We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best wines of our trip!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carinae Vinedos & Bodega

Carinae Vinedos & Bodega
Book In Advance
More Info
$190.00*
and up
Tradition and Passion - The Classic Wine Tour
Ranked #6 of 48 things to do in Maipu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Brigitte and Philippe Subra came from France in 1998 to live in Mendoza. Philippe managed a company in the electric business of Mendoza for more than 4 years. They created CarinaE Viñedos y Bodega (CarinaE SA) in January of 2003. The company dedicates itself to produce high quality wines, with grapes that are produced in its own vineyards of low yields located in the traditional first zone of Mendoza.The wines are made in the winery they rebuilt at their property in Cruz de Piedra, Maipú.CarinaE has near 20ha of productive vineyards that are spread around its property at Tres Esquinas, Cruz de Piedra, Maipú (8 ha of 85 years vineyard of Malbec, 0,5 ha of Syrah, and 2 ha of Sabernet-Sauvignon), and on the famous Calle Cobos in Perdriel, Luján de Cuyo (3ha and 4,5ha of 90 years old vineyards of Malbec). Near the Cruz de Piedra property, a little vineyard of 2ha was newly planted with syrah and malbec, and begun to produce syrah in 2011.This “Boutique” winery has a vat capacity of 260,000 liters. It has renewed concrete vats coated with epoxy paint and a cellar with 200 French barrels. CarinaE has the necessary technology to produce high-quality wines.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best wines of our trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Boutique winery with very small and intimate tour. The wines were the best we had on our whole trip. Don't miss this place and make sure you try their full wine flight that allows you to taste everything they produce, it's totally worth it because everything is delicious!

Helpful?
Thank ericalev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarinaE V, Propietario at Carinae Vinedos & Bodega, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Eric,
Thanks a lot for you commentary. We are too much proud reading your lines!
It is very encouraging for the future, and I insure you that we will follow getting the best possible of our vines and winery. All the best,
Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    79
    26
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming and very special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Small winery and rather charming, we loved it.
They served us a lot of wine which tasted lovely.
I'd definitely visit again.
We bought some bottles of wine to bring home, a very special place indeed.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarinaE V, Propietario at Carinae Vinedos & Bodega, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your nice comentaries.
Hope you enjoyed (or will enjoy) the wines at home.
You also know that the majority of our red wines cand be kept in bottle several years. They only need to be layed in a dark and relatively cool place.
You are welcome when you come back!
Best regards
Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
118 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Small Bodega, Friendly Owners”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

This was the second of four bodegas we visited while on our wine tour with Javier from B&B Plaza Italia. Even if you do not stay there, book your tour with him! This is a small winery owned by a French couple who loved Argentina so much they changed careers to not have to leave. They are passionate about what they do and it shows. The winery is quaint, and the tasting very nice and personalized. I would highly recommend a visit here.

Helpful?
Thank Krissie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarinaE V, Propietario at Carinae Vinedos & Bodega, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Wanda,
thank you for presenting your opinion.
When you come back, we will aim at getting 5pts!
Regards,
Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Deneza Malbec delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Viñedos and Bodega CarinaE is a small family Cellar in Maipú that likes to open on Sundays and even Holidays, when the big Bodegas in Mendoza are closed. No reservation needed. We were lucky to have Brigitte, the French owner, to guide us through. Her excitement and enthusiasm explaining each and every detail, process, equipment and history of her cellars is contagious and makes you want to have a cellar of your own. We enjoyed her passion for the Southern Hemisphere constellations and how it influences the names of her wines.

“Carina is the most stunning constellation; it looks over our vineyards every night during harvest time”.

Our favorite wine was “Deneza“ Malbec grown in the finca they have in Luján de Cuyo. I also liked pink Muscat “Passito”, naturally sweet wine. “Octans” is also an interesting wine, a blend of Malbec and Syrah. Be sure to visit, it is very different from the large Bodegas and the family is very friendly.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank maiczm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarinaE V, Propietario at Carinae Vinedos & Bodega, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you very much for publishing your opinion. Brigitte and I are very happy your having appreciated her way to present our activity, and of course our wines.
Her passion is very communictive. But we must say that we have the luck to work with a product that generates passion so easily!

Our Finca Deneza is situated in the Cobos street in Perdriel of Lujan de Cuyo. This single vineyard malbec wine is still the 2009 for very few time. We age it during 12 months in french barrels. We will follow with 2010 very soon.
Unfortunately because of a very big frost in november of 2010, during the formation of the flowers, we have lost almost all the production of this vine in 2011, and we got only 20% of the normal production in 2012.
So we will not produce the Finca Deneza Malbec wines 2011 and 2012, even if the small quantity of Malbec that we got is really very good. But we keep it for our premium wines: Prestige and Gran Reserva Malbec.
We'll jump these 2 years and so the next one would be the 2013, that is still on the vine plants today...
We have just to pray and touch a lot of barrels of wood... for hoping the next harvest will give us the necessary quantity and quality.
Thank you a lot, Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
850 reviews
392 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 360 helpful votes
“A modern vineyard bodega with an informative tour, but worth a visit for the high quality of the wines”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

The bodega buildings that one seems on the wine tour here are not so special - the wine hall and cellar at Di Tommaso are much much more interesting, but the guide was highly informative and spoke perfect English, was eloquent and could respond to questions - and best of all, the Carinae malbecs and other wines were some of the most delicious we tasted anywhere. Worth a visit for the tasting.

Helpful?
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carinae Vinedos & Bodega also viewed

Maipu, Province of Mendoza
Maipu, Province of Mendoza
 
Maipu, Province of Mendoza
Mendoza, Province of Mendoza
 

Been to Carinae Vinedos & Bodega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing