We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stopover hotel - nothing special”
Review of Scandic Varnamo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scandic Varnamo
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Varnamo
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stopover hotel - nothing special”
Reviewed June 3, 2010

I agree with the other reviews about this hotel - there's nothing wrong with this hotel but it's nothing special.
The rooms are fine if you just need a place to stay while travelling, which is what we did. Some serious refurbishment is needed for the whole hotel though. It looks quite tired and worn.
The food for dinner was quite bland so I'd advise to go elsewhere for meals. Breakfast was the usual Scandic standard of a large buffet - yes it did look quite small when the room is huge with nobody in it but it is a good selection.
We stayed at another Scandic afterwards that was much better so this is probably just a bad example of Scandic hotels.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedSwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    36
    47
    23
    3
See reviews for
27
18
6
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ronneby, Sweden
Level Contributor
771 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 372 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2010

This hotel is placed very central in Varnamo. The hotel itself are very spacious with surprisingly large "common" areas. There is an restaurant and parking can easily be done close by (but not for free during daytime). The breakfast is over average, but the large dinning hall makes the breakfast look small. The room I got was rather new with a fresh feeling and a very good bed. A nice bathroom too. However, not all rooms are like this. Part of the hotel seems to be waiting for renovation. These rooms are NOT nice at all. Old furniture and rather run down. Ask for a change of room if you end up here.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgjohansson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2009

Staying at the hotel for 4 days. Good location in the centre of the city. Helpful staff at the frontdesk and in the Restaurant. Rooms are wellsized but a bit worn out. Food in the restaurant is pretty expensive - and the menu is rather limited. Overall recomendable.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2009

This Scandic is very well situated in the middle of Värnamo. It has recently joined the Scandic chain but is not up to the normal standard.

The room we had was nice and very clean, but you can see that the hotel is a bit worn out. Breakfast is good but not as plentyful as normally. Staff in the reception and in the breakfast room are nice and helpful. Beware that if you come by car, the hotel parking is very small and you might need to park a bit further away. The wireless internet is free of charge as in all Scandic hotels.

Due to a nearby festival the hotel was crowded with loud people partying all night. This was awful because of all the noise...

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellerwithstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2008

This hotel is a very interesting hotel for anyone who is in to architecture. Built around 1950 and the owners has renovated it to look as it did, with all the beutiful furnitures from well-know archictecturs. It is a real pleasure to walk around the hotel and see all the work that the owners have done. Therefor we were suprised to notice that the restaurant didn't make us feel happy - at all. Overcooked vegetables, to much salt, meat that tasted like a bit of paper. Same with the breakfast. They served scrambled eggs made of eggpowder instead of real eggs....
But as I sad, the idea of this hotel is very interesting so if you are in to architecture and swedish furnitures give it a try, but avoid the restaurant!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank StockholmFamilyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Varnamo hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varnamo
1.9 mi away
Hotel Vidostern Varnamo
Hotel Vidostern Varnamo
#2 of 2 in Varnamo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
10.9 mi away
Toftaholm Herrgard Hotel
19.9 mi away
Best Western Vrigstad Vardshus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotell Tre Liljor
Hotell Tre Liljor
#4 of 4 in Varnamo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
22.4 mi away
Hestraviken Hotell & Restaurang
20.5 mi away
Hotell Nissastigen
Hotell Nissastigen
#1 of 1 in Gislaved
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Varnamo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Varnamo

Property: Scandic Varnamo
Address: 20 E Storgatsbacken, Varnamo 331 30, Sweden (Formerly Designhotellet)
Location: Sweden > Jonkoping County > Varnamo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Varnamo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Varnamo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Design hotel Scandic Värnamo is centrally located within walking distance to nature, shopping and activities.There are good opportunities for recreation, fishing and training - walking in Store Mosse national park or take a round of golf at Värnamo Golf Club. Do not forget to visit Möbelriket, which also inspired the hotel's design.Scandic Värnamo ideal for both holidaymakers and business travelers. Enjoy a delicious meal in the hotel restaurant and relax with a drink at the bar. Work out in the gym or rejuvenate in the sauna. Conduct business in our 9 flexible meeting rooms with wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Scandic Hotels, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Scandic Varnamo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing