We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE place to stay when visiting Mendoza!”
Review of Club Tapiz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Club Tapiz Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Maipu
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“THE place to stay when visiting Mendoza!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We decided to take a trip to Mendoza for the long weekend, and stumbled upon Club Tapiz online. We got the 3 nights for 2 deal that they offer from May to August, and were absolutely thrilled! The hotel is like a small estancia 20 minutes away from Mendoza around a 75-130 peso cab ride. It has a wonderful feel to it and combines the experience of staying in a lux hotel and staying at a vineyard away from the city. We visited the city of Mendoza and fully realized after out day tour that we made the right choice in staying outside of town. The rooms are very clean, with cable television, wifi, safe, big closet, comfortable bed and very clean linens. The hotel has a wonderful restaurant with a resident chef. The menu has everything you would need but not too much choice that you are lost. They also have a wonderful wine list. We ate there once for lunch and twice for dinner and had amazing meals each time. The waiters who work there are very friendly and know a lot about the region and the Tapiz vineyard. Every night before dinner there is a wine tasting in the living room by the fire, which is wonderful because you often want to carry on drinking the same wine for dinner and know exactly what to order. The staff are extremely friendly and got very excited when we told them about our interest in going to the vineyards for the day, and came up with several amazing options. We ended up hiring a driver for the entire day (all through the hotel) who took us to the Tapiz vineyard 15 minutes a way from the hotel. You are entitled as a guest to a free tour and visit to the vineyard and it is SO SO worth it. They know you are hotel guest so you get a full hour and a half tour of the entire vineyard (we rode a horse carriage around the grounds) and learn everything about the wines, tasting them as you go along. Juan was so kind and was clearly passionate about his work at Tapiz. You get more attention than you would at any other wine tour (we were the only ones!) The vineyard does not have the same commercial and touristy feel as many of the other vineyards do. We then had lunch at another near by vineyard called Belasco de Baquedeano which was also recommended by Tapiz and was flawless too. We had massages at the hotel in the spa and saunas every evening. The hotel also organized a day at the mountains for us after our request and we came back from an evening in the Mendoza city with everything booked and organzied. They are true professionals. Complimentary breakfast was also amazing and you could request eggs however you liked them. We are young students living and studying in Buenos Aires and we were treated so well that I would recommend this spot to any young couple who want to be in the countryside but in a personal and welcoming hotel. 100% would come back again and would recommend to everyone who doesn't want to spend a fortune on something just as good as Tapiz.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Camilla d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    98
    30
    7
    3
See reviews for
42
240
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Loved everything about this place: the ambiance, the aesthetics, the staff who are extremely professional, welcoming and totally focused on providing a very personalised service for each guest - nothing is too much trouble: from booking a trip, organising informal wine-tastings to even calling a doctor when you do not feel well. The Bodega feels old and established and the decor reflects this - if you want modern minimalist then this is not for you - I found it very relaxing. Many thanks to the staff who were outstanding, particularly Daniela and Alejandro. I look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoledadMcNally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The best thing about our stay at Club Tapiz was the food and the winery tour. The evening dinner -- absolutely devine. Breakfast was good, plentiful and customized to your liking. The rooms are comfortable but very basic. Our bathroom was not as clean as I would have hoped. The common area furnishings are in need of replacing as the sofas are worn and tattered. The best thing is the quiet and wonderful weather. Birds chirping -- no city noise. Don't ask for water unnecessarily as it will cost -- not much, but not free and they don't tell you ahead of time -- just shows up on your bill. Sending clothes to be laundered - a mistake. Returned wrinkled and smelling somewhat stale. If you want a basic "get away", this will work. The winery tour is certainly a worthwhile event.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main area are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Club Tapiz was an exceptional experience! The hotel is stunning, rooms are small yet clean and full of character. Alejandro welcomed us and was exceptionally helpful with booking tours and giving recomendations for restaurants. The hotel restaurant was lovely and the food was good. They have two wonderful dogs that we really enjoyed. Overall it was a wonderful retreat and great experience.

I would say the only down side is Claudia. She is the women who works in the mornings and she was quite rude and very unhelpful when we asked her to book a winery tour and asked for recomendations. It's unfortunate that such an unpleasant woman is working at such a wonderful place.

If you can avoid Claudia you will have a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorginaGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
1 review
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I had never been on a winery tour, but was interested in Mendoza. My wife surprised me with a trip to Mendoza where we stayed at Club Tapiz. The staff was gracious, polite, and helpful. The rooms were clean and the in house restaurant superb. The visit to the Tapiz winery was a great experience and I would recommend Club Tapiz to anyone who wants a wonderful experience far away from home.

Room Tip: There are not that many rooms in this property but ours was wonderful. Cannot speak to the others bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison Heights, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2013

This is a beautiful property that is well maintained and such a wonderful experience. We stayed in Casa Zolo. Waking up to birds chirping, having your breakfast (included) on the wrap around porch or by the pool was divine! Or sitting by the fire reading a book, listening to music is just as good if you go during a time of year when the weather doesn't permit staying outside. The restaurant was a short walk from Casa Zolo and the food was INCREDIBLE! Make sure you incorporate the nightly wine tastings into your schedule as you won't want to miss the heavenly wines produced at this vineyard. Great location to take a bike ride up and down the road to visit the other neighboring vineyards.

Room Tip: Fresh squeezed orange juice and made to order omelets on the weekends. During the week, standard Ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
267 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I ended up here by default over the Easter week as there wasn't a single room left in Mendoza. What a delightful twist of fate it turned out to be. When I first arrived I wasn't so sure why it would carry 4 stars, but it soon became apparent that it's because of the discreet service and attention to detail. The buildings are in need of some renovation, and so are the interiors of the rooms (or at least the one I had - 4), but Alejandro and Monica are true professionals. Within minutes everyone knew me by name and nothing was too much trouble. I had a massage at the spa and the sauna and Swedish shower are nice too. It's very relaxing to sit out at the pool or in the other common areas, but wifi doesn't work at the pool or spa area, which is a pity as I needed to make onward bookings and had to sit inside with my laptop to do that. But that's really my only complaint. The restaurant is excellent, the service at the hotel splendid and the location very good. There was even a free music concert on the afternoon I arrived, with free wine as well. Very nice.

Room Tip: One of the rooms opens on to the pool side of the building. Either room 1, 2 or 3. Not sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarveyCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maipu
6.1 mi away
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
#2 of 4 in Lujan de Cuyo
531 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lares de Chacras
Lares de Chacras
#2 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
710 reviews
9.6 mi away
Cavas Wine Lodge
Cavas Wine Lodge
#1 of 4 in Lujan de Cuyo
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Posada El Encuentro
Posada El Encuentro
#4 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
309 reviews
3.6 mi away
Finca Adalgisa Wine Hotel, Vineyard & Winery
Finca Adalgisa Wine Hotel, Viney...
#3 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
449 reviews
3.6 mi away
Casa Glebinias
Casa Glebinias
#1 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Tapiz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Tapiz Hotel

Property: Club Tapiz Hotel
Address: Ruta 60 km 2.5, Maipu 5517, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Maipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Maipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Tapiz Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Tapiz is located in an estate built in 1890 surrounded by 14 hectares of vineyards and olive trees with an enthralling view of the Andes Range. The house was restored preserving it's structure of Renaissance-style Villa. It features only 7 exclusive, fully equipped rooms. Terruno restaurant invites guests to relax and taste exquisite dishes made with products from its organic vegetable garden. Club Tapiz was declared Historical, Architectural and Tourist Heritage of the Region. In 2008, Club Tapiz was distinguished as the Best Accommodation of Mendoza by the Great Wine Capitals. In 2009, Club Tapiz was chosen as best Accommodation in a Winery by Cuisine & Vins. Located a few yards away, and also sorrounded by vineyards, Casa Zolo, the residence that once belonged and was the Governors House, has 4 rooms with private bathroom, air conditioning, it's own swimming pool and playroom, are in more private setting, ideal to hire complete with friends or family. Hotel rate includes breakfast, SPA access, Wine tasting every evening at 8 p.M., WI FI internet, and guided visits to Tapiz Winery and Tapiz Olive Oil Factory. Guests can prune, harvest and participate in the vineyard activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Club Tapiz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Tapiz Hotel Maipu
Tapiz Hotel Mendoza
Club Tapiz Hotel Mendoza, Argentina - Maipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing