We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best seafood ever.”

Tambarina Guest House & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Marlothpark
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best seafood ever.”
Reviewed September 1, 2014

We regularly visit Tambarina for special occations,the best food in town. I also promote Tambarina to all my guests attending our safaris to eat at least one evening of their holiday there.. Friendly staff and good service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kruger Africa Safaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    75
    28
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Portuguese Food”
Reviewed September 1, 2014

We visited a second time, during a trip to Marloth Park, it is in easy driving distance from Marloth Park, and easy to find. Warm atmosphere, very helpful staff, good service and wonderful Mozambican beer.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andree2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Portuguese-type food in relaxed setting. Nothing special, but not disappointing either. We thought it a little on the expensive side for what it was, but understand that this is par for the course for most restaurants in the area, which trade on their proximity to the Kruger Park.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris-CH J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Food in a Vibrant Setting.”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Very enjoyable meal, the menu offers a wide variety of Portuguese dishes and seafood, delicious prawns, great wine, Mozambique-an beer in a quirky chilled setting.

Helpful?
Thank BMordecaiJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Love it! Can't wait to go again!”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We had a large group of 10 people (with visitors from the US) and we had an absolutely outstanding meal. The staff were extremely accommodating (they purchased desserts for a birthday we had amongst our guests) and were beyond helpful and friendly. We were so thrilled to share a taste of South Africa/Portuguese with our American guests- they loved it! Can't wait to go back the next time we are in the Kruger.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jodi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tambarina Guest House & Restaurant also viewed

Komatipoort, Mpumalanga
Komatipoort, Mpumalanga
 
Komatipoort, Mpumalanga
Komatipoort, Mpumalanga
 
Komatipoort, Mpumalanga
Marloth Park, Mpumalanga
 

Been to Tambarina Guest House & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing