We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“European quality restaurant”

Black Forest Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: German, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are located in La Cruz, just 15 minutes north of Puerto Vallarta and are a family-friendly restaurant offering a full-bar and a modern German menu emphasizing on freshness and quality. German cuisine means so much more these days than just sausage, sauerkraut and beer. Rather it reflects today's Germany with its distinctive medley of modernity and tradition. The restaurants menu embodies this fusion of old and new with a fresh, modern twist to traditional meals for you to enjoy. Passionate about food, the Proprietors cook from their hearts and consider the restaurant an extension of their home. Each guest is treated as an invited guest to be impressed with the ambiance, service and most importantly a wonderful, memorable meal. We hope you enjoy discovering more about this increasingly popular cuisine as you journey through their menu of foods and beverages from modern Germany.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Very nice place, very nice people, excellent dinner, I can only recommend this place.
High quality for a reasonable money. The owner is an authentic German from the Black Forest.




Thank Tania M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaBlackForest, Owner at Black Forest Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Hello Tania,

thank you very much for your review. We enjoyed having you here and we hope to see you soon again.

Andrea and Yvonne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 98 of 134 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013

I found the Black Forest by mistake.I found the owner and staff wonderful almost like I had being there before.The food was great, the staff pleasant and charming.
I look forward to going back again on Tuesday night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Freedom489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaBlackForest, Owner at Black Forest Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our restaurant. We look forward to see you again on Tuesday night for our German Beer Fest.

Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We have been dining at Black Forest at least once each trip for the last ten years and are pleased to see that it continues to offer the same excellent service today that it did when it opened. The restaurant is a charming oasis located on a tiny side street in La Cruz, among roaming cats, dogs and children. The 8 table dining room is nicely decorated and very homey. The restaurant is operated by a family from Germany, with a menu that will delight German tastebuds, as well as anyone elses, with unique creations such as peanut fettucini. The owners are charming and gracious, making each guest feel very much at home. The food is outstanding and creative, and the service is wonderful. Very much worth the visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Silvija777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaBlackForest, Owner at Black Forest Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Hello Doscon,

thank you very much for taking the time to review our restaurant. We all look forward to see you again soon here at the Black Forest Restaurant.

Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We visited this restaurant for the first time and were truly impressed with the quality of service, and food. From the homemade spatzle, red cabbage to the applestrudel and Black Forest cake, the selections were prepared as a true representation and favour of the German region. Having lived in the Black Forest for five years, every morsel brought back a flood of pleasant memories and best of all, they have premium German beer on offer. Thank you Andrea for a very pleasant evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tedmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaBlackForest, Owner at Black Forest Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Hello Tedmar,

thank you for the review of your dining experience. We always love to bring back memories for those who already traveled to the Black Forest. Hope to see you soon.

Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We spent our first 4 years of marriage in Germany so will always have a love of good German food. When friends first took us to the Black Forest Resaurant several years ago, it was love at first bite. We have never been disappointed. We avoid the special nights ( beer Fest and live music) because we enjoy visiting with the family who runs the business and it is much too busy for them on those nights. We always feel at home here and comments about lack of English speaking waitresses are astounding to me.
Last week we booked the whole restaurant for a private function (my husband's 60th birthday) and they did a fabulous job. We came up with a menu of our favorites complete with a picture of my handsome husband in his youth. Garlic soup, schnitzel, fish, and a curry chicken. YUM! The service was exceptional, as usual, with all 2 dozen of our guests being served quickly and efficiently. Every guest, without exception said it was the best party they had attended in Mexico.
Winfried, the chef, is more than accommodating to special requests when possible and although he is a shy man, can be convinced to share a shot of schnapps after the kitchen slows down.
LOVE this restaurant!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaBlackForest, Owner at Black Forest Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Hello Janet,

thanks for your review. We had a lot of fun at your husband's birthday party, too. We hope to see you soon.

Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Forest Restaurant also viewed

La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
 
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, Riviera Nayarit
 

Been to Black Forest Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing