We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A terrible experience at the Royal Hotel”
Review of The Royal Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Fernando
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in San Fernando
Reviewed March 18, 2007

I stayed at the Royal Hotel in August last year and the experience was horrible. The staff was very unfriendly and the prices are ridiculously high. The service was extremly poor, however the hotel was kept clean.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Nirvana009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
There are newer reviews for The Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 67 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2006

I stayed at the Royal Hotel for a week on business. The hotel is quite old, but has undergone some renovation. The rooms are spartan and the furniture is dated, but the rooms are kept clean and the beds are comfy. The bathrooms are okay with a tub-shower, but again, spartan.

The maids don't change water glasses, they merely rinse them out and set them back on the counter (I know this because I marked one of the glasses) Towels are on the thin side, and they don't provide washcloths (?) A/C and in-room fridge worked great.

Service was okay, but I had to beg for shampoo that was never replenished and shocked when the manager told me (at 7 pm) that it was impossible to get me any shampoo until the next morning because housekeeping was "closed."

The food in the restaurant good overall, and the pasta dishes were excellent. Service varied server to server, with some being lazy and inattentive to some being excellent. I guess you take your chances.

Wireless internet (free) worked great and the cable TV had American programming and premium channels. The TV was mounted high on the wall and had great visibility.

Each room has a small private balcony that overlooks the pool. The balconies are great if you're a cigar smoker like me.

There is no mini market or concession on the property. There is a small market just ouside the hotel, but be careful at night, the neighborhood is not the greatest.

I wouldn't rush back to this hotel, but if required to stay there again, I wouldn't mind.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank UglyRedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Calgary, Canada
13
Reviewed April 15, 2006

Hotel is incredibly overpriced. Food good, service OK, but price is insane for quality, eqivalent to a Super 8 motel or Motel 6 on a good day.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled on business
Thank Felix B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Solicitar planta baja ya que el hotel no cuenta con elevador.
  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanettegv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Alrededor de la piscina
  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rosana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2015, traveled on business
Thank fer_camacho79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Fernando
0.7 mi away
Trade Winds Hotel
Trade Winds Hotel
#1 of 2 in San Fernando
106 reviews
4.3 mi away
Cara Suites
Cara Suites
#1 of 1 in Claxton Bay
179 reviews
32.3 mi away
D' Coconut Cove Holiday Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 22 in Port of Spain
2,149 reviews
26.8 mi away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 22 in Port of Spain
893 reviews
27.3 mi away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: 46-54 Royal Road, San Fernando, Trinidad
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > San Fernando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in San Fernando
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Trinidad
The Royal Hotel Trinidad/San Fernando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing