We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food Poisioning”
Review of Oso's Oyster Bar

Oso's Oyster Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Food Poisioning”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Five of us ate here on Mar. 24, 2013. Three of us shared a dozen raw oysters. We did not see each other after the restaurant meal and this is the only meal we ate together. Two days later all three of us became infected with Campylobacter bacteria. Symptoms were flu like and included headaches, muscle pains, diarrhea and vomiting. The two people who did not eat the oysters did not become sick.

BTW - This was my second time eating here and on this visit the oysters weren't particularly good - warm and fishy tasting.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FlashPacker991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelito577, Propietario at Oso's Oyster Bar, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Google Translation
Con todo el respeto que usted merece quiero comentarle que nuestros ostiones son frescos.. una intoxicación por ostiones se manifiesta de inmediato,.. apocas horas de haber ingerido el producto.. y no dos días después, no da gripe ni ninguno de los sintomas que usted menciona.
En esas fechas hubo una bacteria... EN EL AMBIENTE ... nada que relacionar con alimentos.. era un flu o gripe que si estuvo en el área, varios niños y adultos de la región se enfermaron con los síntomas que usted menciona. Ninguno de estas personas comió ostiones y tuvieron el mismo flu.
Con todo respeto aquí nadie se ha intoxicado con los alimentos, que pena que usted se haya enfermado 2 dias después de visitarnos pero esta enfernedad que usted tuvo no fue causada por alimentos como ya lo menciono lineas arriba.
Esperando poder atenderle pronto quedo a sus órdenes
Saludos
ANGEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    72
    18
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OMG Dont miss it!!”
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Ask for the drinkies on The House and you get them!!! Hellooooo!!! Wonderful service they give you whatever you want!!! Delicious ample portions

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 163mayte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So much fun!!”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We had so much fun dancing on Wednesday to the rock and roll band!! Several lunches looking over the marina, all excellent service, amazing food and well priced, our new favorite spot in the bay!!l

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holyoke, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Visited Osas last night on numerous recommendations and we were not disappointed. The food (and pricing) was excellent, the service was attentive, and the music (Thursday Jazz night) has it on next week's schedule. Angel, owner/chef/manager, helped with a special request and all our meals (tuna, chile relleno, fried oysters) were excellent. A "new favorite" and we will be visiting often.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“Very fun”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had a really good time after our sailing event. They threw us an amazing party with lots of margaritas. The music was fantastic and the service was the best I've ever had.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vaughnyrmfndhdnfbfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oso's Oyster Bar also viewed

La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
 
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Oso's Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing