We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Buckler's Africa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Buckler's Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Fabulous location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Accommodation is in a fabulous location, spacious but a little tired. Lighting not positioned very well and some of the fixtures did not always work. However, Cheryl is a great hostess, nothing too much trouble. We will visit her and Buckler's Africa again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucklersafrica, Owner at Buckler's Africa, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Hello Steve

Thanks again for your review, and thank you for communicating via email the lighting problem and fixtures that were not working. Just to let you know that this is being take care of and hopefully when you visit us again next year you will appreciate the changes that will be made.

Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    58
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
107
163
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tervuren, Brabant, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

we stayed here twice from and to Mozambique. It is very close to the border. The first time we had absolute stunning rooms. The second time nice rooms but the kitchen (it is self catering) a bit small. not suitable for cooking a meal. But we did a braai and the owners took out our private braai, exellent. Only downsite. We do not eat pork and the breakfast did not provide an alternative.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nynke l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucklersafrica, Owner at Buckler's Africa, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Nynke

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We were in a fortunate situation to have been able to upgrade you on your first night, to a self catering unit from a standard B&B room
and unfortunately on your return trip there was only a B&B room available, although you mention it was a self catering unit is was in fact
not a self catering unit but a standard B&B room. For the convenience of our guests we have included kitchenettes in all the Standard
rooms to enable guests to prepare light meals. And as mentioned, we also offer BBQ facilities for all our rooms.

I am so sorry to hear that an alternative to pork was not offered, as our breakfasts consist of fresh fruit salad, yoghurts, cereals, and the hot
meals consists of scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, mushrooms and tomato, with toast and jams, tea, coffee and juice. Instead of the bacon
we could have made omelets, we do normally discuss the breakfasts with guests and are always open to requests, so I apologize that this was
not communicated.

We nevertheless trust that you enjoyed your stay with us and that when in the area again will make your stopover at Buckler's Africa again.

Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Enjoyed a two night stay in May 2013. A few very minor maintenance issues, and the owners were unloading building material in front of the entrance to our chalet on the second day when we arrived back from a game drive. They did apologise, with one of the staff saying he thought we had checked out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmericanTraveller55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Spent a few days there in October last year with the family.
Absolutely great from the beginning till the end. What a perfect location, you can see the wild animals while lying in bed. Also the open outside shower is not to miss. Can just recommend it!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Silvio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed at bucklers for 2 amazing weeks in March and it was the end of an 8 week stay in SA.What a way to finish a magical trip ,we had saved the best until last.As everyone says it is really fantastic,Cheryl,OJ and all the team were so wonderful we felt like part of the family and could not wish for better hosts.We had dreamt of being in the pool and watching elephants and it happened, we even had 9 rhinos by the river one morning when we opened our curtains we couldn't believe our eyes.The standard of accommodation is superb,crisp white sheets ,a bed so comfy only the lure of the animals could get you out ,views to die for and to have both bath and outdoor shower was great.Our terrace had a wild fig tree as shade and the variety of birds who loved the fruit was staggering.This is certainly the best place we have ever stayed and it is true some days we returned from Kruger and Bucklers had seen more animals than us!We loved the fact that Croc bridge was just 15 mins away,Komartiport for food shopping just 10 mins and the Ngwenya Lodge 5min drive if you needed a restaurant in the evening .Obviously Bucklers comes highly recommended.....Thanks Cheryl and OJ see you on our next visit

Room Tip: We had a sc studio but Cheryl showed us all the rooms ,what ever size of your party they have suitab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanadid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

The outdoor shower in the two bedroom was fantastic. Everything has been said already. Just wanna mention I have a secret crush on Cheryl. And I think my girl friend figured it out. Sweet lady who accomodated us after we had an emergency. She still get super excited when elephants, or "elies" roll up. Grab a drink from the "honor bar" and chillax by the pool. It is the best vantage point we had seen all the way from Lower Sabie to Paul Kruger gate.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ziad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We started our trip to South Africa staying for two nights in one of Buckler's amazing apartments, and it was a perfect start for a journey. Buckler's is located on the Crocodile River, and on our first morning in South Africa we were watching a family of elephants who came down to the river for drink and bath! It was truly a childish dream coming true. Besides, the lodge is only fifteen minute drive from Crocodile Bridge gate to Kruger, making it ideal for going on your first safari trips to the national park. Cheryl and Kathryn were extremely welcoming and supportive, helping to arrange restaurant and safari trips, providing with amazing breakfast (including the take-away one when we went on a sunrise safari) and the tips on our further journey. We couldn't think of a better place to begin our holiday.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaandBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Komatipoort
1.6 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#70 of 171 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
6.6 mi away
Bushwise Safaris
Bushwise Safaris
#3 of 32 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
1.6 mi away
Elephant Walk Retreat
Elephant Walk Retreat
#4 of 13 in Komatipoort
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
#5 of 32 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
6.6 mi away
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
#4 of 32 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
7.3 mi away
Needles Lodge
Needles Lodge
#1 of 32 in Marloth Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckler's Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckler's Africa

Property: Buckler's Africa
Address: off R571 between Komatipoort and Crocodile Bridge Gate, Kruger Park, Komatipoort 1340, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Komatipoort
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Komatipoort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Buckler's Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bordering on the Crocodile River & Kruger Park in a stunning setting is Buckler’s Africa with over 5 hectares of gardens and bush with its high thatch ceilings and cool terracotta tiles it is an oasis. Wake up to the sights and sounds of Africa from your air conditioned bedroom, pool & viewing deck offer endless hours of enjoyment, Crocodile Bridge Gate Kruger Park 10 min, Mozambique & Swaziland just over an hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Buckler's Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckler's Africa Komatipoort, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing