We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, very personal”
Review of Club Tapiz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Club Tapiz Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Maipu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2009

We spent 4 nights there and they hotel was very accommodating. We traveled with our young son and though a vineyard / hotel really caters to baby boomers and travelers without kids, there was plenty to keep our son entertained. Nightly there is a wine tasting, included with your stay. Breakfast is served at the restaurant or at Casa Zolo (only 4 rooms in the house). There is a business center with free internet. The staff was lovely and the grounds well kept. Two swimming pools, spa and hot tub for guests. Winery tour. Llamas and a host of friendly dogs. Excellent stay, relaxing and accessible from Mendoza.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank satellite_answr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

195 - 201 of 396 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2009

Absolutely loved the place. Try to go to a place like this in California, it'll be at least twice the price. The staff, especially in the evening was great - very friendly and helpful. We were there in May, so it wasn't peak season, which I think was great. The setting is fantastic, from the second floor above the restaurant you can watch the sun rise and set, see the surrounding vineyards and the Andes mountains in the background. They have bicycles available at no cost (mountainbikes that are not in the best shape, but good enough to get around). The wine tastings at 8pm are fun and very informal, met some of the other guests - one nice thing is that Zolo, the Club Tapiz label is available in almost every store in the US, it's kinda cool to come back and be able to buy it everywhere for $11, and it's actually a very good inexpensive wine.
The spa was great too, make sure to let them know ahead of time that you want to use the hot tub so they can actually get it hot.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ds79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2009

We wanted to visit the Mendoza wine valley and booked a tour "A Taste of Argentina" with Mendoza Holiday agency. Club Tapiz is the wine lodge we were booked. It is located in the heart of the valley surrounded by grape vineyards and olive groves. The lodge has only 7 booked rooms, a common area, and a small restaurant. All the rooms open into a common flower filled courtyard with wild parakeets in the courtyard trees. The rooms were comfortable, clean, and well kept. The bathroom was large with full size tub and shower. Safe and hairdryer is provided as well. The staff were absolutely wonderful and seemed to really liked being there. Most staff speak both Spanish and English. Continental breakfast is provided with coffee/tea home baked breads, cereals, jams, ham and cheese, and fruits. You can also order a hot breakfast if you prefer. You can get lunch and dinner at the small restaurant as well. The restaurant food was surprisingly good for such a small place. Each evening at 8:00 pm the lodge provided an opportunity to taste Tapiz wines and meet other hotel guests. In the back garden there is a small pool surrounded by the vineyard, rose gardens, and 100+ year old olive trees. The Andes mountains are visible in the distance. This is a wonderful place to stay if you are interested in visiting the wineries and lodges of Mendoza. It is a short drive to the city but as we booked our tour with an agency they took care of all the transportation. You will need a car or taxi if you want to visit Mendoza city. While we were there my partner needed to make a long distance conference call to Japan. The office staff was more than helpful in setting up that call and charging it to our room. Side note, all electrical outlets are 220V and you need a converter if you have 110V electronics. So, all in all, you need to know exactly what you want to get from this visit. Consider this is a wine lodge located outdide the city. If you want posh hotel accomodations surrounded by night life and restaurants, this place is not for you. It you want a relaxing, quiet place to be between visits to surrounding vineyards and wineries, this is a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2Americanexpats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2009

We stayed here for four nights in April. The staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. Juliana and Pam were fantastic, recommending vineyards to visit and organising cars to take us around (which worked out cheaper than many of the high end group wine tours), recommended great restaurants in Mendoza and organised taxis and whatever else we needed. The evening wine tastings were very informative and a good way to meet other guests. Both girls were very knowledgeable about wine and their sense of fun and enthusiasm was infectious.
The pool is great if the weather is warm enough. Food in the restaurant not brilliant, but the staff very nice. Whilst Club Tapiz has bicycles you can borrow, is not a great area to cycle in as the roads are busy, with large lorries ruling the road. We did the gourmet tour suggested in the Lonely Planet Guide but rather wish we hadn't bothered.
I would highly recommend Club Tapiz. We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missbloggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2009

We stayed in Club Tapiz for four nights during our Honeymoon and we just loved it. The hotel is full of character. The rooms are nicely decorated and arranged around a garden-courtyard. It was lovely to sit outside and read there in the evenings. There is also a beautifully decorated sitting room. We really enjoyed the complementary wine tastings that took place there each evening.
The food in the restaruant was lovely. We had a lovely breakfast there each morning and ate lunch there on two occasions. Their own wines were good too.
The pool area is nice though they could probably do with a few more sun loungers.
We found the staff very pleasant and helpful. I had a massage in the spa one evening and it was just fantastic!
We would also recommend going to 'Almacen del Sur' for lunch one day. We really enjoyed their tasting menu. The food was exquisite.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank troyeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2009

A fantastic boutique hotel with rooms opening onto a garden filled with trees and birds an amazing restaurant and wonderful wine tasting each evening for the guests not to mention a quiet, comfortable garden complete with loungers and a pool and with just 7 rooms its a quiet retreat. The only but ...and its not really a but ...is the fact that because of its wonderful location if you want to eat elsewhere or in town you'll need a taxi - that's it our only complaint. Club Tapiz was the nicest place we stayed in Argentina

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItchyFeetIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2008

Once we arrived at the hotel we were extremely excited to stay at such a beautiful property... but unfortunately the excitement continually declined from there. The front desk staff at Club Tapiz attempted to be helpful, but fell short on nearly every occasion.
The frustrating experiences with the staff varied from having to follow up with 3 different staff members over a 2-day period to determine if a wine tour had been booked, and if so what time we were being picked up; to riding the complimentary bicycles (with a chain that fell off and the other with a flat tire) twice as far as we were told to the "only open bistro on a Sunday" to find out it too was closed on Sundays; to a no-show from a driver for a dinner reservation and couldn't find anyone in the front office for 45 minutes to find out what had happened. I wish that this was all that went wrong... but feel that for this review you will get the idea. We learned that management of either the hotel or the front office changed about 5 months ago and they have not figured out how to run the front office effectively ever since the change.
The restaurant's food was decent, and the service in the restaurant was great. Because of mishaps with the hotel staff we ended up having to eat at the hotel more often than we would have liked... and the menu is too limited if you plan on eating there on several occasions. Breakfast selection is good.
If you book rooms 4 - 7, there is frosted glass on the windows to provide more privacy. Walls are very thin and water was luke warm for all showers.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank sdtravel_jm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maipu
2.7 mi away
Esplendor Mendoza
Esplendor Mendoza
#1 of 5 in Maipu
844 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lares de Chacras
Lares de Chacras
#2 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
758 reviews
3.6 mi away
Casa Glebinias
Casa Glebinias
#1 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
#2 of 4 in Lujan de Cuyo
570 reviews
9.6 mi away
Cavas Wine Lodge
Cavas Wine Lodge
#1 of 4 in Lujan de Cuyo
758 reviews
6.2 mi away
TikayKilla Lodge & Wines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Tapiz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Tapiz Hotel

Address: Ruta 60 km 2.5, Maipu 5517, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Maipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Maipu
Price Range: $193 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Tapiz Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Tapiz is located in an estate built in 1890 surrounded by 14 hectares of vineyards and olive trees with an enthralling view of the Andes Range. The house was restored preserving it's structure of Renaissance-style Villa. It features only 7 exclusive, fully equipped rooms. Terruno restaurant invites guests to relax and taste exquisite dishes made with products from its organic vegetable garden. Club Tapiz was declared Historical, Architectural and Tourist Heritage of the Region. In 2008, Club Tapiz was distinguished as the Best Accommodation of Mendoza by the Great Wine Capitals. In 2009, Club Tapiz was chosen as best Accommodation in a Winery by Cuisine & Vins. Located a few yards away, and also sorrounded by vineyards, Casa Zolo, the residence that once belonged and was the Governors House, has 4 rooms with private bathroom, air conditioning, it's own swimming pool and playroom, are in more private setting, ideal to hire complete with friends or family. Hotel rate includes breakfast, SPA access, Wine tasting every evening at 8 p.M., WI FI internet, and guided visits to Tapiz Winery and Tapiz Olive Oil Factory. Guests can prune, harvest and participate in the vineyard activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Club Tapiz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Tapiz Hotel Maipu
Tapiz Hotel Mendoza
Club Tapiz Hotel Mendoza, Argentina - Maipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing