We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Review of Buckler's Africa” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buckler's Africa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Buckler's Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria
2 reviews
“Review of Buckler's Africa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Very nice place to stay in and sitting next to the Crocodile river/Kruger park. Facilities very good. Friendly and helpful staff. Value for money. I would recommend it to my friends and stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Abraham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    57
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
104
160
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed at Bucklers for 4 nights in December.
We were a party of 8 (6 adults and 2 children) and had two of the two bedroom self catering units. They were very comfortable with everything you need. The pool was a welcome relief after very hot dusty days driving around Kruger.

It is extremely close to the Kruger gate and has stunning views across Crocodile River. Komatiapoort is a short drive away for groceries but we ended up stopping at the store at Crocodile Bridge to pick up supplies on our way out of the park if needed.
The staff were fantastic and if we needed anything they got it for us. Our braai was cleaned every day and ready for us when we got back.
Bucklers was an awesome experience and we will definately use it as our go to place for Kruger.
We all loved it!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shangers4n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pirna, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

We feeled very well during our 4 nights in the Main house with self-catering. Breakfirst outside before the door with view over the river and watching several animal over there during having our meal.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Franck M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa Valley
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Bucklers on Dec 6-8, 2013 and the grounds were amazing! It is directly across from Kruger and it so relaxing, I could have stayed there for two weeks! Cheryl the owner was was extremely wonderful and accommodating. I would highly recommend this property to anyone considering going to Kruger!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Vcheezie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American Canyon, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

An great place stay while enjoying Kruger National Park. From the excellent view we had we saw hippos and Impala in the distance. Call it Kruger on a budget. Binoculars are present to help you see the animals from their property. The views are amazing and enhances the experience. It would of been nice to stay longer than our two night stay. The cabins were excellent and gives you the feeling of being at a special place. Our cabin was clean and was far from the typical resort/hotel look which we enjoyed. The meals prepared daily costs extra however the breakfast we had was delicious. The service is great and was very accommodating to our needs. Not sure how far a grocery store is, but it may be beneficial to stock up with snacks and quickie meals during your stay to cut down on the cost of your food. However fresh fruit and beverages are available for purchase. Located at the southern tip of Kruger National Park it makes a great place to start your tour.

Room Tip: Ask about the bedding arrangements before hand. The rooms are different and if you are traveling wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ccheezee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

It's an amazing place! The lodge is beautiful and has a stunning view over the Kruger Park. Even the rain couldn't spoil our moment sitting on the sun loungers (under a ceiling) at the terrace with the view of the river and National Park. The rooms are beautiful and have everything you'll need. We got the familyroom and it was amazing, so well decorated, clean, spacious and with a outside shower. The owners are very friendly and helpful without being pushy. It's only short distance to the southern gate. We wished we could have stay longer! When we're going back to South Africa, we will definitely come back here. It was one of the attractivest places we have been to during our travels.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaTheNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

What a pleasant surprise to find this personalised extremely well maintained place to stay over on our way to the Kruger Nat. Park. Had never heard of Bucklers before but will certainly reccommend it in the future and will book again when we travel that way. Everything, from the service, rooms, facilities, view, food and owners, was fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Komatipoort
1.9 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#76 of 170 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
6.6 mi away
Bushwise Safaris
Bushwise Safaris
#3 of 31 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
7.3 mi away
Needles Lodge
Needles Lodge
#1 of 31 in Marloth Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
#6 of 31 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
1.6 mi away
Elephant Walk Retreat
Elephant Walk Retreat
#5 of 13 in Komatipoort
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
6.6 mi away
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
#4 of 31 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckler's Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckler's Africa

Property: Buckler's Africa
Address: off R571 between Komatipoort and Crocodile Bridge Gate, Kruger Park, Komatipoort 1340, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Komatipoort
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Komatipoort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Buckler's Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bordering on the Crocodile River & Kruger Park in a stunning setting is Buckler’s Africa with over 5 hectares of gardens and bush with its high thatch ceilings and cool terracotta tiles it is an oasis. Wake up to the sights and sounds of Africa from your air conditioned bedroom, pool & viewing deck offer endless hours of enjoyment, Crocodile Bridge Gate Kruger Park 10 min, Mozambique & Swaziland just over an hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Buckler's Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckler's Africa Komatipoort, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing