We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unwind and relax...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Amor del Mar

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Cruz de Huanacaxtle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Amor del Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Brandon, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unwind and relax...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Cindy and Chris are excellent hosts and Villa Amor del Mar is one of those incredible, special places that you just know you'll return to. I loved the modern architecture of the Villa, the beds were super comfy, and I really appreciated all the treats that showed up in my fridge for breakie. There is nothing like having that first cup of coffee and a bowl of fresh fruit right off the tree while looking at a sunrise coming up over the mountians with the waves hitting the beach.... a wee bit of heaven for sure. If you're looking for an authentic Mexican holiday away from the resorts but also don't want to give up any creature comforts, then Villa Amor del Mar is for you. We got the Experience La Cruz package and dined our way through some wonderful restaurants and enjoyed lively nights out. The weather was perfect every day, so having the pool at our feet was an added bonus. It was also great to be so close to the marina. It became a real pass time to watch all the yachts glide past on their way out to the bay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shari D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmorDelMar, Owner at Villa Amor del Mar, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Muchisima gracias, Shari! Introducing you and Derry to all we love in our 'Peace' of paradise was so enjoyable! You took advantage of the best that La Cruz offers; the people, the music, the gourmet treasures and the sea! You must come back as there is so much I want to introduce you to, until then, hasta luego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
42
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

As a collector of Mexican hearts (in their many forms) I knew when the doors outside were painted with a giant heart, this was the place for me. The room was great. Decore is attractive, not fussy, lots of colour, modern but Mexican. Private patio with never ending oceanviews. Bed was very comfortable, king size! Though the owners live on site (and they're great) the layout is such that you can have complete privacy or join in with them or the other guests. The salt water pool is a great place to float and read a book or watch the surfers out front on the beach. We did an afternoon sailing excursion with Red Dolphin sailing charters and they didn't disappoint. We saw a bunch of whales, the food was excellent and the coconut rum punch never stopped.
Back at the hotel the roof top dinner was excellent and a great place for a little romance. Its a perfect location for exploring. Close enough to walk into La cruz and Bucerias. Short drive to Punta Mita, Sayulita and Vallarta. And hearts everywhere, including mine.

Room Tip: If you can get a king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MadelineYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmorDelMar, Owner at Villa Amor del Mar, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
I so love that you collect hearts too, Madeline! You won my heart as you took to the pool right away and appreciated everything we offer. As I currently serve guests who read your editorial and hence booked a get-away at our Boutique Inn, I recognize the power of referral, thank you! Chris and I look forward to serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

WOW what a beautiful villa, you can feel the love surrounding you. Cindy & Chris have thought of everything to make your stay the best. From the design and amazing colors to the view of the bay. The location is excellent, you can walk anywhere in the quaint town of La Cruz that offers many wonderful restaurants and has an great live music scene. I must say the bed was the most comfortable we have ever slept in. We highly recommend this villa for a magical holiday, you will love the hosts Cindy and Chris along with their friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Annette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovebythesea, Owner at Villa Amor del Mar, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Gracias, Annette! We were delighted you chose to stay at Villa Amor del Mar for your incredibly special romantic retreat! Return anytime and we promise to make every stay as memorable... or better than your first!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Villa de Amor must be situated in one of the most stunning locations , it`s just wonderful sitting in the beautiful infinity pool watching the activities on the water, yachts , fishing pangas , surfers, paddle boarders and the like all having fun on the water, Chris and Cindy have created the perfect getaway , their hospitality is second to none. The rooms are spacious , Cindy has used her artistic talent as an interior designer to produce the most wonderful colours and tones whilst maintaining a very comfortable setting.
We are definately coming back, Sooon!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovebythesea, Owner at Villa Amor del Mar, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thanks so much Mike! Its always a delight hosting you and Michelle! I so enjoy that you saw the before, during and now enjoy the after of the reno that is now our Boutique hotel, Villa Amor Del Mar! Chris and I look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Chris and Cindy take a personal interest in their guests. They were my personal tour guides as well as taking care of me when I was sick. This boutique hotel overlooks the anchorage and marina in the charming village of La Cruz. My hosts suggested restaurants, music, & other activities. The hotel is beautifully decorated and clean. I enjoyed every minute.

Room Tip: Hear the surf with a room facing the ocean overlooking the marina and anchorage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovebythesea, Owner at Villa Amor del Mar, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Gracias, Suzanne! Taking care of you whether sick or well is a joy. You're a delight to spend time with and we hope to see you again really soon! 'til next time... be good to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

We had a wonderful stay a Villa Amor del Mar. The inn is in a perfect location and hosted by two gracious and gifted people, Chris and Cindy. The facilities are first class and Chris and Cindy did everything possible to ensure we enjoyed our time in La Cruz de Huanacaxtle. The town is a charming fishing village with delightful people, great restaurants, good musicians, and a seafood market. We love it there. Thanks, C&C, for a great time!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovebythesea, Owner at Villa Amor del Mar, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thanks so much, Carol!

You were the guests we wish for; eager to relax, interested in the area and delighted with all the pleasures the ocean brings!

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Cindy and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

Perfect location to relax but yet appreciate Mexico-the music, the food, the beach, the sun... Our hosts Chris and Cindy were absolutely fantastic. Everything was perfect. Thanks you so much for all you've done to make our week a great one.

Room Tip: We were in the Bahia room. We think it was the best !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank V0yage4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovebythesea, Manager at Villa Amor del Mar, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you, V0yage4!

We enjoyed visiting with you and sharing all that we love about La Cruz. We're glad you took advantage of the 'Introduction to La Cruz' promotion where all meals are included and hope you were rewarded with a little bit of everything!

Chris and I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Saludos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Cruz de Huanacaxtle
1.0 mi away
Grand Sirenis Matlali Hills Resort & Spa
Grand Sirenis Matlali Hills Reso...
#1 of 2 in La Cruz de Huanacaxtle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
3.6 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#1 of 3 in Flamingos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
3.1 mi away
Royal Decameron Complex
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Magnolia B&B
Villa Magnolia B&B
#5 of 6 in La Cruz de Huanacaxtle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
5.8 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit
#1 of 27 in Nuevo Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,363 reviews
3.7 mi away
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Vallarta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Amor del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Amor del Mar

Property: Villa Amor del Mar
Address: Albatross 88, La Cruz de Huanacaxtle 63734, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > La Cruz de Huanacaxtle
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in La Cruz de Huanacaxtle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privacy, tranquility and oceanfront calm. Our La Cruz hotel, Villa Amor del Mar, was created for those desiring a very special vacation. Feel like you’re a million miles away as you relax by the pool, stroll the beach or discover the hidden treasures of our quaint Mexican fishing village. Our mission at Villa Amor del Mar is to provide you with a restful and rejuvenating vacation in paradise. As a boutique inn, we’re able to customize our offering to create for YOU, a variety of vacation experiences. Ask us how we can create the vacation of your dreams! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Amor Del Mar Mexico/La Cruz De Huanacaxtle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing