We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five days of new friends, amazing lodge and better hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TikayKilla Lodge & Wines
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Maipu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We spent four days at the lodge as a couple n their late 20's and had a fantastic experience! With reference to the review below, whilst the rooms aren't luxury they are pleasant and exceptionally clean with a modern bathroom (great shower), comfy bed and great fan system. The lodge was exactly what we wanted as we spent our evenings drinking too much wine with new friends staying at the lodge in the gardens.

We couldnt have had a better time in Maipu, whilst the owner wasnt there, he had left the lodge with Elena who is an absolute gem! We couldn't have asked for a more welcoming and friendly sub-host, she booked our wine tours, picked out boutique vine yards to our taste, and is even in the process of shipping and ordering wines for us AFTER we have left as the post office was closed on Sunday when we were leaving.

We found the lodge very sociable, and spent 4 of our 5 days in the area doing activities and dinners with guests at the lodge. We loved being out of Mendoza city and bike rides from the wineries. The lodge has a frequent bus (every 10 mins) direct to the city and the bus station for under AR$3 each, which is a 10min walk up a straight road from he lodge.

The only difficulty we had was there were not many restaurants open at night within walking distance, and therefore a communal kitchen could be useful for people who don't want to travel too far in the evening. Having said that, five of us enjoyed a great meal at the local Parilla restaurant and a cheese / meat evening at the lodge another after a supermarket trip (10 mins away).

Overall we couldn't have asked more of the lodge, guests or host Elena. This is for people who want to get out the city, enjoy a bit of quiet and meet new people for wine filled evenings, and enjoy not being too holed up in a room.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyn_Dan84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 245 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

TikayKilla is the place to stay. Period.

I visited with my best friend (girls' trip between jobs) and had an amazing time. It's a small lodge at the edge of Maipu, which is a 15-20 minute cab ride from the city of Mendoza and a great place from which to start/end a bike tour of all the vineyards because of it's convenient location. (In other words, don't be discouraged by the less-than-scenic surroundings when you first arrive into 'downtown' Maipu; trust me, it's worth it once you're on the bike and cruising along!)

The lodge has just a handful of rooms (all with private bathrooms), a nice communal family and dining room with satellite TV and wifi and a large yard in which you end up spending the majority of your time drinking the fruits of the day's vineyard tours, chatting with other guests from all over the world and playing fetch with Suki (pronounced soo-key), the adorable, attention-loving Golden Lab.

The pros:
(+) The AMAZING owner and host, Francisco, makes you feel warm, welcomed and right at home. He is your concierge when you need a bike tour or day trip to Aconcagua arranged, your chef each morning when breakfast is made, your party planner when you need fun dinner and drink spots for a night out in Mendoza and your sommelier when you pop open 'the day's catch.'
(+) The rooms are cozy, clean and comfortable. The bathrooms are modern, and the water is hot with good pressure (great for washing off the dust and grime from an all-day bike tour of the vineyards).
(+) Quiet, relaxing and refreshing to be in the 'country' vs. the hustle and bustle of Mendoza.
(+) Fantastic value for the service we received, so much so that we insisted Francisco raise his rates!
(+) Though we didn't get to experience it ourselves, we hear that there are plans to put in a pool and fire pit. Icing on the cake at this place!

Cons:
(-) If I absolutely had to nit-pick, I'd say that the walls--albeit seemingly thick and sturdy--were a little thin at times because you could hear your neighbors' conversations, etc. Luckily, everyone was pretty respectful and either hunkered down at reasonable times or went into the main house to keep the conversations (and wine drinking, of course) going. Even still, Francisco once shooed off the lawn guys who had come to cut the grass because all of us were sleeping in one morning. How awesome is that!?

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krazybabe2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This lodge is located in Maipu just outside of Mendoza in the heart of the wine region. Since our main reason for Mendoza was visiting wineries we chose to stay here and were very happy with our decision. As others have commented, Francisco is a wonderful host who goes out of his way to ensure all of his guests have a great stay and was very helpful in suggesting the best wineries to visit, restaurant recommendations, taxi bookings and he even has bikes ready to hire from a local company waiting in the lodge. The rooms are comfortable, clean and fairly new and includes a freshly cooked breakfast every day. Everything was taken care of and ran completely smoothly and I would definitely recommend staying here if you would like to visit the many wineries and olive farms that surround this lodge.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kurtm85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This is indeed a great place to stay when visiting Mendoza, it's close to at least 14 different wine bodegas, two chocolate factories and some oliver oil producers. I suggest visiting them using bikes (that you can rent for 35 pesos per day) turing the attraction more fun and healthier - especially if you are feeling guilty after eating a lot of empanadas and parrillas.

I choosed this place after reading the trip advisor revirews and for sure it helped me a lot. Francisco is an amazing host, knows everyone in Maipu (neighborhood) and suggests good restaurants (like Casa Campo, amazing empanadas and olives) and attractions - Soki (dog) and Canela (cat) were also very friendly.

I will make sure to stay again in Tikay Killa when I'm back to Mendoza.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Arthur B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We loved this place. Francisco was an amazing host and made great eggs in the morning! This place is so quiet and peaceful, surrounded by lavendar and plum trees and right next to a chocolate place and two vineyards, and within biking distance to all the best vineyards in maipu. We got great sleep here, had bikes arranged for us, easy tours of beautiful vineyards, this place was the highlight of our trips. It's not in the main city of mendoza but I think that's what makes it so special. That and the excellent host and his sweet dog Suki!

Room Tip: All rooms are simple but comfortable, clean, and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ProfessorWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is the place to stay. My wife and I stayed here January 2011 (I'm a little late on the review) for several days and we still talk about what an amazing stay we had. The lodge is in a great location, you can bike to vineyards, chocolate makers and olive oil farms. Francisco arranged our bikes, the one taxi we needed and provided many great recommendations. I'm pretty sure he knows everyone in town and everyone loves him. He even took care of reservations for us, and seemed happy to do so. Francisco is one of the best, if not the best, host I have ever encountered. He made us feel like we were visiting family, minus the guilt of not visiting or writing enough. If there is anything you need, Francisco will do whatever he can to help; he is a genuine and warm person.

We arrived very early, well before check-in (about 7am) and our host rushed to get our room ready, once it cleared out. We actually got sick before leaving BA on our overnight bus ride, and were feeling quite lousy when we got to TikayKilla. Francisco was quick to help us mend, offering juice, water, meds and breakfast, but we weren't quite ready for solid foods. He did not make us feel weird about getting there so early, which another place on our trip did, and let us relax and recover until our room was ready.

The rooms were clean, comfortable and relaxing, as was the common area. Breakfast was more than just juice and a pastry, and was delicious. Service was well above and beyond our expectations. This was our favorite spot (and we stayed in some great places in Argentina), such a special place. Stay here, unless you don't like fun or happiness.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wcATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Amazing service and a real home away from home.

We stayed with Francesco and suki for two nights and it was a refreshing reminder of what being trully looked after by a host means. The place was quiet, clean and central to the wineries. Francesco was extremely detailed and thoughtful and made all the extra efforts one could think of ...and even some you would never think of. Don't miss this place out of your trip. A real gem.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank brassones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maipu
3.7 mi away
Esplendor Mendoza
Esplendor Mendoza
#1 of 5 in Maipu
844 reviews
9.2 mi away
Casa Glebinias
Casa Glebinias
#1 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
838 reviews
6.2 mi away
Club Tapiz Hotel
Club Tapiz Hotel
#2 of 5 in Maipu
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
Villa Mansa Wine Hotel & Spa
#2 of 4 in Lujan de Cuyo
570 reviews
8.7 mi away
Lares de Chacras
Lares de Chacras
#2 of 9 in Chacras de Coria
758 reviews
7.8 mi away
Park Hyatt Mendoza
Park Hyatt Mendoza
#8 of 84 in Mendoza
2,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TikayKilla Lodge & Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TikayKilla Lodge & Wines

Address: Montecaseros 3543 | 500m / 0.3 Miles East of Bodega la Rural, Maipu 5513, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Maipu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Maipu
Price Range: $73 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TikayKilla Lodge & Wines 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TIKAYKILLA Lodge & Wines, beautifully reflects the traditional and rural land of Mendoza from which it is rooted. Springing from a marvelous display of plants and indigenous trees of various typical fruits from Mendoza region, Tikaykilla Lodge & Wines looks out on an expanse 3000m2 of open country full of picturesque vineyards introducing the visitor to the origin of the wine produced in this region. The Lodge is located in the very heart of the Wine Route, among vineyards, olive trees and fruit Groves, surrounded by Wineries and small farms in a typical Mendoza landscape, and just 500m away from the most important Wine Museum in South America. Tikay's cliche: "to make guests to feel even better than home" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your TikayKilla Lodge & Wines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
TikayKilla Lodge & Wines Mendoza, Argentina - Maipu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing