We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of this world”
Review of Lone Kauri Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lone Kauri Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Karekare B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at Lone Kauri Lodge when we first arrived in New Zealand. It is hard to believe it is so close to Auckland as it is set in native rain forest. The peace and tranquility was out of this world. The hosts, Ann and Keith, were so considerate and helpful. In fact, we enjoyed our stay so much that we returned to the Lodge for a few more days after we had finished touring North and South Islands. We totally endorse the complimentary comments made by other guests. Our stay was truly memorable. An unexpected bonus was to be met by the Irish flag run up the flagstaff (my wife is Irish) to greet us on arrival and this was followed the next day by a Union flag.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lledan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lonekaurilodge, Owner at Lone Kauri Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Lone Kauri Lodge and thank you for your very kind comments - we love it when guests return at the end of their holiday. Most of our guests enjoy the flags - perhaps we need to get a second flag pole. Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 81 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

The Bishops home is set in a beautiful and peaceful spot. Ann and Keith were excellent hosts and the rooms were immaculately clean and tidy with ensuites which are modern and spacious. We had a good breakfast and a chat before we went on our way.The location was perfect for us as we had a friends party up the road. It was our first time in the area and we were blown away by the beauty of Piha and Karekare which are so close. The local shop Blairs at Piha Beach cooks divine fish and chips. We have already recommended the Bishops to friends should they want a special weekend away.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharonNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lonekaurilodge, Owner at Lone Kauri Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. It is always good when guests enjoy their stay with us but it is especially pleasing when guests appreciate the stunning beauty of Karekare and Piha - so close to Auckland but a different world,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed at Lone Kauri Lodge in February 2013 for 3 nights - what a lovely place, and Ann and Keith were so welcoming and helpful. Lovely breakfasts (not to mention the cup cakes and other goodies that appeared during the afternoons); and our hosts gave us lots of helpful guidance about seeing the local area - you won't regret booking with them. Oh yes, and there's also a hot tub where you can relax under the stars.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lonekaurilodge, Owner at Lone Kauri Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Jill
Thank you for your kind words. We very much appreciate your taking the time to share your experience at Lone Kauri Lodge with others... the cup cakes are proving to be very popular!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

If you're considering staying at the Lone Kauri Lodge, you've thought too long. Book it and you won't be disappointed. Ann and Keith will provide you with a wonderfully relaxing and beautiful place to stay. The rooms overlook the canopy of the Waitakere Ranges and truly captures the essence of New Zealand's north island living. Wonderfully scenic overlooks out to the ocean are also readily available from the property. Quiet, solace, beautiful, comfort, wonderful service, fantastic breakfast and relaxation is exactly what you'll get get from the Lone Kauri Lodge. Disappointment is not a possibility at Lone Kauri Lodge.

Room Tip: Get the room that has the "loo with a view" for added scenic overlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lonekaurilodge, Owner at Lone Kauri Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Lone Kauri Lodge with other travellers. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and your visit to a lesser know but very beautiful part of New Zealand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

As wwoofers, we were perfectly welcome in Lone Kauri Lodge. The comfort and equipments were excellent but the most amazing thing with this B&B is probably the scene over the valley, the quietness of the place, the new zealand nature that is so close and the "not old at all" hosts! We deeply enjoyed our stay as we were looking for something reflecting the true New Zealand. The black beach is close by car and easily accessible if you are into walking/hiking.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lonekaurilodge, Owner at Lone Kauri Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Thank you very much for your review and kind words - all very much appreciated particularly the "not old at all" part! Best wishes to you and Marvin.
Keith & Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Anne and Keith are warm and welcoming hosts, and really went beyond all expectations in helping out two Canadians preparing for the ITU World Championships in Auckland. They even put us in touch with a local triathlon coach who very generously gave us a personal tour of the Olympic distance bike course in Auckland. They have a beautiful spa, which one climbs a set of stairs to reach as it sits up high among the tops of the tree like ferns, a BBQ and an outdoor pizza oven. Linens are crisp and the bathrooms spotless. A lovely table is set for breakfast and we lingered many a morning over a platter of freshly cut fruit, homemade granola, yogurt, and when desired a cooked breakfast made with the freshest eggs I've seen in a long time. Afternoons bring special treats. On the day of our arrival we made our way to Artisan winery for lunch at the suggestion of Ann and Keith. Maria made us very welcome on the several occasions we stopped by and Kinross the chef prepared the delicious kind of meal one expects at a fine winery like Artisan. I could go on, and I haven't yet mentioned the extraordinarily beautiful location of this B&B, sitting high on a ridge in the green mountains of the Waitakere Ranges. It is close to Henderson and a little further to Auckland, yet feels utterly remote once you are there. There are no traffic noises or street lights and I slept soundly. It is serene and peaceful and you can enjoy a cup of tea while sitting on the bench outside, listening to the wind in the trees and contemplating the rugged Tasmanian Sea beyond the green valley below. Down sides are few. Free wi-fi can cut out occasionally, and the roads leading up the mountain are in good repair but require some good driving skills and occasionally, quick reflexes.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimmcclure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lonekaurilodge, Owner at Lone Kauri Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Kim
Thank you for taking the time out of your preparations for the ITU triathlon to share your experience with fellow travelers - this is very much appreciated. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and hope all goes well for you in the triathlon. Pleased also that you enjoyed Artisan Wines. Best Wishes Keith & Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We have been twice to Lone Kauri Lodge, we love the place, nearby Piha Beach and other outstanding spots. Keith and Anne become good friends. They are very good people and excellent hosts. The B&B is very clean, warm and with amazing views. Food is great. I strongly advise to travelers this B&B: price is reasonable too. Paolo&Evelyn

Room Tip: There is a bigger room, which is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaoloCuccagna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lonekaurilodge, Owner at Lone Kauri Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Paulo, Evelyn
Thank you very much for your kind words - very much appreciated. Hopefully it will not be too long before you get back for your third visit!
Keith & Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lone Kauri Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lone Kauri Lodge

Address: 4 La Trobe Track, Karekare, Auckland 0772, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Karekare
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Karekare
Price Range: $105 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lone Kauri Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peace, privacy and tranquility just 55 minutes from Auckland CBD and International Airport. Lone Kauri Lodge is the perfect getaway from the city or, if you are from overseas then relax with us before setting off to see the rest of New Zealand or reflect on your visit before the trip home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Lone Kauri Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing