We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Informative and enjoyable”

Tobago Cocoa Estate W.I. Ltd
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Cocoa estate tours for individuals and Groups. Effective 1st May 2016 tours will only be done by appointment, minimum numbers apply. For reservations or general inquiries please contact us via email, Facebook or telephone. Visit us on Facebook "tobagococoaestate" for the latest updates!
trinidad
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Informative and enjoyable”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

My family and I went for the 11 o'clock tour and were greeted promptly at the gate. It is a tour that takes about forty five minutes. The Guide answered all our questions. My father in law who also does tours had some questions for him. The view from the gazebo is beautiful. Walk with insect repellant though. The highlight was the cocoa house and showing us the way the cocoa is processed and of course sampling of the cocoa and the finished product. Really nice if you are interested in beginnings of awesome chocolate!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank KizzyKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    13
    2
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
375 reviews
218 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“One of the few functioning estates”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Once you take the turn down the dirt road to the estate in Roxborough, it's an instant time warp. The road in is from the days of old when the cacao estates were booming in this region. If you're into history, it's a good tour. The road then winds up the hill and you're met by the estate foreman before heading down to the visitor's shack. It's a walking tour thru the estate where you see and are educated on the many items grown on the estate. Personally, I found it very interesting. It felt like a time warp. Tobago is often overlooked, but it's truly the Carib of old. With sprawling estates many years ago, this estate obviously strives to provide some historical authenticity while at the same time providing employment and producing good chocolate. At the end of the tour, you're on a gazebo overlooking much of the estate and are given the chance to sample some cacao beans. After walking back to the visitor shack, you're given some snacks/sandwichs as well as a chocolate sample together with a small drink of Single Barrel rum. Found the tour very informative, but there is room for improvement in terms of products to purchase at the end of the tour. The chocolate is available at duty free, and has won numerous awards (made in France). No shopping at the end of the tour, but I suspect that will soon change. The estate has only been functional for 9 years or so, thus odds are the visitor experience will improve as the estate grows and more tourists come to visit.

While not part of the tour, when exiting the estate we drove by the Argyle waterfall entrance/visitor center and continued down the road to dropoff the nice lady who'd made us sandwichs. If you continue down the road with the waterfall center directly on the left, you'll pass an old processing center and some cacao drying beds. The structures have been there for an age and you can sense it. Rich in history. Worth a picture or two.

Tour is pricey if you hire a cab to drive you there from far away, but tour prices independent of the cab ride(s) are reasonable. Worth a look, but manage your expectations. It's no-frills, but fascinating if you like history.

Acouple tips: Not the best tour for small kids, strollers don't make the hike (you can park it at the visitor shack) and the kids will likely get restless. Bring insect repellant, you'll be glad you did.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not worth he money you pay to go in!”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I visited this estate last week with my family and friends. We paid for an advertised tour of 75 minutes $10US per adult and children where about $8US. Tour ended up being no more than 30 minutes!. found this to be deceiving!

You only get to see the cocoa trees, learn about how they get cultivated and how the protect the fruits from birds. You also see the area were they put the cocoa seeds to dry. The chocolate is not manufactured at this Estate. They send the seeds to France and the chocolate gets made in France. They don't sell any chocolate at the Estate. You can find their chocolate in one of the airport's duty free stores (the last one in the first floor to the right after you pass security). Chocolate price is $14US for a small dark chocolate bar and for slightly larger bar it is $20.

During the tour we were not offered any chocolate samples but we asked and were given a small sample. Chocolate tasted great! They also give you fresh cocoa seeds for you to try. They tasted great as well!

It was an ok visit with some nice views and information but felt not worth the price!

From here I suggest going to the Argyle waterfall which is in the same area. They guy who gave us he tour of the Cocoa Estate offered to take us to the top of the waterfall for $20US. Luckly we told him "no thank you" and went on our own. When we got to the top is no big deal at all. It's just a very small drop of water. You can go on your own.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOBAGOCOCOA, Owner at Tobago Cocoa Estate W.I. Ltd, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Hi!

It is very unfortunate to hear about your recent visit to my cocoa estate Tobago Cocoa Estate.

We strive to provide the best holistic experience possible by incorperating all the elements.

Unfortunately we were not able to reach to your expectations.

I hope on your next visit to our beautiful Island you will give us a second chance.

Kind Regards,
Duane Dove
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tobago Cocoa Estate W.I. Ltd also viewed

Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
Scarborough, Tobago
 
Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
 

Been to Tobago Cocoa Estate W.I. Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing