We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing retreat to spend in the wine route in Mendoza!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of TikayKilla Lodge & Wines

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
TikayKilla Lodge & Wines
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Maipu
Certificate of Excellence
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing retreat to spend in the wine route in Mendoza!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Where to begin??? This place is truly a hidden gem... from the moment we walked in we were welcomed by Francisco and we felt like we were walking into our home. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. Location was also great right in the heart of the the ruta del vino (wine route) with three or four wineries walking/biking distance. We have been traveling all around Argentina before we got to Mendoza and this was the perfect place to just relax, read a book and go for a bike ride.
"Chef" Francisco made killing eggs in the morning for breakfast and the orange juice was nice and fresh - there was always fresh fruit cut from the trees in the backyard...
The best part is this place is the awesome yellow lab that you will see in every picture - he loves to play and it was such a nice treat to have in our stay!!!
I highly recommend this lodge for anyone who is interested in relaxing with a good glass of wine and nice puppy to play with!!! Great times....!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fausto79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco P, Owner at TikayKilla Lodge & Wines, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
My friend, thanks very much for such a lovely review. I’m really glad that you enjoyed your stay… it was lovely to spend and share your time in Mendoza with us. Looking forward to seeing you again sometime. All best for three of you and the girls. Francisco.-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    28
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
144
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Absolutely Wonderful time and stay at the Lodge.

All the previous TripAdvisor reviews, that I used to make my final decision, were true. This review may be redundant, but worth the extra words.

Service- EXCELLANT. Why do I say that in bold letters? I very stupidly missed my flight from Santiago, Chile to Mendoza. Instead of an hour flight, I ended up taking an overnight bus, through the Andes mountains, which took eight hours. Needless to say, we were exhausted and failed to make it to the hotel at the original check in time. Obviously it was my fault was missing the night of the hotel, but I didn't want to pay for a night that I did not use. Even before I was able to mention it, Elaina, said, we are not charging you for the night. Awesome. The tone had been set.

The hotel is outside of the town of Mendoza. It is small, quiet, and very charming. You can smell the clean air, if that makes sense, as you drive from the bus station. The town of Mendoza is in the desert. As you drive to the hotel, you are surrounded by open spaces and calm terrain. When we arrived to the hotel, the owner was not there, but he had his Elaina greet us. Elaina owns the bakery/coffeehouse around the corner from the hotel. Although the owner was not present, he was available via internet and email.

The room- Once we got to the hotel, Elaina showed us to our room, while she went to prepare breakfast for us. The room was adequate for two, single ladies traveling. It is not huge but comfortable, tidy, and clean. The window opens up to the back of the hotel, where they have chairs and tables set up to allow for you to relax and absorb the surroundings. The beds were firm and cozy. There is no tv in the room. The bathroom, like the room, was clean and comfortable. It is very peaceful here. Very little noise but keep in mind the walls are a bit thin. We were told in the morning by our neighbors, that they could hear us before we went to bed.

Service- Incredible. As stated, we were missed a night and arrived very early the next morning. That being the case, we were still welcomed by Elaina and had breakfast prepared promptly upon our arrival. The coffee was DELICIOUS. They use Brazilian grounds. I drank at least 4 cups, and I do not drink coffee like that. We were also treated to fresh, homemade banana bread. Whatever we asked for, was provided for us, with a smile. It is easy to get taxis from the hotel and they can sort out any adventure or touring you want to do. Trout and Wine was the company we used for our wine tour. That is a must! They were recommended to us by the hotel.

If I were to return to this part of the world, I would head back to the Lodge with no hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D_ExplorerMiami_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco P, Owner at TikayKilla Lodge & Wines, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Hi there, Thanks very much for the review… you wrote too many nice things that I will only say a simple but meaningful: THANKS! Of course we were not going to charge for a night you didn’t stay due to a mishap. Things happen, and we have to support our guests. Too bad I was not around but as you say, I always try to catch up during my absence… All the best. Francisco.-

PS: Just one little thing, we have 2 rooms with LED TV’s and Satellite TV upon request, I’m sorry if you wanted to have a TV in your room. No extra cost for that… only guests preferences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

I can't say enough nice things about our experience with Tikay Killa. It's a small 4 room lodge in the Maipu wine country of Argentina and is within biking distance to all the wineries up there. One of the best things about this place though is the fact that it's completely ran by one of the owners, Francisco. I've never met an owner who takes such pride in his guests and business. Once our stay was complete, we headed down to Buenos Aires only to realize we had left our camera with hundreds of photos. Before we landed, I had an email from Francisco saying he was sending it with the nice Dutch family staying next to us at Tikay and they would meet us in BA to return the camera. Honest, kind, hardworking, and cool...what more can you ask in someone in hospitality? I would definitely recommend Tikay Killa and will visit again the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco P, Propietario at TikayKilla Lodge & Wines, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Hi Brian, thanks very much for the lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you with us and share time with you. Thanks again for the nice comments not only about Tikay, but myself also... all the very best for both of you... warm regards. Francisco.-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

We booked TikayKilla Lodge on the recommendations on Tripadvisor and were more than impressed by both the lodging and Francisco the owner. The welcome we received from Francisco made us believe we were returning home. The rooms were perfectly clean and the bathrooms were spotless and very user friendly. Francisco and Johanna organized all our activities while in Mendoza and even arranged a vegetarian meal for us at the local restuarant. The breakfast was not your normal Argentinian breakfast but a full meal...We were shipping our vehicle back to South Africa and ran into difficulties with the shipping agent who had let us down, No Problem for Francisco who immediately got on the phone to business associates in Uruguay who promptly arranged the shipping of our car. This type of service is way beyond the call of duty and this from a perfect stranger. On our last night there we all bought groceries and Francisco cooked us all a meal which we shared with other guests staying at the Lodge...A great night was had by all.. We return to Argentina in March where we will definetely stay at TikayKila Lodge again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco P, Owner at TikayKilla Lodge & Wines, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear D&G, thank you very much for your lovely review. I know you enjoyed as we enjoyed along with you your “short” stay. Luckily we’ll see each other again in March and enjoy some more time together. I promise a real Argentine BBQ… J Now let’s wait till your car arrives safe and sound. I’m sure it will be… All the best. Francisco & Johanna.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

We fount the hotel in Trip Advisor and were delighted with it. The place is not luxurious (it is a compliment), and is the best place to stay if you want to know the Mendoza viñedos (vineyards). Francisco (the owner), Johana and Soki gave us the best days in our honeymoon. They have only 4 rooms and give the gests their full attention.
You can rent a bike in the hotel for AR$ 35,- to visit the viñedos. Its not too tiring, but in the summertime the weather is hot, so you will need a good hat and to drink much water during the excursion.
It's a place were we felt at home. Thank you, Francisco. We sure will be back in future trips to Argentina.

Room Tip: They're all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HZTomassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco P, Owner at TikayKilla Lodge & Wines, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Amigos, thank you for this review. This always helps us more than you may think. We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay during your honeymoon… wish you nothing more than happiness! Till the next time. Francisco.- :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

As is the general consensus of these reviews, Tikay Killa Lodge is an oasis in the Maipu wine country. I've never had a warmer welcome nor experienced finer hospitality than offered by Francisco and Johy. Imagine a warm greeting at the gate and then finding a sprig of lavender from their garden on your pillow with a chocolate!

Francisco knows everyone in Maipu and is happy to help with the best suggestions for dinner, visits to the bodegas and, as has been mentioned, even has bikes available for riding to the wineries. If you mention Francisco to any local merchants, you are treated like royalty.

The property is well situated on a shady lane near olive groves. The songs of the birds and watching the little animals play in the backyard convinced me that we were in a modern day garden of Eden. Just a few steps down the lane is the La Rural winery and museum which was well worth a visit. All the bodegas in Maipu are easily reached by bike.

The rooms are neat, clean, and quiet and breakfast was the best in Argentina!

If we are lucky enough to return to Maipu, we would never consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aadamstris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco P, Owner at TikayKilla Lodge & Wines, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear A&D, thanks very much for this lovely review. Glad your wines arrived safe and sound hoping you can keep a bottle for a toast sometime soon, if you finish them all, don’t worry… we can take some with us J Warm regards. Francisco & Johy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
328 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

From the moment we arrived Francisco was great, very welcoming and extremely helpful, answering our many questions. He helped us decide which wineries to visit and which restaurants to go to. He had the bikes ready for us and nothing was too much trouble, even ordering pizza one night for us.

The lodge is great, small with 5 rooms so it is all so personal. Breakfast is good, again with the personal service of francisco making you eggs.

The room had everything you needed.

Loved it, perfect place to stay when visiting the wineries. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco P, Owner at TikayKilla Lodge & Wines, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Hi James, very kind of you for taking some time and writing this nice review. I’m really happy that you had such a great time here. Thanks again & best regards, Francisco.-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maipu
3.7 mi away
Esplendor Mendoza
Esplendor Mendoza
#1 of 6 in Maipu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
12.2 mi away
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
#2 of 4 in Lujan de Cuyo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
8.8 mi away
Posada El Encuentro
Posada El Encuentro
#4 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Club Tapiz Hotel
Club Tapiz Hotel
#2 of 6 in Maipu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
8.7 mi away
Lares de Chacras
Lares de Chacras
#2 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
7.9 mi away
Park Hyatt Mendoza
Park Hyatt Mendoza
#7 of 83 in Mendoza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TikayKilla Lodge & Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TikayKilla Lodge & Wines

Property: TikayKilla Lodge & Wines
Address: Montecaseros 3543 | 500m / 0.3 Miles East of Bodega la Rural (Rutini Wines), Maipu 5513, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Maipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Maipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — TikayKilla Lodge & Wines 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TIKAYKILLA Lodge & Wines, beautifully reflects the traditional and rural land of Mendoza from which it is rooted. Springing from a marvelous display of plants and indigenous trees of various typical fruits from Mendoza region, Tikaykilla Lodge & Wines looks out on an expanse 3000m2 of open country full of picturesque vineyards introducing the visitor to the origin of the wine produced in this region. The Lodge is located in the very heart of the Wine Route, among vineyards, olive trees and fruit Groves, surrounded by Wineries and small farms in a typical Mendoza landscape, and just 500m away from the most important Wine Museum in South America. Tikay's cliche: "to make guests to feel even better than home" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your TikayKilla Lodge & Wines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
TikayKilla Lodge & Wines Mendoza, Argentina - Maipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing