We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Pentelikon was really a unique experience”
Review of Pentelikon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pentelikon Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Kifisia
Athnes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Hotel Pentelikon was really a unique experience”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Pentelikon and it had an awesome time. The service was excellent and the staff was really up to the 5star level. I mostly liked the pool bar where i enjoyed the cocktails and the finger food and the pool was also great. Furthermore, the La Locanda restaurant served delicious Italian plates and finally my room was very very nice, cosy and had an aristocratic vibe which i really loved. Anyone should visit Pentelikon in Athens Greece!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    48
    28
    11
    5
See reviews for
8
13
6
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Stayed just one night over Greek Easter. The hotel has 4 types of room: classic in the original building (high ceilings, older bathroom fittings, brand new wooden floors); suites in a separate block across the gardens (not seen); top floor loft rooms added to the original building (not seen) and rooms (like ours) in the 'deluxe executive wing', a new building constructed in 2004 for the Olympics. These are modern but with 'classic' touches, e.g. chandeliers, four poster double beds, wooden floors covered in a pale persian carpet. Rooms in the new building are not particularly large, and neither are the beds, TV is old, bathrooms are good (although the free-standing marble sink unit wobbles disconcertingly. Good shower, however we had no hot water in the bath itself. To the hotel's credit, an engineer was on the scene within minutes and we were offered a new room on the spot.
Gardens and pool area are very attractive, but for a decent view across neighbouring suburbs you need to stay on a high floor. Best thing about this hotel is its quiet location. This area of Kifissia is home to a cluster of some 5-6 hotels but this will be the quietest of the lot. If you go by the door-mats, the Pentelikon claims 5 star status. This is certainly no longer the case despite the old-world grandeur of the original building with its high ceilings and sweeping staircases. Breakfast and parking were both included. The breakfast setup is in a bright semi-conservatory (seems it is (or once was) an award winning italian restaurant at night). However the decor is dated, the service mixed (some pleasant waiters at breakfast, but a slightly arrogant head waiter). Buffet is not great, but ask for eggs as you like them, olives, freshly cut tomatoes, fresh smoked salmon - and you'll be served promptly and get decent quality food. This hotel does not seem to attract many people under the age of 60 .. indeed breakfast felt as if we were dining in an old people's home, with a clientele that seemed to be made up of nearby residents rather than hotel guests. This was Greek Easter Monday, but there was no child-friendly display or Easter chocolate anywhere to be seen. We spelt very well that night.

Room Tip: Whilst the breakfast buffet is nothing special, ask for what you want and you'll be pleasantly s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awayweekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, Indiana
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

A 2nd review of this hotel gave me the chance to stay a little longer and experience a little more about this hotel. Whilst the staff are not going to go above and beyond it does have a nice bar, teh Italian restaruant in very good and the rooms are quite nice with a fantastic shower. Plus the tiles below the tiolet are heated to keep your feet warm...nice little touch.

Even with all these small things there are many flaws. The first is the staff, the second is the fact that laundry is very overpriced and the third is that the breakfast is very poor for a hotel of this standard.

The area is very nice with some great shops and bars/eateries just 10 min walk south and great nightlife.

I will stay again as my partners have offices close by but I would be aware of the issues here. They obviously do not read the reviews on TripAdvisor and if they do but don't make changes then that is very arrogant to say the least.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TNScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

I stayed at Pentelikon for two nights, i arrived after midnight but the staff was very friendly and they made me feel really good. my room was at the new building so they accompagned me to my room as it was like walking to a labyrith to find it, they gave me instructions how to get to the breakfast area or the spa. The room was big and luxurious but when i saw the bathroom i felt like a queen. it had a shower cabin and a marble bathtub. The bed was comfortable and big and there was a balcony with garden view. the next morning i was having a business appointment and they called me to inform me that there was a guess expecting me in the lobby but since i wasn;t ready i told them to let her come to my room and it was really good to see that a member staff brought my collegue in my room. The breakfast as the food was OK.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irini_pl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Delightful hotel in a divine part of Athens, which has fond childhood memories (though, sadly, not mine!). The hotel gives an aura of spaciousness, and has restored much of the dignity of its previous grandeur.

The rooms are a little pokey, but cosey with it, and the bath is just deep and lovely - perfect for over-egging the bubble bath! Bathrooms are actually very well appointed with a lovely "rain" shower (I think they call them), with lots of power and force. Warm too.

Service in restaurant was friendly and attentive, and the doorman a cheery soul. Reception staff equally polite, recommending an outstanding restaurant ("Cash") nearby.

This quarter of Athens is fairly affluent, hosting all the big designers' shops. The hotel is not out of place!.

JB and MMG

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CdrJBond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
200 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

First of all, the lobby looked very outdated and dusty.
Then I took the slow elevator to the third floor where my classical room was located - Third floor that really needs to be renovated.
The room was so heated, I though I was entering the sauna.

The essential in a hotel is the sleep, right? At the Pentelikon, I had the worst sleep ever.
The mattress was really bad, I thought I was falling all the time and the pillow were far too soft.
Usually, I do not complain too much, but this time I thought I was checking in a 5 stars hotel.
The breakfast was ok but not impressive with the variety of the food proposed.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanR31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umea, Sweden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

I spent three nights at the hotel during a business trip. I was in the top floor, which has been added not too long ago. The lift does not go all the way up, and the staircase to the top floor is a very twisting narrow thing which you can hardly get your luggage through...

The breakfast was nice with fresh orange juice.
The room was new and very "strange". It was a mix of all styles with mirrors, wooden beams, ceiling lights, old style faucets and a shower that was like standing in a waterfall. All in all it was very cool!

The staff did not bend over backwards to help out, quite the opposite... I should have gotten a (40-50%) discount due to the company I was visiting, but no way... It could not be done...

Room Tip: The top floor is newly built, but has no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frequent2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kifisia
1.2 mi away
Coco-Mat Hotel Nafsika
Coco-Mat Hotel Nafsika
#2 of 10 in Kifisia
526 reviews
0.2 mi away
Theoxenia Palace Hotel
Theoxenia Palace Hotel
#9 of 10 in Kifisia
346 reviews
0.3 mi away
Y Hotel
Y Hotel
#1 of 10 in Kifisia
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Semiramis
Semiramis
#3 of 10 in Kifisia
261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Twentyone
Hotel Twentyone
#5 of 10 in Kifisia
85 reviews
3.0 mi away
Life Gallery athens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pentelikon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pentelikon Hotel

Property: Pentelikon Hotel
Address: 66 Diligianni Theodorou, Kifisia, Athens 145 62, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Kifisia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kifisia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pentelikon Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pentelikon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pentelikon Hotel Kifissia
Pentelikon Hotel Greece/Kifisia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing