We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent prawns!”

Tambarina Guest House & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent prawns!”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We travelled through Komatipoort again after 9 years and decided to revisit Tambarina and again we were not disappointed. One mishap though, waitron forgot to put in our starters, apologized frantically, but in hindsight was a blessing in disguise. Three of us had each 12 King Prawns (grilled to perfection), one had the spaghetti bolognaise and with a starter it would've meant that we had to leave one or more of theses beauties on the plate. Had Frangelico Pedros & pancakes for dessert, Jagermeisters to conclude festivities and we were all in agreement that we"ll be back. Well done Tambarina!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Piet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    75
    27
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Prawn Perfection”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

The food was very good. Fresh, beautifully cooked, and in true
Portuguese style. The service was attentive and we came away
more than pleasantly surprised.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food and service.”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We were 5 for dinner, and all had different meals. They were all great. We particularly liked the sea food.

Very reasonable prices

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank David W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Burned food and burned pocket”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

As a visitor to the nearby Kruger Park we decided to have a "Portuguese" style meal in Komatipoort. Before leaving home I had taken the time to call a local guesthouse to find out about the quality and was told that the food was good.

We ordered Mozambique chicken and were advised that they would take 45 min to prepare so we ordered starters which were pretty good - calamari, chicken livers and mushrooms.

When the chicken arrived,eventually, it was dry and the wings looked pretty charred. the thigh was quite edible but the breast and drumstick were overcooked. The wing was inedible being burned beyond recognition. At no stage were we asked whether the food was to our satisfaction and when I complained, the manageress on duty was totally indifferent and didn' even offer an apology.

Truly a "never again" experience!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
114 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Portuguese Delight”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The portions are large , very large . We had our meals twice at this place . It shuts at about nine but the food is good . They also have a bar and a meal for six will be appx R 900

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KiranNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tambarina Guest House & Restaurant also viewed

Komatipoort, Mpumalanga
Komatipoort, Mpumalanga
 
Komatipoort, Mpumalanga
Komatipoort, Mpumalanga
 

Been to Tambarina Guest House & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing