We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for exploring Kruger Park”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Trees Too Guest Lodge
Ranked #2 of 14 Komatipoort B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We had a great stay at Trees Too. Great location. Cool character. The owners and staff were lovely - they greeted us every day when we got home, just like we were houseguests. We spent nearly every evening relaxing at the outdoor restaurant by the pool enjoying a bottle of excellent red wine and their stories of giraffes or wildebeest invading their front porches or neighbors finding crocodiles in their swimming pools. They also organized some excellent day trips for us into Kruger Park and gave us tips on what to see on our trip to God's Window and Blyde River Canyon.

I feel I should say, though, that this was a very good 3 star hotel - great for young people and those willing to accept a little less luxury. Given the temperature, we were so happy to be there with (somewhat) functioning air conditioning and not in the camps in the park. The room and the bathroom were both a decent size. Our roof was the original thatched type, which smells a bit strange, but we got used to it after a day or two. The pool was also a bit green, but we still swam every day anyway. If you know you're the pickier type, I would probably choose a different place. We found it was all we needed and good value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fritz188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwu, Owner at Trees Too Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2012

Hi Christine! Thanks for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate this. We really enjoyed having you both here. It was great to see you making the most of our own facilities in our small lodge, using our bar, restaurant and pool and full day game drives and bush walks too!

January is, as you know, our hottest and wettest month with temperatures reaching 50 degrees so the pool is in constant use. We also had some exceptional storms and severe flooding in January this year so high usage and climatic conditions affected the chemical balance and keeping the pool perfect was a full time job! Sorry the pool wasn't as perfect as usual for those few days. This also explains the very slight smell of our traditionally thatched roof for that very short period.

We hope that you will come back again one day..consider winter (May-September)when the temperature is perfect (25 degrees during the day), no rain and clear blue skies!

Best wishes!

Sue and Martyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 353 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed over for a single night only on a business trip for the railways. Very nice spot to stay and relax. Very welcoming atmosphere and great, and very British, hosts!

They served me a superb dinner with a nice braai (bbq), that was enjoyed with the group!

Room Tip: we stayed in room 1&2 and were very happy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

I stayed at Trees Too with my wife and two children (6 and 9). We came from Maputo and wanted to visit Kruger over the weekend. Trees Too is ideally located for this purpose, being in between the border and the park.We liked the kind and personal service and the room was fine. Our children had a great time playing with the two playful young dogs that roam around the premises. We were looking forward to dinner because we had heard it was very good. Maybe the cook had a bad day but we did not like it that much. It was not bad but not something to come back for either.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael_thijssen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwu, Owner at Trees Too Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

Hi Michael! Thanks again for this feedback. we are delighted that you enjoyed our environment and service..and ever present dogs of course! We enjoyed having you all here. Thanks also for clarifying in our recent correspondence that the food wasn't actually "bad" that night and that indeed you didn't complain, but it just wasn't as great as you'd heard frequently. We do pride ourselves on the quality and variety of our food for a small, 8 roomed guest lodge, in a small, rural town, but I'm sorry that we didn't hit your high expectations that night.. We'll try to get it 100% for you next time!

Best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Great place to stay to make day-trips to the Kruger Park. Our first-time stay and definately book it again when in the area. Sue and Martyn are fantastic hosts and will do everything possible to assist you. A nice family atmosphere and cosy rooms. We stayed for the dinner which turned almost into a real party at the end chatting with other guests and the owners.

Room Tip: Stay for the dinner, it is a real nice experience and almost as eating at a friend's home
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TVCBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Great place to stay very close to the Crocodile Bridge entrance to the fabulous Kruger Park. We have stayed here 4 times and the welcome service and rooms are great. We will defiantly be back. We would always recommend staying outside the park then taking the short drive to Kruger National Park.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank vickyanddave62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Treestoo is a guest lodge just on the edge of Komatipoort and about 15 mins from the crocodile bridge entrance to the Kruger. whilst not exactly in the Kruger park, it's quite nice to be near a small town

The rooms are really cosy and pretty well equipped (everything worked!) sited around a lovely swimming pool surrounded by palm trees

Sue and Martyn , the owners, are very knowlegeable and nothing is too much trouble for them - they sorted out tickets to the park for us and also gave a couple of good steers on local excursions

The food is good and when we were there they had a barbecue ("Brai" in local parlance) where everyone sat together - nice to meet other people from all over the world.

while we were there,there was a brief local power cut but they just carried on with serving the food by lantern - it made the night. Treestoo is nice for 2 or 3 nights if you are going into the park or want to to do some other day trips, and want somewhere nice with a pool to crash afterwards where you can eat. Clientele is a mixture of couples and groups. We took teenage children and they loved the pool.

Komatipoort is nearby and is a smallish border town , bordering Mozambique. While we were there, we had a day trip over the border and also in to Swaziland.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sutttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Trees Too is a very nice place to stay. The location to the Crocodile Park Entrance is minutes away. The Rooms are nice and the owners make you feel quite at home. The refreshments are on a tab so you can get what ever you want when ever you want and everyone tries to make your stay as nice as possible. We had a wonderful experience and would recommend it to others

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Komatipoort
0.6 mi away
Meerkat Manor
Meerkat Manor
#1 of 14 in Komatipoort
162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stoep Cafe
Stoep Cafe
#3 of 14 in Komatipoort
85 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ecolux Boutique Hotel
Ecolux Boutique Hotel
#5 of 14 in Komatipoort
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Acasia Guest Lodge
Acasia Guest Lodge
#4 of 14 in Komatipoort
59 reviews
5.8 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#70 of 176 in Kruger National Park
120 reviews
0 mi away
Kruger View Chalets
Kruger View Chalets
#4 of 11 in Malelane
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trees Too Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trees Too Guest Lodge

Address: 11 Furley Street | Kruger National Park south, Komatipoort 1340, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Komatipoort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Komatipoort
Price Range: $49 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Trees Too Guest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small lodge, 8 km from the Crocodile Bridge Gate into the Kruger Park, 65 km from the Swaziland border and 5 km from the Mozambique border. Let us arrange game drives, elephant & horse back safaris, golf, fishing &more for you, but please pre book to avoid disappointment. We can also offer excellent advice for those preferring to self drive. We have 8 rooms, for 1/2/3 people and a couple of larger family rooms for 4 or 6 sharing. All rooms have WiFi, TVs, air con, bar fridge & en suite bathrooms. They are mainly set under thatch, around a pool in tropical gardens. Breakfast & dinner are available in our small licensed bar & restaurant from a lovely, varied menu of traditional South African & international cuisine. (Please reserve a table in advance). We do NOT have self catering facilities. Komatipoort is a small, quiet, safe town with a couple of restaurants & small shopping centres. We have domestic pets on site - 2 dogs & cats...They are friendly & not at all dangerous! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Trees Too Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trees Too Guest Lodge Komatipoort, Africa - South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing