We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Kruger experience!!”
Review of Buckler's Africa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Buckler's Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Kruger experience!!”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

I do not have enough words to describe how fantastic our stay was! Right from the booking process everything just went so smoothly with Buckler's! They even booked our nightdrive and bushwalk with the Kruger National Park when we were unable to reach the Park ourselves. The chalets/rooms are so awesome - cozy, homely, clean. They have the most fantastic view over the Crocodile river where you can enjoy sundowners or breakfast. Cheryl, the owner-manager, is just amazing and she makes you feel so at home. Also, Buckler's is just 10 minutes drive from the Crocodile Bridge gate of the Kruger Park, so convenient. I am already recommending Buckler's to everyone I know and can't wait to go back and take the family with!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toinette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    60
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
111
167
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cumbria
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We arrived at Bucklers having only booked one night (unfortunately) and Sheryl and OJ were more than welcoming even though we arrived late. The next day we awoke to stunning views across the Kruger and spent the morning relaxing by the pool, whilst spotting game across the crocodile river. The accomodation was excellent, spotlessly clean and more than adequate. We were reluctant to leave and wished we had booked to stay alot longer, we are hoping to go back and stay for longer later in the year or early next year. Michelle, UK

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mad12381irish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
193 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

This is the Kruger you have dreamed of; but, without the outrageous price. Location, location, location. Although a safari excursion into the park should be done, wildlife can be viewed from the lawn right outside your door. In the morning we watched cape buffalo taking a soak in the river and in the late afternoon a group of elephants came within 15 feet of us. Wow! We had a self catering unit that had plenty of comfort and atmosphere. The unit had a lovely small patio right outside our door, a small kitchen and a really nice bathroom with shower and separate soaking tub. The rooms and decor are done with a rustic bush feel but all the modern comforts. We arrived on a Sunday and were dismayed that we could not purchase wine at the grocery. Not to worry; a bottle can be purchased from the honor bar in the main lodge along with ice cream treats. Cheryl arranged a day safari for us with a very knowledgeable guide and we saw 4 of the big 5 and even some lion cubs. If you have kids or tire easily, I would suggest opting for a morning and/or evening safari rather than an all day. Buckler's does it right and leaves you with money to visit wine country!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickpeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We've spent 5 nights at Buckler's Africa Lodge. Cheryl, OJ, Kert and the staff offered us all we wanted. The setting is fabulous, 3 of the big fivers were visible from the pool or during breakfast on the main terrace. An adress to remember and we'll go back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordaanwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sneek
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Buckler’s offers luxurious accommodation with a view of the Kruger. We were so fortunate to receive the ‘best room in the house’, to our opinion. With a private deck, two bedrooms, 2 bathrooms with outdoor shower, a well equipped kitchen, a lovely living area and easy access to the parking space. Be prepared to see all kinds of animals, and not even leave the premises. We saw a rhino with baby and a hippo with baby whilst relaxing in the pool of Buckler’s. We can also recommend the sunset safari. Buckler’s can make the reservation and do the initial payment, so you don’t have to worry about a thing. The safari leaves from Crocodile Bridge and gives you the opportunity to experience the Kruger Park when it’s dark. Buckler’s definitely is a lovely place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank berend b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

This is just one of those place that once you stumble upon you know you will be back . The service , the location and the atmosphere were all perfect . 2 Thumbs up ! We will be back one day , sooner rather than later .

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zeist
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights at Buckler's Africa and we would have loved staying there for much longer. The friendly staff, the wonderful breathtaking views, the spacious and clean cottages. Everything was perfect! It was so special starting your day with viewing elephants or hippos in/at the river. It was even better than we expected from the website! We would recommend it to anyone!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maaihans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Komatipoort
1.6 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#72 of 171 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
6.6 mi away
Bushwise Safaris
Bushwise Safaris
#3 of 33 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
1.6 mi away
Elephant Walk Retreat
Elephant Walk Retreat
#5 of 13 in Komatipoort
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
#5 of 33 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
6.6 mi away
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
#4 of 33 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
7.3 mi away
Needles Lodge
Needles Lodge
#1 of 33 in Marloth Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckler's Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckler's Africa

Property: Buckler's Africa
Address: off R571 between Komatipoort and Crocodile Bridge Gate, Kruger Park, Komatipoort 1340, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Komatipoort
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Komatipoort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Buckler's Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bordering on the Crocodile River & Kruger Park in a stunning setting is Buckler’s Africa with over 5 hectares of gardens and bush with its high thatch ceilings and cool terracotta tiles it is an oasis. Wake up to the sights and sounds of Africa from your air conditioned bedroom, pool & viewing deck offer endless hours of enjoyment, Crocodile Bridge Gate Kruger Park 10 min, Mozambique & Swaziland just over an hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Buckler's Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckler's Africa Komatipoort, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing