We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Komati River Chalets
Nearby Hotels
$86
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$79
$77
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
$106
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acasia Guest Lodge(Komatipoort)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Meerkat Manor(Komatipoort)(Great Value!)
$53
$47
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sundown Lodge(Komatipoort)
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Trees Too Guest Lodge(Komatipoort)(Great Value!)
$56
$48
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stoep Cafe(Komatipoort)(Great Value!)
$63
$53
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Boomhuisie(Komatipoort)(Great Value!)
$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveler rating
52
30
12
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
30
12
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstiger fishingfishing tripborder postfrom australiakruger national parkrelaxing placebraai areafull kitchenself caterhome away from homeserviced dailya great stayair conditioningshort driveenjoyed our staycrocodile bridge gateriver
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 97 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My group of 13 stayed here in mid May. Management went beyond expectations to accommodate one of our group who failed to make an advance reservation. Our chalets were well equipped, very clean, and breakfast was excellent. Owner appeared just as we were leaving to say farewell. An excellent location near the town, borders the river and easy access to Mozambique and Kruger Park. Yes, the TV has only 10 channels, but the hotel has a nice bar to interact with other travelers.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KissuMist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylviakomatipoort, Manager at Komati River Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thank you for your reviw, and encouraged that you enjoyed your stay with us.
we were glad to be able to accommodate all your party.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We visited South Africa in October 2012 and because we booked through a travel agent, we were booked into mainstream hotels mainly geared towards tourist. We had a very bad experience at Protea Kruger Gate Hotel and just by luck we discovered Komati River Chalets, so we cancelled our last two nights at Protea and went to Komati. I cannot express in words how wonderful the service is, the owners and staff go out of there way to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We got taken fishing and Ms Rose made the most joyful Brie i have even eaten. Our stay was memorable and we definitely will be back. The location is perfect its right beside the Crocodile Gate entrance into Kruger and its only a short trip to Mozambique. The rooms are clean and serviced daily and the chefs breakfasts is a must.
As we said Ms Rose we will be back.
Allanah & Andrew

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allanah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylviakomatipoort, Manager at Komati River Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thank you for your review, and thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, as much as we enjoyed your visit..
we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed here the night before our first adventure into Kruger National Park. The hosts were so friendly and informative. They told us the best routes to take and they were right on! We actually saw the Bog 5 on our first trip. The grounds at Komati RC are spectacular (my wife took tons of pictures) and more than we expected. The rooms were very nice and it was a great experience. Highly Recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lloyd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Komatiriverchalets, Public Relations Manager at Komati River Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thank you for reviewing Komati River Chalets. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could share our passion for our establishment and the area with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This was in a great location besides the Crocodile River and just a few kilometers south of the entrance to Kruger. The villas were spacious, clean and COOL! (The a/c's worked very well.) With the outdoor grill (each villa has one), we had a nice BBQ. I would defintely stay there again.

There were good restaurants around. I'd recommend the spare ribs at the Lion and Leopard Lodge.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank iamspamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Komatiriverchalets, Public Relations Manager at Komati River Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our establishment. Nothing beats a good old fashioned African barbeque or braai as we call it and so pleased that you had a good stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were three families from India and stayed at this wonderful place .Loved the place , plenty of green and trees . There are these self contained "cottages" with thatched roof, air conditioning attached baths complete with Coffee / Tea maker , oven and hot plate . The owner Ms.Rose is a charming person , always smiling and ready to help . Kruger trips can be booked at the hotel .

The place is immaculately maintained, lawns have a special Bar BQ arrangement fore each room. The greenery takes your breath away .

The rooms are reasonably priced at R 700 per room , but breakfast is extra . The place is secluded and one must have his own transport .

Room Tip: Some rooms I think 15-16 would have been better had they faced the lawn rather than the hedges .
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kiran N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Komatiriverchalets, Public Relations Manager at Komati River Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

We are so pleased that you and your extended family had a lovely stay with us. And thank you for the kind words pertaining to Ros McEwan. I fully agree with you but then again I’m biased as Ros is my mother. Regarding the room rate. We offer both self catering and bed and breakfast rates when handling a reservation. Breakfast is extra for people who would like breakfast who have booked the self catering option.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews