We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view with a great meal”
Review of IKUAI Sailor Pub - CLOSED

IKUAI Sailor Pub
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Rocky Mountain House, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful view with a great meal”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Dinner was very good and the view couldn't have been more perfect, overlooking the marina. We had beef fajitas, a shrimp dinner and an angus beef burger. Alcohol drinks were a bit pricy for what we thought it would cost in Mexico - basically comparable to what we'd pay back home in Canada. The service was excellent and we were very pleased with the meal overall. The bill for the meals, 1 glass of wine and 3 rum & coke drinks was around 870 pesos before tip.

We ate dinner here for our last night also... again it was delicious, the service was good, the view... amazing. We would go back again.

**For my reviews on our La Cruz de Huanacaxtle trip, see Simply Baku, Franscati's, Yacht Club, Oso's Oyster Bar, Vallarta Adventures - Hidden Mexico Tour.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AprilfromRocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    7
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Susan Weckbaugh
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Service abominable, food great”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Upon first entering, which was no mean feat to find the entrance, I visited the restroom. Toilet paper strewn all over the floor, I mean, all over the floor. I told the staff it needed attention. This was right before the lunch rush. Rip Van Winkle could've ordered and then slept and upon waking still would not have seen his waiter return. I don't think the management really cares about this as noticed by the many complaints on this site. Pass on the Bloody Mary: so spicy you can't drink it--I THINK there was alcohol in it... The restaurant was somewhat redeemed when our food came, even though by then I was spitting wooden nickels. And the lunch rush still hadn't hit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suporto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“New menu”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We had a group of 4. This is now an affordable spot. We had fajitas, tuna sandwich and a arrichera burger (tender). All was good! Kitchen was slow but newly opened. Good thing we weren't in a rush! We will be back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roberto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonewall, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting and facility.”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

You will not find a much nicer facility, drop dead beautiful. There are, however, significant issues with everything else. I have never seen slower service. This is supposed to by an upscale yacht club and they did not have tequila! We were there 54 minutes and were offered one drink. The menu is the size of a bar menu anywhere else. There are so many good places in this area. Skip this one.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rongin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Mexico
2 reviews
“Great place for Sunday brunch!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

A wonderful view of the marina and Bay of Banderas, lovely breezes to cool off with, and check out the green mimosas as part of the "all you can eat, all you can drink mimosas/bloody mary's" brunch buffet!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarivalResorts, Marketing & Social Media at IKUAI Sailor Pub, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Client
Thank you for posting a review of our restaurant on this web site. It pleases us to learn that you enjoyed the setting and our Sunday brunch. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IKUAI Sailor Pub also viewed

La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
 
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing