We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointingly poor!”
Review of Club Tapiz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Club Tapiz Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Maipu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I am amazed to see such good reports of this place on trip advisor. I was looking forward to coming here but was so disappointed. The staff are friendly enough and the area has a quaint prettiness. However the rooms are extremely basic. No windows apart from the door and if you open the curtain you have no privacy. Sockets are poor and adapters fall out. A bathroom with bidet, shower and toilet but no wash basin, socket or mirror. In the room the wash basin, one socket completely non private. Unless u are travelling with a partner, one of you would have to go to the spa to give the other one privacy. In the spa...an out of order jacuzzi, unfilled bottles of toiletries, a shower out of order. The pool looked particularly uninviting. Brown stained walls, plastic and leaves in the water. I sent a pr of jeans to the laundry. They came back whist we were out and were shoved in my friends case. They needed re pressing. Breakfast was nice but we had to ask for butter, milk and yogurts as they had not filled up the containers. Unless you book early for dinner you get pushed upstairs in solitary confinement and have to climb a very steep spiral staircase to get there. The wine tasting before dinner was pleasant to get to know the other guests, but in no way informative. You need a car here to get anywhere. It cost us 300 pesos to get to a winery with a view of the Andes and Mendoza is a good twenty mins drive away. I couldn't wait to leave this place and was very disappointed. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool. At least you get some light
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anenome5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (397)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 397 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
New York
12
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Club Tapiz really is a gem. Monica, Gabriella and Alejandro are all very helpful and make your stay extremely comfortable and homey. My friend and I stood in Casa Zolo and it was lovely. There was a free bottle of wine put out for us daily and they even lit a fire one night when it was cold and rainy. There is free wine tasting every night and it was a great way to meet people and discuss things to do while in Mendoza and even abroad. The restaurant is magnificent and set a precedent for us -- great Argentinean food, extremely fresh and for reasonable prices. If I had one complaint it was that the showers are small; everything else is great. A bit far from the city, but if you are looking for an escape in the middle of vineyards with well kept grounds and a fabulous view of the Andes mountains, this is the place to come!!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I was supposed to stay at Club Tapiz 2 nights last October.

I had booked through booking.com. Unfortunately (or maybe not, after all!) our flight was cancelled because of a strike of Aerolineas Argentinas, and no flights were available before 2 days, which forced us to cancel.

While still at the airport figuring out the situation with the airline company, i took the time to call the hotel and explain the situation. The person on the phone said i needed to cancel on booking.com and ask them not to charge the no show fee for the 1st night.

I have immediately followed up with an email to the hotel (and nobody replied!), and cancelled with booking as I was told to.
Then, I was surprised to receive an email from booking saying that the hotel refused not to charge the no show fee, whatever the circumstances, which the hotel confirmed, eventually.

The very poor communication from the hotel and contradictory information given really let me down. It's not only about the charge (they were entiltled to it after all, I was just expecting some "commercial" gesture given the exceptional situation), but more about how it was handled.

Also, before this incident, i had sent an email to the hotel to get suggestions for excusions, and never received any!

As a conclusion, given the Customer service I got, without even staying at the hotel, I wouldn't recommend to book with them. I had 2 other options in my shortlist (both didn't include a no show fee btw) and picked Club Tapiz based on its good reviews here. I thought it was important to warn future travellers like me.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank KenCasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This place is a pleasure to stay in. Friendly staff, cute accommodation, tasty food and a super relaxing atmosphere. Just to top it off fantastic wine!

The staff helped us with our itinerary during our stay, and went out of there way to help us with everything we needed

A definite must do in Mendoza,

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Leon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

My husband and I spent one night in downtown Mendoza, and two nights at Club Tapiz. We wish we would have stayed for all three nights! Knowledgable and friendly staff, complimentary wine tastings each night, and a fantastic restaurant which uses local and organic ingredients. They also provide bikes if you wanted to check out nearby wineries, which we did as well. The whole property is a really peaceful setting and offers great views of the Andes. Highly recommend staying here as opposed to in the city.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Beautiful grounds with flowers all over, a nice small swimming pool and lots of wine for you to choose. We stayed in one of the rooms of the main building which was conveniently close to the great restaurant, wine tastings and parking. All of the staff was friendly and helpful, Alejandro, Monica, Gabriela. The wine tastings and visit to the Tapiz vineyard were very educational and fun. The small town of Maipu (about 2 miles) is cute and safe (unlike Mendoza city).

Room Tip: Some people complained about the birds including parrots) that woke them up very early in the morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Very nice place to stay for a week end to rest. Wine tasting and having at least on dinner at the restaurant is a must . Quiet and nice rooms.
Difficult choice : to go for a wine tour or do nothing , just looking at the parrots building their nests in the big cedar tree in the middle of the patio while drinking a glass of wine at the end of the day.What a difficult life

Room Tip: It is worth to rent a car if you want to move to Mendoza city or other places as the hotel is far fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yves B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maipu
2.7 mi away
Esplendor Mendoza
Esplendor Mendoza
#1 of 5 in Maipu
844 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lares de Chacras
Lares de Chacras
#2 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
759 reviews
3.6 mi away
Casa Glebinias
Casa Glebinias
#1 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
#2 of 4 in Lujan de Cuyo
570 reviews
9.6 mi away
Cavas Wine Lodge
Cavas Wine Lodge
#1 of 4 in Lujan de Cuyo
759 reviews
6.2 mi away
TikayKilla Lodge & Wines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Tapiz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Tapiz Hotel

Address: Ruta 60 km 2.5, Maipu 5517, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Maipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Maipu
Price Range: $193 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Tapiz Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Tapiz is located in an estate built in 1890 surrounded by 14 hectares of vineyards and olive trees with an enthralling view of the Andes Range. The house was restored preserving it's structure of Renaissance-style Villa. It features only 7 exclusive, fully equipped rooms. Terruno restaurant invites guests to relax and taste exquisite dishes made with products from its organic vegetable garden. Club Tapiz was declared Historical, Architectural and Tourist Heritage of the Region. In 2008, Club Tapiz was distinguished as the Best Accommodation of Mendoza by the Great Wine Capitals. In 2009, Club Tapiz was chosen as best Accommodation in a Winery by Cuisine & Vins. Located a few yards away, and also sorrounded by vineyards, Casa Zolo, the residence that once belonged and was the Governors House, has 4 rooms with private bathroom, air conditioning, it's own swimming pool and playroom, are in more private setting, ideal to hire complete with friends or family. Hotel rate includes breakfast, SPA access, Wine tasting every evening at 8 p.M., WI FI internet, and guided visits to Tapiz Winery and Tapiz Olive Oil Factory. Guests can prune, harvest and participate in the vineyard activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Club Tapiz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Tapiz Hotel Maipu
Tapiz Hotel Mendoza
Club Tapiz Hotel Mendoza, Argentina - Maipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing