We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Day on the Bay!”

Red Dolphin Sailing Charters
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We specialise in day cruises on Banderas bay Mexico, we offer a more relaxed and congenial atmosphere that can only be achieved with smaller groups. Come and join us for a Whale watching cruise or a trip to the remote village of Yelapa, snorkel at the Islas Marietas or enjoy our sunset cruises.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Amazing Day on the Bay!”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We booked with Red Dolphin Sailing Charters and spent the day yesterday on the Indian Summer (the name of the yacht) with Mike, Michelle and Johnny. We have been on many tours and adventures in the Vallarta area and this one tops the list and at a reasonable price. We saw numerous whales and dolphins. We went snorkeling at Marietas Islands where Michelle took us under the arch and into the cave. Johnny made sure we always had something to drink and was the spotter for whales, etc. Michelle made nachos for a snack and then a delicious mahi mahi lunch. Mike guided the yacht and had numerous stories for us. It was like we had known Mike for many years. Outstanding Day. Thanks Mike, Michelle and Johnny.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bobzech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Owner at Red Dolphin Sailing Charters, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
gracias , for your fantastic review, it was a pleasure meeting you all. Your comments are greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    1
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Slave Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wales & Whales”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We had a very enjoyable time. The captain (MIKE) and crew (Michelle and Johnny) were very personable and interesting. We did not see as much of Michelle as we would have liked as she was busy in in the galley preparing a beautiful lunch featuring mahi-mahi. We saw a lot of whales, some of which actually breached and sea turtles. The vessel is absolutely spotless and well cared for. The food was great,the company was great and we saw lots of wildlife. What else could you ask for. Our only regret is that we did not book it for 8 hours. Would recommend to anyone!

Visited February 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Audrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Owner at Red Dolphin Sailing Charters, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thankyou, thankyou, thankyou, for your wonderful and positive review, we can`t express how important your opinions are to us. We look forward to seeing you all soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful cruise”
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

We had the opportunity to go on a sunset cruise on Mike and Michelle's boat on Feb 10/14. This was a wonderful evening with great company .
We are staying in La Cruz so just had to walk to the marina and get on the boat.
We were greeted with hugs and off course cold beer.
We saw several whales and the beautiful sunset.
Michelle made a delicious meal of mahi mahi with mango sauce .
Mike supplied us with his version of painkiller ie Rum Punch with a touch of nutmeg!
It was a wonderful way to spend several hours on a 45 foot sail boat.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank cold/freefing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Owner at Red Dolphin Sailing Charters, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thankyou, thankyou, thankyou, for your wonderful and positive review, we can`t express how important your opinions are to us. We look forward to seeing you all soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenison, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Red Dolphin Outing”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Everything about it was great! Mike, the captain, was congenial and entertaining. A meal of mahi mahi was delicious and drinks available the entire time. We saw MANY whales, dolphins and manta rays. We were not disappointed. He didn't skimp on anything and we had a very enjoyable four hour cruise.

Visited November 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank eliden2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Owner at Red Dolphin Sailing Charters, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thankyou, thankyou, thankyou, for your wonderful and positive review, we can`t express how important your opinions are to us. We look forward to seeing you all soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic trip as always, we highly recommend...different than others :)”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We have been out with Red Dolphin Sailing Charters several times and again loved it. Different from others in the bay as it is on a lovely sailing vessel with very special hosts Mike and Michelle. The wildlife is amazing from dolphins, whales, turtles to blue footed booby birds and so much more. I highly recommend this experience to all. Great job Mike & Michelle

Visited January 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Annette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Owner at Red Dolphin Sailing Charters, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thankyou, thankyou, thankyou, for your wonderful and positive review, we can`t express how important your opinions are to us. We look forward to seeing you all soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Dolphin Sailing Charters also viewed

La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
 
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Red Dolphin Sailing Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing