We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly vineyard setting for small hotel”
Review of Club Tapiz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club Tapiz Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Maipu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We enjoyed staying at Club Tapiz because the people were extremely helpful and welcoming. The food was excellent. The property is historic, and the rooms have charm (although they lack real windows). The hotel is in a vineyard with lovely views of the Andes. Being in Maipu is beneficial for visiting wineries because you are already outside of the city. However, there is very little of interest near the hotel and no place to walk except in the vineyards themselves, which was delightful although limited. The evening wine tastings were not only informative, they also facilitated sharing of experiences with the other guests, and led naturally to eating at the excellent restaurant on premises for further conversation. We had the best raviolo we have ever had anywhere, including Italy. The Tapiz wine is terrific, of course. One complaint: they will not provide coffee before 7:30 am. This is inconvenient if you want to get an early start in the morning. I discovered on the last day that they would give you a carafe of coffee at night which was still hot the next morning. I wish I had asked for that sooner. The pace is leisurely and relaxing, a nice pool, which was surprisingly cold despite the very hot days. I certainly recommend Club Tapiz as a place to stay away from the city as long as you have a car or don't mind taking a lot of cabs to go anywhere.

Room Tip: If you care about having an actual window, ask for one of the rooms that may have one. Our room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank X-NYr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

133 - 139 of 409 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2012

Let me set the scene:

You pull up to a beautiful property with olive trees on both sides of the driveway. Pass the olive trees and you run into the vineyard on your left and your hotel lobby on the right. You are greeted by the most beautiful, helpful and friendly host you have ever met who walks you to your room. On the way to your room you see beautiful flowers, meticulously kept grounds and the only thing you hear is a song bird or two. Your room was recently renovated. You ask yourself "Oh my, is that a room service menu in a 7 room hotel?" Why yes it is! and the prices and selections are fabulous. Then you realize that you are in for a very romantic vacation.

With the scene set, lets get down to this review business:

The hotel features a great room service menu and a gourmet restaurant. The rooms are wonderful and clean. The hotel staff is wonderful. Free nightly wine tastings are great. You are in a secluded area with nothing but vineyard, the sky and hopefully a significant other.

The hotel staff was great at letting you know what there is to do in town. If you ask, they will set you up with an excursion to visit the local wineries. Each winery has a different attraction - one wil feature food, other a gift shop and so forth. The hosts will also let you know the best restaurants in town and how to get around. Everything is a somewhat expensive taxi cab ride away (about $15 US). But it is well worth it.

Room Tip: It does not matter. All of the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominican_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

From the moment we arrived at Club Tapiz we felt at home especially from the very warm and helpful Monica (please excuse me if I have your name wrong!) and Santiago. There are only a small number of rooms at this classy working vineyard, so it always seems peaceful. The rooms are quite basic, but well presented, very clean and comfortable. The beds are good – we slept very well here (maybe it was all the Malbec!). There is a good, clean pool and lovely terrace – we dropped our bags, headed to the pool and enjoyed a chilled bottle of sparking Malbec rosé wine – perfect.
Every evening at 20:00 Santiago, or another of the team, run a delightful wine tasting. Santiago is extremely knowledgeable about his wine and very entertaining in is presentation. They pick a couple of different bottles each night and are very generous in dishing it out. As he says “We are a vineyard – there is no shortage of wine!”. Sitting in the evening warmth, on the terrace, about 10ft from the vines, drinking delightful Club Tapiz wines was very enjoyable.
Both Monica and Santiago were extremely helpful in advising us what to do, where to eat and then making all the arrangements. They seem to be able to tune in to what you like and recommended perfect places. We took restaurant advice and cycling tours of the bodegas – all very good.
All the domestic and restaurant staff were also very friendly, warm and helpful.
We had 5 very memorable and comfortable days here – thank you to all at Club Tapiz.

Room Tip: Some look onto the front of the bodega, some on the pool and terrace. Not sure which I favoured! Bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wytham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We just returned from a trip around Argentina. This by far was our favourite stop. Don't be as foolish as we were, thinking that a 3 night stay in Mendoza would suffice! If you're fond of gourmet meals, malbec, in-depth education around the wineries and pampering, we suggest you pencil in 5 days for Mendoza and Uco-Valley.

Club Tapiz was an amazing stay. We reserved the private Casa Zolo rooms which was such a great idea. It is a three minute walk from the main hotel, where you have a private pool/dinning area for breakfast.

There is an 8pm complementary wine tasting every night in the grand room or outdoor by the poolside. This is a unique opportunity to learn about wine and meet other hotel guests from all over the world.

The food is very good but not as unique and refined as many of the wineries which you will likely visit during your stay (highly recommend O.Fournier, Melipal). Don't bother ordering the chicken dish (was getting tired of beef!), was average. The only thing that we were disappointed by is that they did not have a change in their daily menu. This is a shame because after a long day touring, you want to enjoy the hotel and restaurant. But honestly, we were bored after two days and glad in a way that we were filled by the massive lunches offered at the wineries.

There is a lot to explore here including the vineyards, biking the area, swimming and the spa facilities.

Highly recommend ending your tour in Argentina here. You will not be disappointed. The staff is very professional and the manager is a lot of fun to be around and entertaining during the wine tasting. Get ready for a relaxing and exquisite stay!

Room Tip: Casa Zolo rooms: added privacy, great idea for a family or a couples retreat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Love2travelnaidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This place was one of the highlights of our trip in Chile/Argentina.

I found there was not a lot to do in Mendoza city itself which is why I am glad that we had two nights in Maipu and just one night in Mendoza. Maipu is about 20 minute drive to Mendoza and the scene, feeling and environs are very different. In Maipu, you come to enjoy the wineries and the relaxation. For Mendoza, it's just like any other small city - consider spending more time in Maipu than in Mendoza.

We were fortunate to stay at Club Tapiz. The hotel is on a beautiful grounds and it felt like staying with rich relatives. The place has such a nice vibe to it. The staff are wonderful and the value-add you get is unbeatable - namely the wine tasting, olive oil tasting and the visit to their own winery which was effectively a private tour for us with lots of wine tasting and lots of really great learning with Juan. Thanks, Juan!

The property is sp;it into the main building and then a large house where the owners used to live. Here, there are about 4 rooms which are all quite large and private. The rooms are quite nice but had more of a grandmotherly homely feel to it rather than a big hotel. Nonetheless, they were comfortable. As I said, the place feels like staying on a large family estate - homely and a bit cozy and not so much like a hotel. So, if you're looking for Park Hyatt furnishings, this is not the place.

Breakfast was great - simple items, fresh fruit and juice and laid out for us in the morning. It was great to wonder around the vineyard and the veggie garden and relax with the dogs and at the pool.

The restaurant is wonderful and we ate there two nights in a row. They offered us one of their bottles of champage for a birthday - really special.

I'd definitely stay here again. Fantastic place.

PS - beware: the Google map is WRONG and it's hard to find the place during the night. Be sure to call the hotel for exact directions.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BusyFlyingAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We enjoyed our time at Club Tapiz but thought it was over-valued. The public rooms were very well done. However, our room was "tired" - the linens, robe were quite worn and didn't live up to the expectations. Wine tasting in early evening was nice.

Room Tip: We found the breakfast in the main area much better than the other facility where we stayed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed for two nights at the beginning of November. The nightly wine tastings were great, the restaurant was delicious and the location was beautiful. The staff was extremely helpful in arranging wine tastings, lunches and a driver for us, even at the last minute. They even left a complimentary bottle of chilled champagne in our room to celebrate our honeymoon. Our room was very nice and comfortable, and overall Tapiz was a great place to unwind following hectic travel days in Buenos Aires.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Carly1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maipu
2.7 mi away
Esplendor Mendoza
Esplendor Mendoza
#1 of 5 in Maipu
859 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lares de Chacras
Lares de Chacras
#2 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
778 reviews
3.6 mi away
Casa Glebinias
Casa Glebinias
#1 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
TikayKilla Lodge & Wines
3.7 mi away
Posada El Encuentro
Posada El Encuentro
#4 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
335 reviews
6.1 mi away
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
#2 of 4 in Lujan de Cuyo
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Tapiz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Tapiz Hotel

Address: Ruta 60 km 2.5, Maipu 5517, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Maipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Maipu
Price Range: $203 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Tapiz Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Tapiz is located in an estate built in 1890 surrounded by 14 hectares of vineyards and olive trees with an enthralling view of the Andes Range. The house was restored preserving it's structure of Renaissance-style Villa. It features only 7 exclusive, fully equipped rooms. Terruno restaurant invites guests to relax and taste exquisite dishes made with products from its organic vegetable garden. Club Tapiz was declared Historical, Architectural and Tourist Heritage of the Region. In 2008, Club Tapiz was distinguished as the Best Accommodation of Mendoza by the Great Wine Capitals. In 2009, Club Tapiz was chosen as best Accommodation in a Winery by Cuisine & Vins. Located a few yards away, and also sorrounded by vineyards, Casa Zolo, the residence that once belonged and was the Governors House, has 4 rooms with private bathroom, air conditioning, it's own swimming pool and playroom, are in more private setting, ideal to hire complete with friends or family. Hotel rate includes breakfast, SPA access, Wine tasting every evening at 8 p.M., WI FI internet, and guided visits to Tapiz Winery and Tapiz Olive Oil Factory. Guests can prune, harvest and participate in the vineyard activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Club Tapiz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Tapiz Hotel Maipu
Tapiz Hotel Mendoza
Club Tapiz Hotel Mendoza, Argentina - Maipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing