We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Argentina”
Review of Club Tapiz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club Tapiz Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Maipu
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, CO
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Paradise in Argentina”
Reviewed November 3, 2006

My husband and I spent 2 wonderful nights at the
Club Tapiz. Our experience was fabulous. The rooms are great, very minimalist and classy. Our room faced out to the vineyards. The restaurant was amazing and the morning breakfast was a full fledged eggs, proscuitto, you name it! The staff above all was so kind and helpful. Paz, the front desk attendant, was wonderful and she booked our wine tasting tour, horsebackriding, and massages at the spa. Highly recommended was the wine tour at Ruca Malen! The lunch with wine pairings were probably one of the best we've had and we love our wines!

  • Liked — The winery was beautiful and staff was terrific
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Cessnasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    98
    30
    7
    3
See reviews for
42
242
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
washington dc
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2006

Recently spent three nights at Club Tapiz. It was immediately warm and friendly when we were met by the hotel hostess, Guadalupe. All hotel amenities were very nice. Our room consisted of two twin beds, satellite television, and in-room safe. The fixtures in the room were all modern. The main sitting area was above a wine cellar. It was in this sitting area that they had the nightly wine tasting. The restaurant was wonderful. Everything on the menu was plentiful and exceptional. The spa services were very good for the prices. The spa has two therapy rooms, a relaxation room, one treadmill, and a hot tub. From the hot tub you get a breathtaking view of the mountains. The pool looked very clean and well kept but the weather was too cold to give it a try. The location seemed well secured with a guard on duty. There were nightly turn downs with homemade chocolate. Breakfast and dinner in the restaurant each day were FANTASTIC!! The dinner menu had a good variety and stayed the same each night. We would have had to stay an extra week in order to try everything. I would highly recommend Club Tapiz for either relaxation or as the central point for touring Mendoza.

  • Liked — value for the money paid
  • Disliked — septic tank system that smelled at certain times of the day
  • Tips/Secrets — reserve early because there are only seven rooms
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank pedidoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2006

I almost hesitate to write a review of Club Tapiz because it will be so laudatory as to seem contrived, but there truly is a magic to the place that seeps into you as surely as the wine has seeped into the casks in the cellar. The place seems almost out of time. The ambience is of a country lodge from decades past -- but the food and the service are as good as any you will find anywhere today. And don't even get me started on the wine, which is beyond superb.

I can think of few places where I have felt more relaxed and at ease than reading a good book, sitting in one of the big leather chairs in the living room of Club Tapiz, with a glass off wine beside me and the fire crackling away.

Although we rented a car, other guests found it simple to get around either through taxis or hired cars (remises). Club Tapiz is located in the heart of the wine growing area, so trips to the bodegas take only minutes (try Ruca Malen for lunch). The city of Mendoza is perhaps 15 minutes away by car. The staff could not possibly be more helpful in calling cars, arranging visits to wineries, or whatever you may need to facilitate your stay.

I have stayed in hotels all over the world, but I can honestly say that Club Tapiz is my favorite.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank dcbowendc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle/London/Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2006

My husband and I recently stayed in Club Tapiz for 4 nights. We booked our accomodations through Grapevine wine tours (also highly recommended). The staff was friendly and helpful from the moment of our arrival. We´d arrived to Mendoza by overnight bus, and so showed up at Club Tapiz at around 10 AM- well before check-in time. However this was not a problem at all, and our room was ready for us at this time. The staff spoke perfect English and were all on hand to help us make reservations, wine touring plans etc. As other reviews have mentioned, there was a free wine tasting every evening at 8 PM. This gave us the opportunity to sit and chat with other guests. We even ended up having dinner with fellow guests--at the delicious restaurant on-site of course. Though we always intended to go into town (about a 15 peso cab ride) and have dinner, the food at Tapiz was so good that we never felt the need to leave. I should also mention that the decor at Tapiz is perfect. You feel as though you are in a much nicer version of your own home. It is very comfortable and warm, and every detail is attended to, from the coffeetable books to the comfortable couches and chairs. You can also borrow bikes and ride through the vineyards. Tapiz has thought of everything.

  • Liked — tranquility and overall environment
  • Disliked — nothing else within walking distance
  • Tips/Secrets — book well in advance--there are only 7 rooms
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank empressa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2006

My wife and I had heard great things about this bodega, but it far and away exceeded our expectations. From the moment you check-in, you feel as though the whole staff is there to wait on you. The concierge, Ursula, met with you very early on to take you on a tour of the bodega and to help you plan your stay - visits to local vineyards and farms. Included with the stay is a tour of their vineyard - we were picked up by private automobile, driven the ten minutes to the vineyard, and were then met by horse and carraige for a personal tour of the vineyard and wine tasting. Each night at Tapiz, they have a wine tasting in their fireplace room - it is a fantastic setting to sample wine, cheeses, and bread and get to know the other guests staying with you. We wanted to try everything on the menu, and the food was so good, there was no need to leave for dinner. The breakfast was outstanding - from made to order eggs and meats to fresh fruits. Each night, there is an extra personal touch with a bottle of water and a small dessert left on your pillow. We were originally scheduled for 3 nights, but we loved it so much, we cancelled our reservation at the Park Hyatt Mendoza to stay longer. This is a place my wife and I are already excitedly talking about revisiting.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MarmotGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 23, 2006

My first trip to a winery/vineyard region had exceeded most expectations starting at Club Tapiz. This was the perfect accomadation that fit mine and 3 other friends desires. The staff was super friendly, spoke great English, and accomadated all of our wants. Though we were only staying one night (the night before our wine tours) we were permitted to check in during the late morning so we could enjoy all the lodge had to offer. The restaurant was a fine dinning experience, the spa services were abundant and the lodge had the most calming and serene sense among it. There were some small projects going on at the time, however it did not disrupt the flow of our stay. I personally enjoyed the deck seating on top of the restaurant overlooking the vineyards and sunset. The wine tasting in the evening was a nice way to mingle with the other guests (though the stay was pretty quite due to the down season) which made it that much more personal. After check out the staff was generous enough to keep our belongings in a safe place during the day while we were out on our 4 vineyard wine tour. Kudoos to Club Tapiz for making my first (defintely not my last) wine tasting trip a memorable one.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 27, 2006

March, 2006
We just got back from a perfect stay at Club Tapiz in Mendoza wine country in Argentina. The place was so homey and authentic right down to the dog and cat greeting us when we arrived. Ursula and Fredrico were the perfect hosts and were so helpful since our Spanish is non-existant. I had a couple nice spa treatments and we loved the food and the pre-dinner wine tastings accompanied by great conversation and terrific people. The surrounding vineyards gave us a taste of the area like we never would have had if we stayed right in Mendoza proper. Our drive into the mountains to the boarder of Chili was magical. We didn't want to leave. One of my fondest memories will be bicyling through Tapiz's vineyards in the sunshine on our first day - it was awesome. I've been to many places around the world and am in the hotel business. This is a true winner.

Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maipu
6.1 mi away
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 4 in Lujan de Cuyo
542 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lares de Chacras
Lares de Chacras
#2 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
719 reviews
3.6 mi away
Finca Adalgisa Wine Hotel, Vineyard & Winery
Finca Adalgisa Wine Hotel, Viney...
#3 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Esplendor Mendoza
Esplendor Mendoza
#1 of 5 in Maipu
809 reviews
3.6 mi away
Casa Glebinias
Casa Glebinias
#1 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
806 reviews
8.2 mi away
Park Hyatt Mendoza
Park Hyatt Mendoza
#7 of 84 in Mendoza
2,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Tapiz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Tapiz Hotel

Property: Club Tapiz Hotel
Address: Ruta 60 km 2.5, Maipu 5517, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Maipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Maipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Tapiz Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Tapiz is located in an estate built in 1890 surrounded by 14 hectares of vineyards and olive trees with an enthralling view of the Andes Range. The house was restored preserving it's structure of Renaissance-style Villa. It features only 7 exclusive, fully equipped rooms. Terruno restaurant invites guests to relax and taste exquisite dishes made with products from its organic vegetable garden. Club Tapiz was declared Historical, Architectural and Tourist Heritage of the Region. In 2008, Club Tapiz was distinguished as the Best Accommodation of Mendoza by the Great Wine Capitals. In 2009, Club Tapiz was chosen as best Accommodation in a Winery by Cuisine & Vins. Located a few yards away, and also sorrounded by vineyards, Casa Zolo, the residence that once belonged and was the Governors House, has 4 rooms with private bathroom, air conditioning, it's own swimming pool and playroom, are in more private setting, ideal to hire complete with friends or family. Hotel rate includes breakfast, SPA access, Wine tasting every evening at 8 p.M., WI FI internet, and guided visits to Tapiz Winery and Tapiz Olive Oil Factory. Guests can prune, harvest and participate in the vineyard activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Club Tapiz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Tapiz Hotel Maipu
Tapiz Hotel Mendoza
Club Tapiz Hotel Mendoza, Argentina - Maipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing