We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a rest in the bush”
Review of Ngwenya Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Komatipoort
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ngwenya Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect for a rest in the bush”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed in a river facing unit. Balcony suspended over Crocodile river so you feel like you are I the bush. Restaurant and peaceful pond close by. It was fully furnished incl dish washer, towels, all crockery and cutlery as well as ice! I would recommend that you take soap, shampoo and mosquito repellant. It is serviced daily except for Sundays. You can pay extra for a service on Sunday at R120. Check out is 10 am or else R200 an hour after 10. Although it was peak season it was very quiet. Loved the view - saw buffaloes, water buck, hippos and elephants from my balcony as well as my room. It is very close to Kruger National Park. The roads we drove a lot were S130 S28 and H4-2 and this is where we had the best sightings. We bought a wild card (couple) you don't have to be related - any 2 adults can get it for R570 for year access at any Sanparks park.

Room Tip: River facing unit or one on hippo bend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fuzzwana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    99
    17
    3
    6
See reviews for
186
75
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durban SA / Berkshire , UK
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We bought HB44 as a timeshare for the UK October Half Term week - we loved it so much that when we got back we immeditaley bought HB41 next door for our son's 21st birthday as he is also crazy about the bush. It is simply stunning. From our deck we have regularly seen elephants playing in the river and walking by so close that we could reach out and touch them, dagga boys (Old buffalo bulls) are often resting on the bank, rhino, giraffe etc etc not to mention the resident lion pride attempting to take a buffaloe right opposite us!! The waterbuck, impala, egyptian geese and other prolofic birdlife hardly makes it necessaryt to drive the 5Kms to Croc Bridge Gate! The Restaurant is just fine (always remember - you are in Africa!) with stunning views and sunsets, there are several swimming pools, PuttPutt (18 holes!), tennis and a games room for those who are crazy enough to be srawn from the river side entertainment provided by the bush. The sights, smells and sounds combined with evening braais on the deck make this place simply magical. We LOVE it and have brought many family and friends on holiday with us to share this special place with the. Go there - you won't regret it! ;-)

Room Tip: Hippo Bend is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shaka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durban
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

stayed in unit hb05 overlooking river. excellent views, huge 4 bedroom 4 bathroom chalet which had a washing machine, dryer and dishwasher in the unit. unit also has an iron and an ironing board, all these added to the comfort of my stay, more like a home away from home. great weekly entertainment for the kids with very friendly staff in games room namely, DM and Belinda. they kept the kids entertained. great game vieing from the unit and from one of the many hides on the resort. definetly hippo bend is a better part of the resort, units are bigger, more spaced out and its away from the hustle and bustle. loved my stay

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fs30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

As others have put the game viewing really is fantastic - I've done a few safaris in my time and never been able to sit on a balcony drinking beer and see so much game! Sadly no cats though. Accommodation was great, very clean and spacious. I didn't pay for it but gather it's very good value although you do get the sales pitch on the timeshares. Food less impressive, the pizzas were okay, normal restaurant food less so.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank skiingarchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Pirie, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Although it is a long weekend drive from home (Johannesburg) for us - 4.5 hours - we'll try to make it a full week next time. This RCI Gold Crown self-catering resort is excellent. Good facilities - tennis court, swimming pools, restaurant, shop, mini-golf, laundromat, conference facilities - and just a short hop to the Crocodile Bridge gate to the Kruger. The road is complete and in very good condition. Yesterday we had just the perfect day in the park - saw all of the big five - elephant, rhino, buffalo, lion (kill with a warthog right on the side of the road) and leopard. Throw in the close view of a cheetah, multiple antelope and a huge variety of birds, from water birds to raptors, it was everything we could have wished for.

The units are clean and in good condition. No bath - just a shower - but that is our preference. Additional charge for Sunday housekeeping. Full kitchen and magnificent view of the Crocodile river from the patio made it a very comfortable and memorable stay. There are also bird hides and a lovely bar with great views of the Kruger from the deck.

Probably not the place to go if you are not into wildlife, but hard to beat if you are. Highly recommend this establishment.

Room Tip: River view is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ratfink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

My son and myself visited Ngwenya from 2nd to 5th November 2012. It is a very well kept resort in an ideal setting. The birdlife is fantastic and the proximity to the Kruger National Park is ideal (about 9km from the Crocodile Gate). The road between the lodge and the crocodile gate is now almost complete which greatly improves access - it used to be a real tyre killer. We are going there again at the next possible opportunity.

Room Tip: download the map from the internet - not all units which are described as on pond are within view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glynis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umhlanga
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and I along with our son and grandson, who was visiting us from Canada, spent an unforgettable mid week break at Ngwenya on River from the 8th October -12th October 2012.
We had an enormous and beautiful modern 8 sleeper unit which overlooked the Crocodile River.
From the furnished patio we watched how the Elephants would come down to the river to drink,feed and swim and witnessed the Hippos having territorial fights.
We even had Rhino coming down to drink and saw Impala, Zebra and Giraffe amongst other game much to the delight of our 6 year old grandson who was having an "out of africa" experience right from the patio!

Ngwenya has much to offer a family in terms of entertainment i.e swimming pools, mini golf,trampolines,jungle gyms and a games room, a small grocery shop which stocks basics if you happen to run out of supplies and a lovely curio shop too. They have catered for everyones needs. We had cocktails at the restaurant overlooking the river whilst game viewing at the same time. Friendly and polite staff were always on hand.

The road from the Lodge to the Kruger Parks Crocodile Bridge Gate has been tarred and its a mere 10 miute drive away. The town of Komatipoort is a 15 minute drive from Ngwenya if you need to do a bigger shop from Spar, bottle store, butcher or to fill up with Diesel or Petrol.

Our patio was equipped with a braai/barbeque which we used most evenings so that we could to take full advantage of the beautiful African sunsets while braaing and enjoying sundowners.

We cannot wait to return and highly recommend this stunning Lodge as a holiday destination.

Room Tip: Choose the Ngwenya on River units and dont forget your cameras! Torches are a 'must have' at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marietta Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Komatipoort
21.0 mi away
Pestana Kruger Lodge
Pestana Kruger Lodge
#1 of 1 in Malelane
372 reviews
1.6 mi away
Buckler's Africa
Buckler's Africa
#1 of 13 in Komatipoort
340 reviews
2.3 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#76 of 173 in Kruger National Park
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Elephant Walk Retreat
Elephant Walk Retreat
#5 of 13 in Komatipoort
76 reviews
5.1 mi away
Bushwise Safaris
Bushwise Safaris
#3 of 34 in Marloth Park
320 reviews
3.7 mi away
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
#5 of 34 in Marloth Park
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngwenya Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngwenya Lodge

Property: Ngwenya Lodge
Address: Tenbosch Road | Farm Whisky, Komatipoort 1340, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Komatipoort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Komatipoort
Hotel Class:4 star — Ngwenya Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ngwenya Lodge is situated on the southern tip of the world-renowned Kruger National Park. This means that visitors don’t even have to leave the resort to see a huge variety of game species – including the famous Big Five. The river view chalets overlook a scenic floodplain, which allows for magnificent views of the area where the big cats often hunt. Our Dam and Bush view chalets are set back on the property and also have beautiful views, as they overlook tranquil dams or bush areas. Game viewing hides make game viewing on the riverfront accessible to all – so no one misses out on spotting any of their favorite wild animals. Holiday in the luxury you’re used to… The units have fully equipped kitchens with a stove, fridge, freezer and a microwave. Each unit has a television and an undercover veranda with patio table, chairs and a braai, for unforgettable get-togethers with family and friends. Ngwenya’s on-site facilities include a pub, a beauty salon with a wide range of treatments, a curio shop, a small convenience shop, 6 outdoor swimming pools, 18 hole Mini Golf course, 2 tennis courts, trampolines, jungle gyms, a games room with pool tables, table tennis, Playstations with Xbox Kinnect, a kiddies room with various board games, puzzles, and kids movies.We can’t wait for you to visit us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ngwenya Lodge Komatipoort, Africa - South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing