We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elephant Walk Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2013

in August 2011 i stayed the weekend here.

ive never had a more amazing experience in my life! the bungalows share a fence with the national park and we were lucky enough to watch the animals come down to the river for a drink in the late afternoon.

by night we were lucky enough to hear the lions calling out to each other.

short drive from town

clean bungalows, friendly owners

saw the big 5 in 1 day !

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Candice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 78 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2010

Elephant Walk Retreat is all about self discovery, and looking after your own needs. The accommodation is clean, and ensuite. It consists of log cabins and bungalows, and does not pretend to be anything else. If you consider your own bathroom, excellent location, clean accommodation, comfortable bed, and amazing views luxurious... then it must be considered as this. Do not expect room service, or trendy restaurants on the premises, and if you want to go on a game drive then best you contact one of the companies that offer game drives from the Crocodile Bridge Gate which is 0 kms from the lodge (the entrance of the lodge, and entrance to the Kruger Park are mere meters away)... We went on Game Drives with Discoverkruger, and were blessed with amazing sightings, as well as excellent knowledge, and service from our guide.

I recommend this lodge to anyone who is sick and tired of being ripped off by the luxury lodges, and who wants to tailor a journey of self discovery that suits their own needs. All in you are able to have a most amazing adventure in Africa at a fraction of the cost. Komatipoort is a few minutes drive away with some lovely restaurants, and shops. Have a good old South African Braai (barbeque) on your deck overlooking the Kruger Park while watching animals walk past. Rent a car, and discover Kruger at your own pace as well as doing sightseeing in the area. As already mentioned... go on a drive with Discoverkruger, and learn about the wildlife, and the bush.

Other than having your room serviced daily there is no other real service to speak of. The owners live on the property, and they were happy to assist me in arranging some game drives, and giving directions to some of the shops, restaurants, and tourist spots. Reception is a rather dilapidated looking building, and we were attended to efficiently... so do not let the reception hut put you off, as the accommodation is really lovely!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mlondozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ennio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosMit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anneCITV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimyy1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Fiorenza A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Komatipoort
23.3 mi away
Pestana Kruger Lodge
Pestana Kruger Lodge
#1 of 1 in Malelane
407 reviews
5.8 mi away
Trees Too Guest Lodge
Trees Too Guest Lodge
#2 of 14 in Komatipoort
353 reviews
7.0 mi away
Orchards Farm Cottages
Orchards Farm Cottages
#3 of 13 in Komatipoort
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
#4 of 34 in Marloth Park
240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#68 of 176 in Kruger National Park
118 reviews
1.6 mi away
Buckler's Africa
Buckler's Africa
#2 of 13 in Komatipoort
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Walk Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Walk Retreat

Address: Crocodile Bridge entrance gate to the Kruger National Park | on the left side of the Crocodile Bridge gate entrance into the Kruger Park, on the river bank, Komatipoort, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Komatipoort
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Komatipoort
Price Range: $67 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elephant Walk Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Elephant Walk Retreat. We offer self-catering accommodation just outside the Crocodile Bridge Entrance gate to the Kruger National Park. Set on a tranquil estate at the Crocodile Bridge entrance to the Kruger National Park, no more than 50 meters from the gate, one could not hope to find a more suitable base from which to explore the wonders of the southern Kruger National park! A comfortable five-hour drive from Johannesburg, Elephant Walk is the perfect "stopover" on route to Mozambique, or as a destination. This superb little retreat caters for the discerning tourist and business traveler. Elephant Walk is a privately owned lodge, with an ambience of tranquility. Getaway from the hussle and bussle of every day city life ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Elephant Walk Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Walk Retreat Komatipoort, Africa - South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing