We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic winery feel, good restaurant, lovely grounds”
Review of Club Tapiz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Club Tapiz Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Maipu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We liked Club Tapiz’s rustic farmhouse aesthetic when we stayed 2 nights in Sept 2011. The old metal keys, the chunky wooden doors opening onto the courtyard, the common area with hidden wine cellar, and roaming animals--all added to its old-world wine-country aura and charm. Our room (#4) was really quite small - without too many contemporary amenities. It did offer a pillow menu and direct TV cable, however, as well as incredibly strong water pressure (It must be the Andes)

Certainly the restaurant was a highlight – delicious local food and such affordable good wine. It was quite nice to be informed that all guests of the hotel have a standing reservation at the restaurant. The atmosphere of the restaurant was equally charming and rustic as the hotel itself, and there was even a tiny wine bar in front. Breakfast is served in the restaurant – and was good as well. The common areas were welcoming, with a parakeet and cat filled front courtyard that also included benches and a fountain, a cozy library, and a back yard with lounge chairs and vineyard that comes right up to the pool. (Look for the classic wine irrigation channels running through the yard!) Even in early spring – with empty vines – we thought these grounds looked almost nicer then they appeared in the Club’s online photos. We also enjoyed the opportunity to try the (very good) Tapiz wine each evening at the nightly wine tasting.

The gym did not seem to have much usable equipment and the staff was helpful and polite but cool. Overall we would definitely recommend the Club Tapiz to other wine-focused visitors to the area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EastCoaster36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (389)
There are newer reviews for Club Tapiz Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

162 - 168 of 389 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2011

We recently stayed at Club Tapiz for 3 nights while traveling through South America. The hotel is very unique because it is a converted mansion and winery that is located directly on a vineyard. While the production of Tapiz wine is now completed at another facility nearby, the grapes are still grown on this property. A tour of the current winery is available to all guests - and Juan was a great tour guide! We stayed in a room at the main house, which was smaller, but very nice. The outdoor space by the pool and the courtyard was a great way to spend time as well. During the day, we visited nearby wineries and took a trip into the city. We ended each day with the complimentary wine tasting at Club Tapiz and a delicious dinner at the restaurant (breakfast was very good too!). The staff was very friendly and helpful in arranging drivers, recommendations and any requests that we had. We highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking to spend some quiet time in the vineyards with friendly service and delcious food and wine.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chicago4552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

The hotel is very nice, good service, good degustation of wines everyday. Pay attention there are 2 buildings, the house called tapiz is in the main structure, so near to the restaurant, spa etc... The other one called zolo is a bit outside (5min walk from the main structure) which can be a good thing for people who want to be isolated in the nature and like to have quietness. The restaurant has a good service, but pay attention with the freshness of the fish... In case of problems the management is very nice and efficient.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duenito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Club Tapiz for 3 nights during our stop over in Mendoza while visiting South America. The grounds were beautiful, the room spacious and clean, the breakfast phenomenal. Some of the best breakfast we had in all of South America. The wine tasting, although a nice gesture, was a little boring in that a member of the Club Tapiz staff gave about an hour lecture on their wines and wine making process. After having done this all day at some of the area wineries it was the last thing that my husband and I wanted to engage in. I thought it was going to be more of a social hour with nibbles. Not so much.

The staff was friendly and accommodating to our questions and requests. Unfortunately, we were there when the vines were clear of any grapes, however I can only imagine laying by their pool overlooking full, ripe grapes during harvest!

A slight drawback for us was the location. A ways from any restaurants, etc., however there is a restaurant at the club that is pretty good. Overall, we would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewYorkNewlyweds09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The service and location is world class. The food, spa and pillow menus will satisfy any overindulgent appetite for wine liver, which we certainly became. Highly recommended place to stay in Maipu

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryanpa35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We stayed for three nights in Room 3, which has a lovely terrace overlooking olive trees and vines. Everything about our stay was of the highest quality. The staff were all very helpful, especially Julianna and Claudia. Claudia arranged for us an excellent day touring the bodegas and sampling local wines. The spa treatments were excellent and were provided at short notice. The building itself is charming and traditional, updated with modern features, in a tranquil setting.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DWSUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

The service is attentive and gracious. Rooms are serviced twice a day. Very clean and picturesque. We were able to book two simultaneous massages within two hours of our arrival. Restaurant is excellent. Room service available anywhere on the property. The people working here will make suggestions and transportation arrangements for you in a pinch. Main weakness of this hotel is its "gym" one weight machine, no cardio. But each bathroom has a sauna.

Room Tip: Don't pay more for a view, rooms are nice
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotlantaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maipu
3.6 mi away
Casa Glebinias
Casa Glebinias
#1 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
819 reviews
6.1 mi away
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
#2 of 4 in Lujan de Cuyo
559 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lares de Chacras
Lares de Chacras
#2 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Cavas Wine Lodge
Cavas Wine Lodge
#1 of 4 in Lujan de Cuyo
730 reviews
2.7 mi away
Esplendor Mendoza
Esplendor Mendoza
#1 of 5 in Maipu
828 reviews
8.2 mi away
Park Hyatt Mendoza
Park Hyatt Mendoza
#7 of 84 in Mendoza
2,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Tapiz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Tapiz Hotel

Address: Ruta 60 km 2.5, Maipu 5517, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Maipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Maipu
Price Range: $173 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Tapiz Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Tapiz is located in an estate built in 1890 surrounded by 14 hectares of vineyards and olive trees with an enthralling view of the Andes Range. The house was restored preserving it's structure of Renaissance-style Villa. It features only 7 exclusive, fully equipped rooms. Terruno restaurant invites guests to relax and taste exquisite dishes made with products from its organic vegetable garden. Club Tapiz was declared Historical, Architectural and Tourist Heritage of the Region. In 2008, Club Tapiz was distinguished as the Best Accommodation of Mendoza by the Great Wine Capitals. In 2009, Club Tapiz was chosen as best Accommodation in a Winery by Cuisine & Vins. Located a few yards away, and also sorrounded by vineyards, Casa Zolo, the residence that once belonged and was the Governors House, has 4 rooms with private bathroom, air conditioning, it's own swimming pool and playroom, are in more private setting, ideal to hire complete with friends or family. Hotel rate includes breakfast, SPA access, Wine tasting every evening at 8 p.M., WI FI internet, and guided visits to Tapiz Winery and Tapiz Olive Oil Factory. Guests can prune, harvest and participate in the vineyard activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Club Tapiz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Tapiz Hotel Maipu
Tapiz Hotel Mendoza
Club Tapiz Hotel Mendoza, Argentina - Maipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing