We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of Buckler's Africa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Buckler's Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Mashpee, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

My daughter went to Maputo last year to visit my son in Mozambique and I paid for their stay at Bucklers, so I was eager to stay there with my son and his family when I went in Sept. We stayed in the same 2 bedroom at the end, which is great if you have young children as they can play outside without disturbing other guests. Absolutely loved it. You are only about 5 minutes from crocodile river gate. You see animals at the river and the second night we were there, a water buffalo wasn't 8 feet away from us. They do have a fence and the land drops down so there is no worry about having an animal close.
Everyone was very helpful. They made reservations for us the last night at a good restaurant and they were happy to serve us breakfast the last day, so we packed up the car and had a wonderful relaxing breakfast. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bpilz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    62
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
113
167
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We had the good fortune to have had an overnight stay at Bucklers on our way to Sabie and Balule. OJ , Cheryl and family were in attendance and were very amicable, hospitable and accommodating. We picked up some food in Koomatiport on the way in from a long drive from Tembe through Swaziland . Cheryl set up a braai right outside our room.It was bliss to cook our dinner ,sipping nice wine, sitting in comfort outside, overlooking the Crocodile River and Kruger, with cane fires in the distance lighting up the night sky. The self catering room had all that one needed and the beds / bedding were excellent. Next morning we availed ourselves of the hot breakfast ( worth every penny ) delightfully presented, best brewed coffee in our entire trip and delicious. Highly recommended and if we ever get back that way again we both said we would stay longer.

Room Tip: From what I could tell all have fabulous views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stargaize1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Just back from a fantastic long weekend at Buckler's. Excellent value for money, very friendly and attentive owners and staff and great accommodation. The view across the Croc river is breathtaking! So sad we could only stay for such a short time but we'll definitely be back! If I had to dig for an area of improvement it would be to look at updating the pool and the linen. Thanks for a terrific stay! Also thanks for the tip to avoid the stop go's on the way home - saved us a lot of frustration and the route is beautiful!

Room Tip: The room on the far right corner facing the river (main room) has a huge tree over hanging the veran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucklersafrica, Manager at Buckler's Africa, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Michelle and Richard

Thank you for spending your special getaway weekend at Buckler's Africa, its always great to get away from the busy city to such a special place like Buckler's Africa.

Just a note on the linen, we on a regular basis update our linen and I can only think that some of the older linen sneaked into your room which I apologise for and will look into.

We look forward to your return visit.

Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My family and I absolutely love Buckler's Africa. It is in a fantastic location, definitely "Kruger is our Back Garden", we have ourselves seen 4 of the Big 5 close by (I understand even Leopards have been spotted from time to time). Great access to Kruger via the Crocodile Bridge Gate. Buckler's itself is great, the 2-bedroom unit is great for us as 2 adults with 2 children, spotlessly clean and with all you need for self-catering (full supermarket close by). And great value. It is hard to force yourself out of the place sometimes to venture into Kruger for the day ! The hospitality and friendliness of Cheryl, OJ, Kert and all the Buckler's team is one of the reasons we have just visited for our 3rd year in a row, and already booked for 2014 !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigMacCairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucklersafrica, Owner at Buckler's Africa, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Paul

Thank you so much for your lovely review of Buckler's Africa, I have to say your family is such a delight to have here, and its guests like you that make Buckler's Africa such a special place.
Thank you for your fourth year in a row booking, we hope it will be an annual visit for many years to come.

All the best to you, Nanette, Patrick and Alicia.
Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is really a wonderful setting, lovingly kept up, and a reasonable price. Very conveniently located next to Kruger Park. Plus, the breakfast was fantastic!
Highly recommended! Wish we had stayed there the whole time we visited Kruger Park!

Room Tip: There was no fitness facility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jed122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucklersafrica, Owner at Buckler's Africa, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hi Jed

Thank you so much for your review, we really are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Although we don't have a fitness room, there is nothing like doing a workout
in the fresh morning air, with the sights and sounds of Africa.

All the best to you.
Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rome
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

On August 2013, we spent five days in this beautiful and not expensive accomodation , Our room was the number two: lounge, kitchen full equipped and one bedroom on the first floor, with one double plus two single bed for our kids. Outside a garden and a pool with a spectacular view over the Kruger park, just 100 meters from Bucklers border. In other words if you want you can enjoy the park directly from the garden! Crocs, Buffalos, Hippos, warthogs, Impalas were daily guests. Often a big family of around fifteen elephants came to eat few meters from us. One day we saw three big rhinos and another day the lions hunted impala and warthog. We have seen all this from the garden!! Our kids were excited about. The gate of Crocodile Bridge is at five minutes and the village of komatipoort is at the same distance. Staff was always ready to satisfy any request. A special thanks to Teresa and Jesse. We recommend this location to anyone

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taxirome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucklersafrica, Owner at Buckler's Africa, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Davide and Family

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Buckler's Africa.
Yes there is never a dull moment in our back garden, and its wonderful
to have been able to share it with you and your enthusiastic family.
We hope the memories last a lifetime.

All the best.
Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mogale City
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The lodge is well situated on the banks of the Crocodile River overlooking a part of the Kruger Park. Personal attention to welcoming me was special as was the fact that my room was ready when I arrived at 11h00 in the morning. Sparkling clean ,with cofee/tea available in the kitchenette. Microwave, fridge , stove DSTV . also available. Had a super stay , excellent night rest. Extensive breakfast on the stoep whilst watching buffalo and Rhino. Would strongly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucklersafrica, Owner at Buckler's Africa, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hello Tom

Thank you very much for your lovely review, it was a pleasure having you as our guest and we hope you'll get to visit again soon.

Kind regards
Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Komatipoort
1.6 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#74 of 174 in Kruger National Park
95 reviews
5.3 mi away
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
#5 of 34 in Marloth Park
186 reviews
6.6 mi away
Bushwise Safaris
Bushwise Safaris
#3 of 34 in Marloth Park
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Buhala Lodge
Buhala Lodge
#1 of 10 in Malelane
319 reviews
1.6 mi away
Elephant Walk Retreat
Elephant Walk Retreat
#5 of 13 in Komatipoort
76 reviews
7.3 mi away
Needles Lodge
Needles Lodge
#1 of 34 in Marloth Park
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckler's Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckler's Africa

Property: Buckler's Africa
Address: off R571 between Komatipoort and Crocodile Bridge Gate, Kruger Park, Komatipoort 1340, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Komatipoort
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Komatipoort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Buckler's Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bordering on the Crocodile River & Kruger Park in a stunning setting is Buckler’s Africa with over 5 hectares of gardens and bush with its high thatch ceilings and cool terracotta tiles it is an oasis. Wake up to the sights and sounds of Africa from your air conditioned bedroom, pool & viewing deck offer endless hours of enjoyment, Crocodile Bridge Gate Kruger Park 10 min, Mozambique & Swaziland just over an hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Buckler's Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckler's Africa Komatipoort, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing