learn from it and do what we can to improve our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2017 via mobile

The pictures in the brochure looked amazing; this looked like a modern high end end hotel I was hoping not to be disappointed and I am pleased I wasn't.

The hotel is situated on a lush tropical region with jungle stretching up the hills. You really get the sense you are co existing with nature.

The footprint of the hotel stretches up and down steep paths but access to the restaurants can be made via golf trolley or car. This may not be ideal if you have problems getting around. However, the hotel shuttle service was excellent in transporting guests.

The hotel rooms are very modern ours had a wet room with beautiful wooden floors and a rainfall shower. A large room with a huge bed with tile floor and a fantastic balcony overlooking the hills. There is a free safe for valuables.

The buffet food was a little disappointing but guests can book one of four restaurants, steakhouse, Italian, Japanese and Brazilian. The Japanese restaurant has sushi and the chef cooks for you after your starter. Our favourite was the steak house where the chef cooked our steaks to perfection with a glass or two of red.

Taxis to and from the resort can be booked and are cheap. It is not necessary to book tours through your travel agent. One thing which our travel agent did push was Rhythms of the night a show where you have dinner and go on a boat ride. A number of guests were disappointed.

There is a great cocktail bar called Blue Sky Bar and the master of drinks is Joaquin. He kept a steady flow of drinks to our table and came up with many different coloured tequilas for our amusement.

Staff really made this a wonderful experience for us as they went the extra mile everyday. Thank you I hope we'll be back soon.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
3  Thank London1186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSirenisMatlali, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Grand Sirenis Matlali Hills Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2017

Dear London1186338,

Thank you for choosing us and for taking the time to share your experience with us, we are thrill to read you comments, all of our staff do their best so our guest can have one of their best experience.

We look forward for your next holidays with us!

Best regards,
Grand Sirenis Matlali Hills

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2017

My wife, her parents and uncle stayed at the resort last week (23rd September to 30th September). Our rooms were in one of two towers for adults only.

We went on a package deal with Transat Vacations.Prior to leaving our destination I had the good fortune to communicate with the Reservations Manager, Chantal Rosales. She addressed all my concerns and numerous questions. I was pleased to meet her in person and put a face to the name. Estoy agradecido por su ayuda.

Transport from the airport to the resort (some 25-30 minutes from PVR) was swift.

Check in was quick although at first we were not assigned our rooms together on the same floor as we had hoped. My wife's parents and us were given rooms on the fifth floor of Tower 6, and my wife's uncle was given a room on the third floor. The two rooms on the fifth floor were fine and well appointed; however, our uncle experienced some issues with the room on the third floor. There was no way he could get into the room on the very first day. After calling reception and a chamber maid, the maintenance person came and resolved the issue by changing the batteries on the door locks. The following morning, our uncle experienced another issue with the shower - the water wouldn't stop running, eventually flooding the entire room. Upon reporting the issue to reception, after many attempts to contact someone,the maintenance crew was dispatched to fix it and clean up the room. A visit to the reception was required to have the room changed. A room on the fifth floor was mysteriously available and assigned. The move did not occur until later in the afternoon.

The cleanliness of the rooms was acceptable; however, there were a few areas within the rooms that were not cleaned very well e.g. lampshades had cobwebs. The dirt on the floors out of sight in the closets should be carefully cleaned, not to mention the drainage in the shower stall, plugged by hair and other gunk.

While the above issues were frustrating and caused some inconvenience at the times, our requests were handled as swiftly as possible.

The towers have concierge staff on duty during the day - after 9 am to 9 pm. They were most helpful- all of them although three individuals we mainly dealt with were exceptional - namely Miguel, Javier and Francesca. They assisted us with calling for the shuttles to the dining rooms, handling our reservations for the specialty dining restaurants, and, most importantly, respecting our parents and uncle, who required some additional assistance. It was much appreciated and kudos to them for a fine job they are doing. Kudos also go to Janet, the Concierge Manager. She has a very good demeanor and great customer service skills - loved seeing her smiling face everyday!!

The shuttle staff were very good - again all of them. They did everything to ensure we got to where we wanted to go with courtesy and smiling faces. On occasion, they even went further to pick us up from one location to take us to the next. Mucho Gracias - Guadelupe, Mario and Alejandre.

Speaking of shuttles, the resort is perched up on the hillside with roadways up to the cottage type buildings and ending at two towers on top of the hill. One could walk up or down; however, shuttles are the most convenient and quickest way to go up or down. Some guests were heard grumbling that this was too restrictive since the shuttles come and went at 10 -15 minute intervals. our parents had mobility issues; consequently, we had no choice; and, really didn't mind it.

The resorts restaurants, main pools and activities centre are further down the hill close to the reception building, in two separate complexes. The main pool was for use of all guests as well as younger guests and children - more family oriented. The towers also had a couple pools, exclusively for adults only.
The main complex houses the two restaurants (one a buffet- Raixes and the other which doubles up as the Brazilian restaurant and the Steakhouse). Within the same complex, some steps down, is the pool snack bar, kids playroom, and gym. A few more steps down brings you to the Admin offices, the Makawe Spa, and VIP Members Lounge (it doubles up as the sales office for Matlali Vacation Club).

A few short steps from the main pools another complex houses the Adult's only buffet- Huanacaxtle, which doubles up as the Italian restaurant. Below the main restaurant is a beautiful lounge (Sky) and the Japanese restaurant (Teppanyaki style set up), separated by a playing field. A few short step up a pathway from the lounge and Japanese restaurant on the lower floor, one will find the "thermal pool" with a health drink bar.

The facilities are all very good, and the setting of the resort is very tranquil amongst the flora and fauna of Matlali Hills.

We tried all types of cuisine offered. While the food quality and variety of offering was good, there aren't enough staff to provide the service befitting the resort's rating.

The 4 Diamond rating by AAA, is based on the number of amenities offered at the resort and not necessarily the quality of service. The quality of service is due to management deficiency and short sightedness in training. The individual servers try extremely hard to take care of every patron and guest, under the circumstances. There were individuals who I believe were Maitre D's, but they didn't do much except stand at the doors and watch.

The pool bar staff and lounge bartender were very good and extremely polite and friendly.

There is shuttle offered to guests to go to Eva Manadarina Beach Club ( part of the resort facilities). The facilities are fine, although I wasn't too fond of the pebbly beach preventing me from going for a dip in the ocean.

Overall, we were pleased with the value received. We all had a restful week at this beautiful setting in the hills overlooking La Cruz de Huanacaxtle in the Riviera Nayarit.

I would recommend this resort to anyone not too keen on being on beachfront.

I was assured by several staff members that service improvements are in the making.

By the way, did I mention they do sell vacation memberships for those so inclined?
Disfruta tus vacaciones

Hasta la proxima vez - gracias.

Room Tip: Tower 5 offers the best adults only oceanview rooms, unless you buy membership and have access to Torre Esmarelda.
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank MS V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSirenisMatlali, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Grand Sirenis Matlali Hills Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2017

Dear MS V,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us, we appreciate your comments and suggestion, all will be considered to improve our service.

Thank you again for choosing us, we look forward for your next holidays with us.

Greetings from all of our Staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2017

What a beautiful resort nestled in the hillside. I usually stay beachfront. So glad we tried something different. There were lots of hills that we took advantage of walking when we didn't want to take the shuttles. Made us feel a little better after eating so much at the all-inclusive restaurants.

We had some great service.
Favorite bartenders: Jose and Joaquin (Sky Bar). Jorge (at Beach Club) was amazing
Favorite waiter/waitress: Marisol, Juan Carlos
Favorite shuttle driver: Hugo
Most helpful: Mario
Entertainment : Jose, Johan, Karla
Favorite food: tuna tar tar, beef and pork tacos and guac all at the beach club

Negative:
We had a water leak in our room. Water came in through a wall and quickly started to flood the entire bathroom area. It took about 2 hours for someone to do anything and before we had a new room. 2 nights later, there was again water coming in our new room. We packed up our things again and waited for another hour to move rooms. We were moved into our 3rd room at 10:00 at night. We were just getting settled in when I looked in the bathtub and found a large snake coiled up in there. Security did not even want to move it and were scared of it. We had to move a 4th time into another building.
We were only there a total of 4 nights and had to move 4 times. We never got settled in our room. We were hoping that the staff would move quicker to solve our issues. They were in no rush. The building we were in seemed to have a lot of leaks in several different rooms. For a new building, it should be better equipped to handle the rain.

Other than that we had a great stay. It rained A LOT, but we made the best of it and enjoyed swimming, dancing, and drinking in the rain!

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank tracylipson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSirenisMatlali, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Grand Sirenis Matlali Hills Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2017

Dear Tracylipson,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we are always at your service and doing the best we can to keep you happy and safe. We are thrill to read you enjoyed the environment is definitely one of the best things we have.

We hope you'll visit us again!

Greetings from all of our staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2017

This property is absolutely beautiful. It was the perfect location for the quick girls trip my friend and I were looking for. It was relaxing, quiet and the views were stunning. I enjoyed the a la carte dinner selections as well as the Mexican night buffet. OMG the spa is incredible. To be honest, the spa was the pinnacle of our trip -- You must go! We spent our days chilling at the pool, having unlimited drinks, and our nights at dinner. I would definitely come back here again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chenoa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSirenisMatlali, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Grand Sirenis Matlali Hills Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2017

Dear Chenoa,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we were very thrill to have you at Grand Sirenis Matlali Hills and definitely look forward for your next visit!

Greetings from all of our Staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews