We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Start to this Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Sirenis Matlali Hills Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Amazing Start to this Resort”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Our stay started with checkin with Gerry. Gerry was excellent and answered all of our questions and then took us (5 of us) in golf carts to our Villa. The Villa was outstanding - super clean, its own small pool and very modern. Throughout our stay the concierge staff were all OUTSTANDING - Oscar, Maggie, Nancy, Gerry, Miguel, Christian, Eliel, Jonathan - THANK YOU! The pool area is outstanding although they did have one of the two pools closed for a few days. Hector, the pool concierge, was outstanding making sure there were enough towels and chatting with us everyday. He also made us aware of free sunscreen available at the pool and books were available. We ate a few of our meals at the restaurant and they were excellent. We preferred to go into La Cruz to see a little bit of small town Mexico and had some amazing meals in town. There were very few people at the resort in February which seemed odd because it is amazing. This resort has grand plans to build several phases (only phase one is built) and they have done a great job with the resort so far. It is too bad that the time share sales people do not rely on this amazing resort as opposed to telling numerous lies to get people to buy.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobzech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    96
    45
    25
    18
See reviews for
73
215
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kingston,ont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

My wife and I stayed in our 2 bedroom Diamante for the first time since we purchased last year in February,2014. Let me start with the normal you are reading on here. The slime-bag timeshare slugs are exactly that. We were lied to on so many points when we purchased our 1 week that I am embarrassed to say they got me/us. Everyone we met and talked to at the beautiful swimming pools had the same story about these slugs. I had full intentions of trying to dump this whole deal and willing to take a 50 cent on the dollar loss. That being said ,, we arrived for our week.
Jerry, Maggie and Oscar were the first people we met at the concierge desk. They were truly sincere in their efforts to make our check-in and stay an amazing experience and they succeeded . From that moment on we were taken with the whole place. Folks, it is for REAL and it's gorgeous. Toni, Berto and Gabe at the pool bar, thanks so much, we had a blast, Marco and all staff and chefs in the restaurant, the cuisine was fantastic. To the timeshare slugs,, we don't have to deal with you anymore and that is a relief. QUIT BULL-SHITTING PEOPLE, the place is gorgeous and will sell itself without your lies. We will continue to enjoy Puerto Bahia Villas and are hoping that the Timeshare SLUGS are replaced with truthful sales people so we can continue on with more phases of this beautiful retreat.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank puntacanakid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2014

I was treated like royalty. The very friendly & professional staff were eager to please and provided impeccable service. The views and the villas themselves are amazingly gorgeous. I cannot say enough...(I even looked for something negative!). I hope to go back again

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvtotrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

I brought 5 other women to get away and have some much needed down time. The entire staff prepared for our visit well before hand. I can't say enough for the service by Maggy, Oscar, and Jerry. Raul does a fabulous job leading his staff. The views are luxurious and the environment intoxicating. Well done Puerto Bahia!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlkimble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Bahia V, Gerente at Grand Sirenis Matlali Hills Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Costumer.

It is always a pleasure have notices of the wonderfull vacation our guests spend on Puerto Bahía Villas & Spa. we apreciatte your comments and of course we going to take note about shuttels.

We are excited of your return and give to you a better Experience of the Puerto Bahía Villas & Spa services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Puerto Bahia is a new resort located in Santa Cruz. It has both individual villas that are absolutely lovely and one level suites in the Tower building. Staff here are attentive and friendly.
The pools are nice and people are very friendly there. Drawbacks are that is quite isolated from the local towns and you need to hire cabs to get around if you do not rent a car.
The timeshare sales staff were dishonest in the past about the services provided and the ability to sell your other timeshares if you wanted to buy at Puerto Bahia. It does appear now that sales staff are on the up and up now.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mar1046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Bahia V, Gerente at Grand Sirenis Matlali Hills Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
is always a pleasure to welcome you, on your home Puerto Bahía Villas & Spa; We appreciate the time have taken to share your great experience with us. Also, La Cruz de Huanacaxtle is one of the fastest growing destinations, so we are confident in your next visit to our department has experiencie guest will be able to guide you on the best options in our environment.

be more than welcome in this home away from home. We are waiting to your new arrival. Best regards....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Great place. Quiet and clean. The staff are great. If you are just wanting a holiday it doesn't get any better. However, the timeshare/sales staff are crooked and will tell you anything to get you to sign on the dotted line. DON'T DO IT!! I am speaking from experience (a bad one).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank davinciris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Bahia V, Gerente at Grand Sirenis Matlali Hills Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
We Appreciate the time you take to share your Experience with us. We are working on launching a new Quality Brand with the escencial commitment on Guest satisfactions.

We are waiting to your arrival and give us the opportunity of pamper you once again.

Best Regards..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We traveled to PBVS in November of 2013. This was our 1st time here and we can't wait to go back. Everything was brand spanking new and everyone of the staff treated us like royalty. While the resort is new there is booming construction going on and the start of phase 2 will be beginning shortly. The staff was so amazing and even watched our child so we could go to the SPA. Yes the SPA was truly one of the best spa's we have ever been to and very very relaxing. Cant wait to see the growth in the upcoming years

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcbfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Bahia V, Gerente at Grand Sirenis Matlali Hills Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
We Appreciate the Time You Take to Share Your Experience with us. In a Near Future Puerto Bahía Will be Adding Quality Standards and will be reflected in our primary goal.. Your Total Satisfaction.

We Are Waiting To Your Arrival..

Best Regards....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Cruz de Huanacaxtle
12.4 mi away
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort ...
#40 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
13.2 mi away
Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Spa
Secrets Vallarta Bay Resort & Sp...
#16 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,135 reviews
7.6 mi away
Iberostar Playa Mita
Iberostar Playa Mita
#3 of 11 in Punta de Mita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa
13.1 mi away
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta
Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta
#31 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,470 reviews
3.3 mi away
Royal Decameron Complex
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sirenis Matlali Hills Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sirenis Matlali Hills Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Sirenis Matlali Hills Resort & Spa
Address: Carretera Punta Mita Km 0.2, La Cruz de Huanacaxtle 63734, Mexico (Formerly Matlali Hotel)
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > La Cruz de Huanacaxtle
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in La Cruz de Huanacaxtle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Sirenis Matlali Hills Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Sirenis Matlali Hills Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sirenis Matlali Hills Resort & Spa Mexico/La Cruz De Huanacaxtle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing