We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Club Tapiz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Club Tapiz Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Maipu
Certificate of Excellence
Harrisburg, PA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

First, noone met us at the airport as we had been told would happen, so we went in a cab to Club Tapiz after waiting 45 minutes at the airport.
The first day the hotel set us up for a beautiful lunch at a vineyard, and vineyard tours at 3 vineyards, which went very well although there really wasn't any tour. A driver was summoned that spoke no English, although he was very nice and did a good job (we speak a little Spanish). We found out later that an English-speaking driver was available and I'm sure that would have enhanced our trip. On the second day we went to Uco Valley which was fabulous in scenery and spectacular vineyards. (I would stay in Uco if we ever return to Mendoza).
As to the hotel, we were given a room in Casa Zolo, "the main house located a few yards from the Club". It was definately not as nice as Club Tapiz. When I said that I thought we had a room at the Club we were told "you booked on Expedia, so you get whatever is available". We were told we could have the Club room for one night and move, and we should have done that because we were very unhappy with Casa Zolo. Although it was historic - it was also old, not clean, smelly bathroom, and a walk from the Club Tapiz main hotel.
Dinner was fine, in a very nice setting, although there was dirt in our mushroom risotto.
Breakfast was very good. There was a "wine tasting" every night which consisted of drinking 2 Club Tapiz wines. It was outside with other guests and was nice.

Room Tip: Be sure you are in Club Tapiz, not Casa Zolo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SABTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    98
    30
    7
    3
See reviews for
42
240
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We had reserved a spot at another posada in Maipu through Expedia, and were told upon arrival that they had never heard of us nor did they have room for us. Stopping at Club Tapiz for lunch to discuss other accommodations, we were told that they had room for us, and what a find! We stayed in the Casa Zolo, an 1890's house at the back of the property that had been the country house of a local government official. All of the charm of an elegant estancia was still intact, surrounded by grapevines and stunning views of the Andes to the west. There were free wine tastings in the evenings, helpful excursion coordinators, and perhaps some of the finest food that we experienced during our 2-week journey throughout Argentina. Club Tapiz has the feel of a small country estate with the added bonus of very helpful staff and outstanding cuisine.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank senoradiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleorton
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

The classic shabby chic kind of old place, full of history, decrepit but getting away with it due to the lovely location, great staff, nice food and ancient buildings. You will almost certainly enjoy the peaceful gardens, birdsong, sunbathing next to the vines, sampling wine with other guests on the evenings and relaxing here. The dinner was very good in the restaurant and although breakfast was small it was fine before heading out to explore for the day. I just can't help feeling that it could be much nicer with a little investment, loving care and maintenance. A bit too shabby in places, with peeling paint, a dirty looking pool, a very poorly equipped spa, sun loungers that fall apart, one old battered parasol to fight over next to the pool, and in our room the bathroom was more like a student house with cracked tiles and a shower head that was useless. And after saying all of that I give Club Tapiz 4 stars! This shows how the rest of the place makes up for the deficiencies....but how much nicer this place could be!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Finney70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shalimar, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Stayed here recently for 3 nights and had a lovely time. The staff, ambiance, accommodations and
services make you feel like you are at someone's private hacienda. Carolina, Sebastian and Alejandro were wonderful host. They are available and ready to help you make the best of your
visit to the wine region. Each one of them so knowledgeable in their area of expertise.
Enjoyed coming back each day after touring the wineries to relax on one of the many terraces and
listen to birds or simply admire the beautiful grounds. The wine tasting sessions at 7 pm were so
informal but so informative and fun to attend. We came home with a new favorite wine, Black Tears. If you have a Costco, try it!
Terruno, the restaurant on the premises, has a wonderful menu. One can choose from the
5 course or 2 course meal each evening. I had the best cabrito at this location! Yum!
This restaurant is staffed by the first culinary cooking school in the region.
Don't think twice and book a room here for at least 3 nights. Wish I would have built into my travel plans one day to just relax here.

Room Tip: We had room 7 on the corner. They even have a pillow menu.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ana b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Very cool, old, original hotel. The building is very interesting. The staff was friendly and helpful. Loved the pillow bar. We got massages that were alright, and definitely worth what you pay. The nightly free wine tasting was nice and we liked most of their wine. When we mentioned we were on our honeymoon, they delivered a bottle of champagne and chocolates to our room. A very nice touch. The pool is fairly small but deep and cold so very refreshing. We wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lacyknov2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

a real place, a lived in and used and still active home and bodega. Very helpful staff, wonderful home grown organic food and wine, a treat. The main Tapiz vineyard is a way away but also worth visiting. You will find that Llamas are still useful and the mountains complete the view.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyGwilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Codicote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I am amazed to see such good reports of this place on trip advisor. I was looking forward to coming here but was so disappointed. The staff are friendly enough and the area has a quaint prettiness. However the rooms are extremely basic. No windows apart from the door and if you open the curtain you have no privacy. Sockets are poor and adapters fall out. A bathroom with bidet, shower and toilet but no wash basin, socket or mirror. In the room the wash basin, one socket completely non private. Unless u are travelling with a partner, one of you would have to go to the spa to give the other one privacy. In the spa...an out of order jacuzzi, unfilled bottles of toiletries, a shower out of order. The pool looked particularly uninviting. Brown stained walls, plastic and leaves in the water. I sent a pr of jeans to the laundry. They came back whist we were out and were shoved in my friends case. They needed re pressing. Breakfast was nice but we had to ask for butter, milk and yogurts as they had not filled up the containers. Unless you book early for dinner you get pushed upstairs in solitary confinement and have to climb a very steep spiral staircase to get there. The wine tasting before dinner was pleasant to get to know the other guests, but in no way informative. You need a car here to get anywhere. It cost us 300 pesos to get to a winery with a view of the Andes and Mendoza is a good twenty mins drive away. I couldn't wait to leave this place and was very disappointed. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool. At least you get some light
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anenome5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maipu
6.1 mi away
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
#2 of 4 in Lujan de Cuyo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lares de Chacras
Lares de Chacras
#3 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
9.6 mi away
Cavas Wine Lodge
Cavas Wine Lodge
#1 of 4 in Lujan de Cuyo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Posada El Encuentro
Posada El Encuentro
#4 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
3.6 mi away
Casa Glebinias
Casa Glebinias
#1 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
8.2 mi away
Park Hyatt Mendoza
Park Hyatt Mendoza
#7 of 84 in Mendoza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Tapiz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Tapiz Hotel

Property: Club Tapiz Hotel
Address: Ruta 60 km 2.5, Maipu 5517, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Maipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Maipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Tapiz Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Tapiz is located in an estate built in 1890 surrounded by 14 hectares of vineyards and olive trees with an enthralling view of the Andes Range. The house was restored preserving it's structure of Renaissance-style Villa. It features only 7 exclusive, fully equipped rooms. Terruno restaurant invites guests to relax and taste exquisite dishes made with products from its organic vegetable garden. Club Tapiz was declared Historical, Architectural and Tourist Heritage of the Region. In 2008, Club Tapiz was distinguished as the Best Accommodation of Mendoza by the Great Wine Capitals. In 2009, Club Tapiz was chosen as best Accommodation in a Winery by Cuisine & Vins. Located a few yards away, and also sorrounded by vineyards, Casa Zolo, the residence that once belonged and was the Governors House, has 4 rooms with private bathroom, air conditioning, it's own swimming pool and playroom, are in more private setting, ideal to hire complete with friends or family. Hotel rate includes breakfast, SPA access, Wine tasting every evening at 8 p.M., WI FI internet, and guided visits to Tapiz Winery and Tapiz Olive Oil Factory. Guests can prune, harvest and participate in the vineyard activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Club Tapiz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Tapiz Hotel Maipu
Tapiz Hotel Mendoza
Club Tapiz Hotel Mendoza, Argentina - Maipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing