We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantatic meal”

Restaurant Masala Bar & Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $21
Cuisines: Fusion, Seafood, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Bucerias, Mexico
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantatic meal”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

What a delightful surprise! Excellent food, presentation and service in a lovely setting. A little more expensive than the usual
run of the mill " local" eatery, but well worth it.

Calgary, Alberta

Helpful?
Thank Lynneth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    30
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Dinner in La Cruz”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We had dinner last night at Masala. What a great spot. The food was absolutely eXcellent. We had the Ricotta and Goat Cheese Ravioli and Beet and Apple salad. Amazing favors. Our friends had the Ginger Shrimp and said it was amazing too. The service was excellent. Don't be afraid of the prices, while a little high for La Cruz, we were able to split our dinner and still feel like we got plenty of food and the price was reasonable. They have a great Valentines 3 Course meal for 350 pesos. A great place for a special night out. Thanks, Masala.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MansonSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
225 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Masala restaurant doesn't fit in with sleepy La Cruz, a little town most tourists in PV wouldn't even know about. Yet once you step inside this fabulous little restaurant, you fall in love. The decor with a strong African theme, the lighting, the music, attention to details shines through magnificently.

My husband had the whole snapper with a fabulous sauce, reminiscent of a barbeque sauce with olives, vegetables and rice. I had the shrimp bisque with scallop mousse followed by the goat cheese ravioli. They were all to live for! A lovely glass of merlot for just 65 pesos complemented my meal perfectly. My husband ordered a martini before the meal and then followed it up with their key lime pie and a Spanish coffee. Everything was fabulous.

The service was wonderful - attentive and our waiter spoke fluent English. Julio, the sous chef came out of the kitchen as it was a slower evening and asked us how our meal was. His wife is the chef and they both own the restaurant. I learned that they got their training from working at Mark's restaurant in Bucerias. They learned their trade well.

Overall, it was the best meal for the value we've had in the 6 weeks we have been here. There are lots of average restaurants, a few above average but Masala seems to have got it all just right - food, ambience, service and price. You won't go wrong here!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Diamond in the Rough!”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This was the first time we went to this restaurant. Great atmosphere and excellent service. The owners Julio & Rita have developed a menu that you would fine in a top notch restaurant in New York City. They have a very diverse menu and great wine selection to compliment any dinner selection. My wife and I ordered an appetizer and salad selection which was superb. The meat cuts were very tender and melted in your mouth. There seafood selections are to kill for, especially the mussels in a seafood broth with herbs, fennel, tomato and with wine sauce.

This restaurant will not disappoint you.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank brooklyndodgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic hidden gem in La Cruz”
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Take a right past Frascati's, and it is on the left about a block away. The sign is small, so keep your eyes open! You will not be disappointed. I have been their many times and the food and service is world class. Presentation is always very interesting and creative. I can't recommend one dish or the other. I have tried many and love 'em all. Pricing is in line with the market (low) and the experience is consistently top notch. Top 1-2 in La Cruz, for sure! If you get a chance to try them out at Punta Esmerelda beach club, do that too!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Masala Bar & Grill also viewed

La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
 
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
 
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Restaurant Masala Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing