We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An outstanding 4 day stay”
Review of Posada Verde Oliva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada Verde Oliva
Ranked #1 of 10 Maipu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
267 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“An outstanding 4 day stay”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We spent 4 nights here in January 2014...it was an outstanding stay.

We were greeted by the owner Julia, who showed us our room. It was large and very clean. Comfortable large bed with lots of storage space and a safe for passports etc. A large bathroom with shower/tub. Room was well lite with 2 windows and a set of doors opening to a private patio area. It was spotless through out our stay. The free Wifi worked well in the room.

Location is very good. It was a 180 AEP from the Airport to the Posada via a taxi arranged by the Posada ( it was 200 AEP back at 0530 ). A taxi into central Mendoza costs between 80 - 100 AEP depending on traffic. You are right in mid of the Posadas vineyard and olive grove. Its a 10 minute walk to an ATM and to a restaurant ( Casa Campo ) in Maipu. A number of wineries are within cycling distance if you are so inclined. We did not have a car and never missed it..we taxied or walked

A breakfast is included...fairly standard offerings ....cheese, ham, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals , fresh orange juice and eggs cooked on request. There is no lunch service at the hotel. We had all our dinners at the hotel. Three nights we had the light option...enormous green salad ( lettuce, tomatoes, carrots, red cabbage, radishes etc ) plus empanadas or quesedeas and then dessert. This was 30USD per person and certainly met our needs. The 4th night we had the 40 USD dinners which was salad, a ham/melon starter, steak entree and then dessert. It was excellent. Everything was fresh and local. Salad fixings were picked for Posada's garden minuted before eating. Wine/Beer is also available. Service was efficient and very friendly .

The staff at the Posada were outstanding and very very helpful. Carolina and Paula in the front office could not do enough for us. Carolina #2 and Monica who did the meals serving were very friendly and efficient. Everyone spoke excellent English and all staff are very very service focused.

We booked a Maipu area wine tour via Carolina. We visited 3 wineries and an olive producer for 800 AEP. It was via a private car and lasted from 1030 to 1600. Lunch and tasting charges not included. Our driver, George is highly recommended...excellent English, very knowledgeable and a very careful driver.

There is a good sized pool which we took advantage of ...it was 35C while were there and it was very welcoming.

Really can't say enough about the Posada and the staff...we felt it was an excellent value for the money spent and highly recommend it anyone looking for an outstanding stay in Mendoza

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VancouverKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
177
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lingfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Posada Verde Oliva is a beautiful location for any holiday but it is made extra special by the warmth of the lovely ladies who work there. We started our day with smiles at breakfast from Monica Thomson and Carolina Anagua. Carolina Dell'Innocenti, Samira Sacchi and Carolina Jury looked after us during the day and could not have been kinder making us feel very special and very valued as their guests. They created a wonderful atmosphere at the Posada. The running of the hotel is overseen by the owner, Julia, who was always around and who was equally charming. A beautiful place run by the nicest people we have ever met, in a very relaxed and peaceful place. Highly, highly recommended.
This review would be complete without mentioning the excellent Jorge and Miguel who drove us on the various excursions. Jorge's wide knowledge of British comedy shows and English football at all levels made for long and enjoyable discussions on our trips. Particularly recommended was the trip into the Andes which was spectacular in every way.
Peter and Marilyn Jones, Surrey, England

Room Tip: We chose a superior room which were extremely spacious and well appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I loved everything about Posada Verde Oliva- I created a profile just to write how much we loved our stay! Julia is an incredible host with a fantastic, warm and helpful staff. Our room was spacious, and the grounds, vineyard and pool area are so gorgeous and peaceful that we didn't want to leave! Thank you so much to everyone at Posada Verde Oliva, we couldn't have asked for a more pleasant experience.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 544celinem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We spent 5 lovely days at Posada Verde Oliva. The rooms, veranda, pool and vineyard combined for a peaceful and beautiful spot to return to after days of wine tasting and hiking. But the truly exceptional aspect of our stay was the incredible help we received from Carolina in planning our visits to vineyards, reservations at restaurants and even locating a terrific hiking guide to take us into the Andes. I have never experienced such enthusiastic, thorough and skilled support in planning a vacation! We cannot wait to return and happily recommend this spot to anyone visiting Mendoza.

Room Tip: All great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 186NCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

The previous posts offer perfect descriptions of the posada: beautiful, peaceful, and a perfect environment to enjoy Mendoza, the surrounding wineries, and the weather. We recommend it, but with heavy reservations: its really, really expensive!

First, the owner is smart to charge for rooms in USD, rather than pesos. Kudos to the owner for a savvy business decision, but if you have US dollars, then Verde Oliva is 1.5-2x more expensive than a comparable hotel or posada charging in pesos. So when you're shopping for a place to stay in Mendoza, beware that $170 USD is much more expensive than the equivalent charged in pesos.

Second, the hotel gouges you on food. We opted to have dinner at the hotel for three of the nights, mostly because the Posada is remote and there aren't any alternatives nearby. Food was good, not great (e.g. salad was iceberg lettuce with olive oil and vinegar), but the Posada charged us $30/person for dinner, without including wine. The food was fine, but at $30/person, these were some of the most expensive meals we had in all of Argentina.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Verde Oliva, but in hindsight it was too expensive for our budget.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonathan U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Very beautiful place with friendly and helpful staff. It is clean and very well maintained. Great swimming pool area in a very relaxing environment. Quiet and peaceful place, good and nice breakfast, great dinner and it feels like you want to go back there as soon as possible.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank tobiasral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Posada Verde Oliva sits on a lovely piece of property with a veranda running the length of the house where a delicious breakfast is served daily.

Guest rooms are clean, comfortable and roomy. Julia, the owner, and her staff provide invaluable information and services and go to great lengths to ensure that your stay is a great one.

We would love to return someday.

Room Tip: All the rooms are off a quiet hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maipu
11.8 mi away
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
#2 of 4 in Lujan de Cuyo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
8.3 mi away
Posada El Encuentro
Posada El Encuentro
#4 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
8.1 mi away
Lares de Chacras
Lares de Chacras
#3 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Club Tapiz Hotel
Club Tapiz Hotel
#2 of 5 in Maipu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.6 mi away
TikayKilla Lodge & Wines
8.7 mi away
Casa Glebinias
Casa Glebinias
#1 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Verde Oliva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Verde Oliva

Property: Posada Verde Oliva
Address: Montecaseros 2223 | Mendoza, Maipu CP 5513 Maipú, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Maipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Maipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rural Hotel located in the exclusive Wine route in Maipu, Mendoza. Surrounded by Malbec vineyards, centenary olive trees and many wineries to visit. It has three rooms, a park and a large swimming pool. Olive therapy with Verde Oliva Eco Cosmetics. Wine, olive oil tasting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Posada Verde Oliva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Verde Oliva Mendoza, Argentina - Maipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing